Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The usual Hutson!
This was one of his best efforts, the story had me glued to every page, I didn't put the book down until it was finished, The ending was in true Shaun Hutson style that leaves you with that familiar chill that you get from so many of his books.
Published on 25 Sept. 2000 by sarah.reeves@bt.com

versus
6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A disappointing book, especially the ending
Hutson writes in a clear, simple style that is easy to read and he has peopled his book with a full cast of characters. Unfortunately this book has no other good points.
The naturalistic elements in the book were clumsily handled. I know of no school that would deal with child protection in quite the way described and the Inspector's sudden conversion to belief in...
Published on 7 Jun. 2002 by G. E. Langridge


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A disappointing book, especially the ending, 7 Jun. 2002
By 
G. E. Langridge (Surrey, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Stolen Angels (Paperback)
Hutson writes in a clear, simple style that is easy to read and he has peopled his book with a full cast of characters. Unfortunately this book has no other good points.
The naturalistic elements in the book were clumsily handled. I know of no school that would deal with child protection in quite the way described and the Inspector's sudden conversion to belief in the occult was inexplicable. The occult elements themselves were not married well with the rest of the book and I found it quite impossible to suspend disbelief.
However, the most disappointing part of the book was its ending which was very sudden. I didn't realise when I reached the end that this was the end of the story and I kept turning pages looking for the rest of it. I had no sense of completion of the main plot and there were a number of questions left unanswered about the subplots. It was as if Hutson had run out of time or inspiration and simply stopped.
There are so many good books to read that I really can't recommend this one. If you must read it, my advice it to try to get it from a charity shop and then take it back afterwards so they can sell it again. Then at least it will be doing somebody some good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good book but poor ending, 27 Sept. 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Stolen Angels (Paperback)
I am a Shaun Hutson fan and have read many of his books. Stolen Angels had me turning the pages as quick as I could and I loved every minute of it. But as I got to the last 25 pages I kept thinking where is the ending ?? The end happened in couple of pages which was a little disappointing; as the rest of the book was to the well proclaimed Shaun Hutson style. Sorry Shaun .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Poor excuse for an Author, 8 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Stolen Angels (Paperback)
I do not understand how Shaun Hutson makes a living as an author.

I imagine that the types of people that read Shaun Hutson books are teenagers that have only just learned to read properly and know no better, or Prisoners, who again have only just learned to read and only understand basic child like writing and what I would describe as "Chav Horror"
Even the artwork on his book covers is cheap and talentless.
This book in particular never made it past a rewrite. Shaun must have just knocked the idea together and sent it off for print. Whoever signs these books off after editing them instead of chucking them in the bin Is worse than the author himself.
If you want real writing, choose someone else. anyone else.
Adam Nevill, Scott Sigler,just off the top of my head. these authors have talent and imagination. they will also lead you to other authors batter than Hutson.
This guy never moved on from the 80's tortore gore porn of James Herbert. He imitates James Herbert in the worst way.
He is a James Herbert for Chavs.
Avoid.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good story, poor ending, 17 July 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Stolen Angels (Paperback)
Good story, kept you wondering how it would all tie together,but a very weak,dissappointing end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not one of Hutson's best.., 12 Jun. 2006
By 
Alan Burridge (Poole,, Dorset. United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Stolen Angels (Paperback)
What can have driven three professional, ordinary men - a surveyor, and accountant, and an architect - to the desperate act of suicide? Such is the question facing Chief Inspector James Talbot and journalist Catherine Reed, seeking to find a link to the deaths and a series of desecrations in a local cemetary. Every grave belonged to a child. As Reed investigates these outrages, her brother discovers that a number of children at the school where he teaches appear to be exhibiting signs of abuse. It would appear that what everyone feared is becoming a reality - a full scale child abuse ring seems to be in operation. But the spectre of child abuse is merely the tip of a terrifying iceberg. As the race to discover the truth becomes increasingly urgent, Reed and Talbot find that something much darker could be responsible, which threatens not just life, but sanity itself.

As ever, Shaun keeps the pages turning in time-honoured fashion, but the ending seems to fall short of being satisfying as if something else, and I know not what, should have been the ending instead of this one. Odd? You're left kind of hovering as if you're not too sure...so maybe neither was he?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good story, but the ending was poor., 22 Dec. 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Stolen Angels (Paperback)
Shaun Hutson knows how to keep the reader glued to the pages, and this book certainly has that to it's credit, but if you are a big fan of Shaun's this book is not as good as the others I've read.
To the books credit, there is less blood and guts in this than any other Shaun Hutson book I've read to date, proving that you don't need constant graphic descriptions on broken bones etc. to keep the reader interested in the story (unless ofcourse that's what you want).
On the down side - the ending ??? With Shaun's imagination, I'm sure he could have come up with a better ending than the one here...
It's a fairly good read, but don't expect the usual Hutson thriller.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Hmmmm, 28 Jun. 2006
By 
H. Durber (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Stolen Angels (Paperback)
This not the best book I've ever read, but neither is it the worst. It's the first Shaun Hutson book I have read and I was gripped from the start, however I did have several problems with the book. There were several inconsistencies in the plot, such as sudden opinion changes by characters and plot lines which were set up and then just dropped with no completion (e.g. Talbot's mother). I also felt that the representations of child protect and of the occult were inaccurate and in the case of the occult stereotyped and in no way researched accurately. The ending was very disappointing, as the book just stopped; I actually thought there must be a sequel (that's how I ended up here I was looking for the next book in the story!) Maybe Hutson's intention is to write a sequel to the book, or maybe he had just had enough of writing this story; which ever the case it was a very disappointing ending. Overall I wouldn't recommend this book, unless you have ran out of things to read and are looking for something that's in my opinion quite superficial.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Hugely Dissapointed, 11 Jan. 2009
By 
This review is from: Stolen Angels (Paperback)
I had read 3 or 4 Hutson books before and they were all great. Then I read ' Stolen Angels ' . It was decent until the end. What end? I was so utterly dissapointed I swore I would never read another Hutson book again. Maybe he was under pressure to get it finished. It felt like it could do with another 100-200 pages. What a let down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The usual Hutson!, 25 Sept. 2000
This review is from: Stolen Angels (Paperback)
This was one of his best efforts, the story had me glued to every page, I didn't put the book down until it was finished, The ending was in true Shaun Hutson style that leaves you with that familiar chill that you get from so many of his books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dare to put the book down?!?, 13 Sept. 2006
By 
X. Royall (Hertfordshire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Stolen Angels (Paperback)
I read this book in 2 days. This was simply due to the suspense and amazing unravelling of the story. AFter reading the first chapter, I really did struggle to ever put it down.

If you want a book thats easy to read but full of suspense and cliff-hangers throughout then i recommend Stolen Angles. One of the best books i've honestly ever read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Stolen Angels
Stolen Angels by Shaun Hutson (Paperback - 6 Feb. 1997)
£7.20
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews