Customer Reviews


154 Reviews
5 star:
 (115)
4 star:
 (22)
3 star:
 (12)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


66 of 67 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Invaluable if you ever supply a school, church or bazaar
Do you ever need to make a 'production batch' of cakes? Someone says 'we are running a cake stall - can you..?' This book has the basic recipes you need for these occasions, with enough variations that you can come up with two or three or more types of cake (individual or tray bakes) or one or two larger ones any time you need them. I especially like the lemon cake...
Published on 28 Jun 2001

versus
16 of 19 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good selection spoiled by poor choice of binding in this version
This book contains a vast range of cakes but also several confections such as truffles and coconut ice, both non-bake. It is not helped by the absence of any photographs of the finished products, although I concede that at the cover price this would be unlikely.

A good cookery book will allow you to open it at a recipe and leave it open while you proceed...
Published on 14 April 2010 by Andy_atGC


‹ Previous | 1 216 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

66 of 67 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Invaluable if you ever supply a school, church or bazaar, 28 Jun 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Fast Cakes (Paperback)
Do you ever need to make a 'production batch' of cakes? Someone says 'we are running a cake stall - can you..?' This book has the basic recipes you need for these occasions, with enough variations that you can come up with two or three or more types of cake (individual or tray bakes) or one or two larger ones any time you need them. I especially like the lemon cake topping - crunchy, sweet, sharp, and incredibly easy! The way it is laid out makes it easy to work out that (for example) the Queen Cake recipe makes an eight-inch sponge if a single cake is wanted. I have recommended this book to a lot of people.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


43 of 45 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars this really is the best cake book ever, 8 Oct 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Fast Cakes (Paperback)
I've had this book for probably getting on 20 years, and it keeps coming out time and time again!
It has fabulous easy to follow recipes, and with ingredients usually found in the cupboard. Only today my 12 year old made 4 recipes and was thoroughly satisfied with herself-she is my 3rd child to now use it!
Our book is falling to pieces and covered in cake mix, but we've all had great fun using it. You would never believe there were so many different cake recipes, and so easy and tasty too!
You do need to double or one and a half times the quantity of some of them though! I actually came to Amazon looking for a replacement and ended up writing a review as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


31 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best and easiest cake book ever written!, 2 April 2006
By 
M. Todd (Edinburgh) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Fast Cakes (Paperback)
I started baking using this book at about the age of 11. Thats how easy this book is to use! Ten years on and its still my favourite baking book!
A large range of recipes for tray bakes, small cakes, large cakes, no bake cakes, scones, children, and biscuits. Each recipe has a little introductory sentence which recommends each cake for a particular occasion. Helpful tips on how to store the cakes and a fantastic introduction make this book really easy to use.
All the cakes I've made from this book have worked really well and been very tasty!
The only draw back is lack of pictures but in the hardback version there are a few. In fact I find pictures often put you off making the cake as it looks too difficult!
Highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars FAST CAKES, FIRM FAVOURITE, 6 Nov 2009
By 
kiwicat (Suffolk, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Fast Cakes (Hardcover)
This book is out of print but, if you can get your hands on a copy, just go for it. Not for nothing is Mary Berry called the Queen of Cakes. The recipes are totally dependable, easy to follow and there are plenty of good photographs. I just love this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best cake book-ever!, 10 Nov 2002
By 
C. M. Collier "myopia1" (Liverpool,england) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Fast Cakes (Hardcover)
This is a fantastic cake book.All the cakes are so easy,and you always get compliments.The section on tray bakes is amazing;one basic recipe will make seven different cakes with a few alterations,and she tells you exactly how to do each one.
Don't worry if you've never made a cake before,she talks you through it,and you never need another cake book.I've had this book for years and I have'nt nearly used up all the recipes yet-I just keep making the same ones over and over again but a bit different,and no one has noticed!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The only cake book you'll ever need - several times over., 23 Oct 2003
By 
Mrs I Chadwick (Belper, Derbyshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Fast Cakes (Paperback)
My 10 year old twins and I have used the recipes from this book so often it's falling to pieces and splattered in cake mix.
Lots of delicious recipes, such as the mincemeat brownies, and the can't-go-wrong chocolate cake, didn't. With toppings we hadn't come across before.
Only one small niggle - some of the recipe amounts did not seem to fill the tray size specified - or did someone nibble the raw cake mix.
Would love to see this as a spiral bound with washable surfaces.
You'll use it again and again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Baking made simple, 6 Nov 2009
By 
Mrs. E. A. Wilson "Granny W" (N. Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Fast Cakes (Paperback)
I was amazed how simple the recipes were, I made a Maderia cake, putting all ingredients in the mixer, and beating

for one minute. Results wonderful. Cut in Half added jam and butter icing, Iced the cake with roll on icing.

Hey presto very reasonably priced birthday cake. Happy customer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars what a life saver!!, 5 Jan 2003
By 
fiftyandmore (Rickmansworth, Herts United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Fast Cakes (Paperback)
This book is easy to follow and the recipes very easy to make.
Faced with an unusually large hungry horde decending on us for Christmas, I was desperate to get my freezer full of goodies beforehand. This was a life saver for me and I would recommend it to anyone who cooks for charity, coffee mornings or just family visiting with the grandchildren, who is looking for good results, simply and quickly (and in my case, large quantities!!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The easiest cake book ever, 19 Jun 2007
This review is from: Fast Cakes (Paperback)
i have used this book for years and it is well used. So many good recipies and easy to follow instructions. You will not be dissapointed with this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 19 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good selection spoiled by poor choice of binding in this version, 14 April 2010
By 
Andy_atGC (London UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fast Cakes (Paperback)
This book contains a vast range of cakes but also several confections such as truffles and coconut ice, both non-bake. It is not helped by the absence of any photographs of the finished products, although I concede that at the cover price this would be unlikely.

A good cookery book will allow you to open it at a recipe and leave it open while you proceed through whatever stages are involved. You will probably want to return to it several times from checking the oven setting to the eventual timing. If the book closes when left, it makes following a recipe rather more difficult. It also uses a rather poor quality of paper and splashes of cake batter (not always avoidable) may not be easy to remove and leave permanent stains. I have no problems with its recipes, but the presentation makes it more of a source book than one that you could use frequently. You may need to write out or copy its pages to make better use. That rather defeats its purpose.

Mary Berry has benefited from a long career on TV and in magazines, and subsequently books. She can be seen on TV rather rarely now and her reputation remains high. This is a low-priced edition which does not well serve its potential users due to its presentation. Differently presented, it could justify a 5-star rating.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 216 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Fast Cakes
Fast Cakes by Mary Berry (Paperback - 1 Jan 1983)
7.91
Usually dispatched within 9 to 11 days
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews