Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "A Very Unlikely Poisoner"
This is the third instalment of the Cadfael series, written in 1980. It's now December 1138 and we swap the besieged town of Shrewsbury that was the centre of action in `One Corpse Too Many' for a Shrewsbury in peacetime. "It was a better world than it had looked in the spring, and an ending that improves on its beginning is always good news."

Monk's-hood is a...
Published on 16 Sept. 2010 by Nicholas Casley

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Ellis Peters and bed-time
I already had the paperback - got the Kindle version because it's easier to read in bed! No problems downloading it as usual.
Published 15 months ago by Mudmummy


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "A Very Unlikely Poisoner", 16 Sept. 2010
By 
Nicholas Casley (Plymouth, Devon, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Monk's Hood (Cadfael Chronicles) (Paperback)
This is the third instalment of the Cadfael series, written in 1980. It's now December 1138 and we swap the besieged town of Shrewsbury that was the centre of action in `One Corpse Too Many' for a Shrewsbury in peacetime. "It was a better world than it had looked in the spring, and an ending that improves on its beginning is always good news."

Monk's-hood is a poison, otherwise known as wolfsbane, which hints at the type of murder involved in this instalment. Without giving too much of the plot away, circumstances point to the murderer being a fourteen-year-old boy, but Cadfael considers that, "A hot-tempered, proud, affronted boy seemed to him a possible suspect had Bonel [the victim] been struck down with a fist or even dagger, but a very unlikely poisoner"; a poisoner's temperament is "secret, dark and bitter."

This Cadfael tale also has interesting complications arising when English and Welsh law meet over the question of inheritance.

As usual, Ellis Peters guides the narrative well in a good naturalistic style and natural justice runs its course at the end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thoroughly enjoyable, 21 Feb. 2014
By 
Sebastian Palmer "sebuteo" (Cambridge, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Edith Pargeter, or Ellis Peter as she is here, was a master storyteller, and the pleasure I get from reading her books - only the Cadfael chronicles so far (but I'll certainly check out her other writing in the fullness of time) - is very like the pleasure listening to Nigel North playing John Dowland's lute music gives me. And that is: always comfortably familiar, masterfully executed, and both uplifting and pleasurable.

When writing under her Ellis Peters name, Pargeter always weaves a beautifully beguiling and very believable medieval tapestry, in this instance centred around a poisoning. If you know the world of Cadfael - this was actually the third story in the series (but I came to it at random) - certain already familiar characters return, such as his chum, the affable deputy-sheriff Hugh Beringar, and the serenely self-satisfied prior Robert and his lackey Jerome. Between them Peters' characters present all the facets of human nature, admittedly perhaps in simplified form, but nevertheless in a satisfying manner.

The story-line is, as ever, expertly wrought, and the pacing, the detail and atmosphere characteristically plausible. My pleasure reading these books has been such as to lead my wife and I to explore Shrewsbury. It was fun. But in terms of effort and expense the Cadfael books are a more cost-effective pleasure! Cadfael himself is a great creation (as, come to think of it, is Ellis Peters!), and in this superb story he gets to exercise all his usual admirable qualities. His dignity and humanity, wit and forbearance, clarity and generosity, always ensure a good outcome, and, in my experience, often a very moving one.

Some of the facets of this particular iteration of the Cadfael chronicles touch upon Cadfael's herbalist art - his own oil, meant for healing, is used to kill - whilst others include his pre-monastic and even pre-Crusader life, issues of family (as in in so many who-dunnits, there's a will at the centre of the web of intrigue), border-law, and even Benedictine succession. Peters' stories are always intricate jewel-like works of art. Sure this is, like all the Cadfael books, somewhat formulaic. But, like the making of a great wine, it's a winning formula: every time I read a Cadfael story it's like savouring a delicious vintage.

You can probably tell by now... I like it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just as good as "A Morbid Taste For Bones"!, 18 May 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Monk's Hood (Cadfael Chronicles) (Paperback)
What can I say really? This book is about a gentleman who moves his family into the care of the monks at the price of him leaving his estate to them when he passes away. This naturally upsets the current benefactor of the will and suspicions arise when the gentleman is murdered by ingesting a poison which is part of a remedy created by brother Cadfael.
The story is well written - as usual - and is well paced. Well worth reading!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very pleased, 8 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Brought this for my Nan for Christmas and it arrived on time with no damage.

My Nan was very happy :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ALL AS IT SHOULD BE, 26 April 2011
By 
Mr. D. L. Rees "LEE DAVID" (DORSET) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
The third Cadfael novel. It is still 1138, Shrewsbury calmer now no longer the battleground between King Stephen and Empress Maud. The Abbey is without its gentle, aged Abbot Heribert - he summoned to London and almost certainly to be relieved of his post. Prior Robert deputizes - undoubtedly efficient, but ambitious and without warmth. A sudden death in one of the Abbey's guesthouses causes concern and embarrassment. Monk's-Hood is to blame, the ointment produced by Cadfael used to poison a partridge. Murder! Instantly the hunt is on for the victim's stepson Edwin, the two having just quarrelled. Edwin really the culprit? Cadfael is not so sure....

As ever, the novel delights - the humour, there in the first book, less so in the second, now more in evidence. Admittedly readers on this occasion may be ahead of Cadfael in identifying the killer but are far less likely to anticipate what happens after guilt is proved.

A particular strength is the characterization. Edwin and kindred spirit Edwy are fun. Cadfael himself is shown in a new light - unexpectedly faced with his great love of forty two years earlier. Especially appealing is his young assistant Brother Mark - gawky and shy when with others but blossoming under Cadfael's guidance, now a chatty source of interesting gossip and with a crucial part to play. Aloof Prior Robert, so cold and demanding, proves a formidable presence - aided and abetted by odious talebearing sycophant Brother Jerome. Even minor characters come over strongly - as when in Wales for the novel's dramatic climax.

Ellis Peters is adept at tying up loose ends. When we think she has finished, there is still one to come. Savour most slowly the return of Heribert - all apprehensively assembled to greet him, Robert and Jerome scarcely able to conceal their excitement....

Another immensely satisfying read, the book eventually closed with a contented sigh.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Pure enjoyment!, 4 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I really enjoyed this book about Brother Cadfael. I'm reading through the series of mysteries and found this one as enthralling as the others I have read although I did suspect 'whodunnit' before Cadfael's denoument!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Monk's Hood, 5 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Monk's Hood (Kindle Edition)
You can't beat this one for suspense, mediaeval history, or the role of Brother Cadfael. This is another Ellis Peters winner.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A page-turner, 2 Jun. 2010
By 
Mr. C. Morris "Watchman" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Monk's-Hood: 3 (Paperback)
This was my first Ellis Peters book and once I got into it I finished it within two days, so it's a page-turner. It has some well-observed flashes of insight regarding human foibles such as pride and vanity, pleasantly in contrast with the supposedly relgious, uplifting context of the monastery. I take it that Ellis Peters is a pseudonmym for Edith Pargeter, certainly the text as a woman's touch that's hard to pin down; a certain indulgent attitude to the characters perhaps, the young men are described from the opposite sex's point of view (ahem! from my point of view that is) all bland and earnest and boisterous, perhaps there's a certain bitchery towards Prior Robert, who covets the position of Father Abbot.

The plot goes off piste for the final third, away from the monastery, and it perhaps lost me a little. Overall the writing reminded me of another medival book, Company of Liars, and while I got through it, I can't say I felt any worthier for it; it's a bit of a gossip of a book, a bit soft-edged, but I guess that's churlish seeing as like devouring a whole chocolate orange to yourself, you enjoy it at the time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love the Ellis Peter's books especially as I live near ..., 18 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Love the Ellis Peter's books especially as I live near Shrewsbury and can relate to the area's mentioned in the books. Excellent period murder and detective type story line
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 19 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I bought the set, though this will be standard wording - great plots, great character, great knowledge of the history and mediaeval mind-set, can't go wrong.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Monk's Hood (Cadfael Chronicles)
Monk's Hood (Cadfael Chronicles) by Ellis Peters (Paperback - 19 May 1994)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews