Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cadfael is on a Danish roll!
It is not the summer of his discontent, washed by the sun of Yorke; however, it is the season for another Cadfael adventure and mystery! And Ellis Peters, in her usual intriguing way, presents us with her 18th Brother Cadfael episode in "The Summer of the Danes."
The year is 1144--the civil war between King Stephen and Empress Maud still rages on--and Brother...
Published on 5 May 2000

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Was Cadfael necessary?
I've just finished reading this after reading every other Cadfael novel in a 2 month period (I inherited the whole collection). Although I quite enjoyed the book I did feel that the whole series strays away from Cadfael as detective, it is increasingly difficult to see how he really changes the story that is unfolding. In this story, especially, he seems to be mostly an...
Published on 9 Nov 2007 by Sue Reynolds


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Was Cadfael necessary?, 9 Nov 2007
By 
Sue Reynolds "Chris and Sue" (Wiltshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Summer Of The Danes: 18 (Cadfael Chronicles) (Paperback)
I've just finished reading this after reading every other Cadfael novel in a 2 month period (I inherited the whole collection). Although I quite enjoyed the book I did feel that the whole series strays away from Cadfael as detective, it is increasingly difficult to see how he really changes the story that is unfolding. In this story, especially, he seems to be mostly an observer of events. The last few books in the series have felt quite formulaic, I found myself guessing which characters would become which stereotype fairly early on. Stick to the earlier novels where Cadfael has a greater role and there are fewer predictable twists.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Too subdued, 3 Aug 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: The Summer Of The Danes: 18 (Cadfael Chronicles) (Paperback)
I like the Brother Cadfael mysteries very much, but this one is something of a disappointment. Ellis Peters always writes beautiful English and that is certainly the case here, but, in the absence of much story, such elegant style seems stifling. Apart from the villain, the characters too seem to be moving through molasses. If this is the first Cadfael you read, please read some of the others before judging the series. Most of them are much better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cadfael is on a Danish roll!, 5 May 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: The Summer Of The Danes: 18 (Cadfael Chronicles) (Paperback)
It is not the summer of his discontent, washed by the sun of Yorke; however, it is the season for another Cadfael adventure and mystery! And Ellis Peters, in her usual intriguing way, presents us with her 18th Brother Cadfael episode in "The Summer of the Danes."
The year is 1144--the civil war between King Stephen and Empress Maud still rages on--and Brother Cadfael is called upon to be an interpreter to the Welsh village of Saint Asaph. Cadfael is Welsh born and he welcomes the journey to his homeland as a pleasant break from his duties as a brother at the Benedictine Abbey of Saint Peter and Saint Paul in Shrewsbury.
As it turns out--and naturally, as this is an Ellis Peters mystery!--a Danish fleet is sighted along the coast of Wales, a real menace, indeed. Then a young girl goes missing. Then a body is found. And Cadfael is off and running.
So is the reader! Having read all the Brother Cadfael series, I found this to be one of my favorites. Peters wastes no time in developing her story and does not hesitate to flavor her plot with plenty of Welsh history and lore. Will the Danes invade? Will the murderer be brought to justice? Cadfael's expertise, once again, proves to be essential in the resolution of the crimes.
Cadfael is the former crusader now turned monk who, while not solving murder cases, works as the Abbey's herbalist and is known throughout the area for his skills in medicine. The "Sunday Express" writes: "Cadfael...springs to life in her books, which are novels with depth. He is a man of warmth, humanity and engaging nosiness."
Do not be misled by the British TV series of the Cadfael stories. While on the surface they are quite adequate (Derek Jacobi is an ideal Cadfael), the 50-minute recounting of any of Peters' books does not do justice to the novel, which is a pity, for there are great gaps of (mis)understanding that simply cannot be supplied in such short time. Stay with the books! They are well-worth the read. Cadfael is a character worth knowing!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not a Cadfael Mystery, 11 Feb 2012
By 
A. W. Pattinson "Alpat" (Warrington) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Summer Of The Danes: 18 (Cadfael Chronicles) (Paperback)
This book is not a Cadfael Mystery or really anything to do with Cadfael, It's all about the Danes attacking Wales and brothers (Kings) falling out. I was very disappointed in the book as it was not what I expected of a Cadfael Mystery
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The medieval Wild West, 31 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Summer Of The Danes: 18 (Cadfael Chronicles) (Paperback)
This one is a bit different to most of the Cadfael stories - away from the monastery, and deep into Wales under threat of civil war and Viking invasion. Plenty of drama - and the murder seems almost incidental to the rest of the adventure: this is a medieval adventure more than a medieval mystery
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars seemsto be out of favour aat the moment, 24 July 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Summer Of The Danes: 18 (Cadfael Chronicles) (Paperback)
Couldn't get a copy of any of Ellis Peters books at the library so that is why I bought a book that has now been passed onto someone else who also could not find any of that authors works in the library. Just hope they all come back into favour.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This was a little different in the fact that most ..., 18 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This was a little different in the fact that most of the action took place in north wales and having been on holiday in the area found this a fascinating and interesting book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A pleasure, 8 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
As ever I can read Ellis Peters and know I will have an interesting mystery with good background Info . and beautifully written.A real relaxation and joy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful, 1 Sep 2014
This review is from: The Summer Of The Danes: 18 (Cadfael Chronicles) (Paperback)
Just as great as the last time I read it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 28 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
love these books, sorry there is more
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Summer Of The Danes: 18 (Cadfael Chronicles)
The Summer Of The Danes: 18 (Cadfael Chronicles) by Ellis Peters (Paperback - 19 May 1994)
8.09
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews