Customer Reviews


30 Reviews
5 star:
 (25)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cadfael concludes his adventures in convincing manner!
We all have to pay for our sins, and as all mortal beings seem to have a few of our own, it should come as no surprise that Brother Cadfael feels he must pay penance for his, as well. And in this 20th (and final) chronicle of Brother Cadfael, Ellis Peters takes us a giant step forward in her characterization of the good Benedictine monk, a man once a member of the...
Published on 20 Jun 2000

versus
0 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars If I had not seen the tv series....
this would not have been a book I enjoyed reading. It was my first try at reading a Cadfael book, and it will probably be my last. The characters come alive because you are inserting them with the tv series images, but in truth are not so interesting. The storyline is more a linear development than a plot, very few surprises there.
Published on 15 Sep 2009 by J. van der Vaart


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 21 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The author keeps up her reputation with an excellent story line which is set in the twelfth century, and she reintroduces us to the characters we have come to know so well through her writings.
I owe Ellis a debt of gratitude for the many hours of enjoyable reading she has provided.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars good read, 17 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I like these medieval mysteries , and a good book to read have quite a few already on kindle .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A first rate read, 29 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
All Ellis Peters' Cadfael books are well researched and written. This differs from the others as the main thrust is towards the action of a mediaeval siege rather than the murder mystery (although that is also included too). Altogether well worth getting for any fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The end, 17 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Brother Cadfael's Penance: 20: The Twentieth Chronicle of Brother Cadfael (Cadfael Chronicles) (Paperback)
Always difficult to come towards the end of a saga. This book doesn't disappoint, and ties up loose ends very satisfactorily.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A fine collection, 22 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
My mother loves reading books by this author. The stories never fail to please her.She will read them again and again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars review of cadfael, 4 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A Middle Ages detective story with a monk as lthe detectlive.
an excellent book, good plot,good story and well written.
a twist which leaves you wondering until nearly to the end.
where I made a mistake was reading it after I have read others. This is the last book as Ellius Peters died just after it.
if you enjoy Cadfael books read the others and leave this to the last
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 19 Dec 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I bought the set, though this will be standard wording - great plots, great character, great knowledge of the history and mediaeval mind-set, can't go wrong.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The final story does not disappoint, 8 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great stuff!
True to period and atmosphere, a "Cadfael" story to keep you reading until the end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 31 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Brother Cadfael's Penance: 20: The Twentieth Chronicle of Brother Cadfael (Cadfael Chronicles) (Paperback)
The final book of the series about Brother Cadfael.and no collection is complete without it. It's a gem!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Cadfael hangs up his sandals., 14 May 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Brother Cadfael's Penance: 20: The Twentieth Chronicle of Brother Cadfael (Cadfael Chronicles) (Paperback)
The twentieth and final Cadfael mystery only disappoints when you put the book down and realise that's it, no more, amen. Once you get over this terrible fact, 'Brother Cadfael's Penance'is yet another belter. The charcters that Peters brings to life so vividly; Taggart, Holmes, Marple, Secret Squirrel and Hong Kong Phooey are all present and gather in Shrewsbury at Cadfael's request. Then things go wrong... or right, if you love that twisting and turning plot building Ellis Peters is famous for. Not one to miss.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews