Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the most inspirational unforgettable book ever written, 19 Feb. 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Maggie (Paperback)
once you have started this book, you immediatly feel at one with it, and it seems impossible to stop reading! the reader becomes so engrossed in the book, that they could almost be living the events of maggies life themselves. Kennedy's novel follows the protagonist 'Maggie' through out her life sharing with her, her highs and lows about growing up in a tough adoptive family in the East End of London during the war. The novel takes many unexpected twists and turns which only adds to fuel the interest of the reader.An utter feeling of loss occurs when the book has finished because it seems to encompass them within the novel to such a large and impressionable extent, which rarely happens with a book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fanastic, the best book I have ever read!, 9 Oct. 2003
By 
Ms. A. L. Robinson "Adele" (Liverpool, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Maggie (Paperback)
I read Maggie a few years ago and loved it, you can picture everything that is happening in Maggies life in the way it is cleverly written. I have all the books written by Lena Kennedy, the first one I read was Nelly Kelly but I must say Maggie is definitely her best, once you start reading this you will not be able to put it down, I was very sad when I finished this book, maybe I should read it again. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars MAGGIE written by Lena Kennedy, 28 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Maggie (Paperback)
i remember reading this book years ago, and really enjoyed it so when i came across it again i jumped at the chance of reading it all again with great antisipation, the book makes you feel as though you are actually there living in maggies life, i truely would recomend it to anyone young or old.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A must read!!, 17 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Maggie (Paperback)
i can not explain in words how this book made me feel,but it is by far the best book i have read.
i have read 7 of lena kennedys books and intend to get the rest. also you must read "down our street" and "lily my lovely" never before has a book produced real tears! gripped loved it!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A superb book, 3 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is one of her finest books - hard to find these days - for being a really old book it came in excellent condition
could not put it down - if you like this Author you will love this book -
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars MAGGIE by LENA KENNEDY, 1 Jan. 2003
The most, moving inspirnng book i've ever read. from the first until the last page you feel part of maggie's world. i was devestated when i finished this book as i was totally gripped by it. the novel follows the trials and tribulations of irish decesendant maggie from childhood to early fifties. the setting is mainly focused on stepney in london's east end, but briefly takes you to the australian outbck, south africa and closer to home kent's countryside. maggie is a complete heronine you cannot help but admire her,she seems so close to you. i cannot imagine anyone not enjoying this book my only complaint that there is no video , drama or film made as it highly deserves it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars best book i ever read, 9 Nov. 2002
This review is from: Maggie (Paperback)
maggie is just the best ever book i have read and i read about 3 a week. i felt bereft when i had finished this i really would love to know what happened to maggie afterwards ( i won't spoil it for anyone who hasn't read it)i have read this book at least 6 times since i bought it and i may just read it again this year. a wonderful book and a great author i have read many of her books but none of them gave me as much pleasure as our poor maggie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Definetely worth your time., 31 Oct. 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Maggie (Paperback)
This is one of the best books I have ever read. The struggles and hardships the main character goes through is just fascinating. I recommend this book to anyone. I read this book over two years ago, and I still can't forget it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Read, 17 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Maggie (Paperback)
Fantastic read a can't put down book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars maggie -lena kennedy., 5 Jan. 2003
This review is from: Maggie (Hardcover)
what a movng, inspiring heartwarming book. from the moment i picked this up until i finished it and beyond i felt a part of maggie's heroic life. set in the east end of london you travel from the war time blitz through to the 1950s alongside kennedy's heroine 'maggie'. i have read this book several times and never tire of it i can wholly recommend it to anyone who enjoys a good romance or heroine.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Maggie
Maggie by Lena Kennedy (Paperback - 31 Dec. 1991)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews