Customer Reviews


39 Reviews
5 star:
 (33)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


47 of 49 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the best (non pocket )reference book there is
An excellent guide to all European birds from Iceland to Israel plus all the vagrants that have visited. The best part of this book is that it has all photos. Some guide books have drawings or coloured illustrations which sometimes are far removed from the bird you want to identify. Having said that this is a hefty book and therefore is not much use in the field, the...
Published on 29 Oct 2005 by C. Hargrave

versus
6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Misleading book title and description of content
First of all this is an excellent book, but not what I expected. I was expecting from the words printed on the book's cover and the description of the book in the Amazon review that the book is a photographic guide, but it is very far from this and is not a photographic guide at all. The cover says "The Ultimate Photographic Guide...", so what would you expect if you are...
Published 20 months ago by Peter Hampshire


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

47 of 49 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the best (non pocket )reference book there is, 29 Oct 2005
By 
C. Hargrave (Dorset) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: RSPB Complete Birds of Britain & Europe (Hardcover)
An excellent guide to all European birds from Iceland to Israel plus all the vagrants that have visited. The best part of this book is that it has all photos. Some guide books have drawings or coloured illustrations which sometimes are far removed from the bird you want to identify. Having said that this is a hefty book and therefore is not much use in the field, the paperback is smaller and lighter but I prefer this even so. It has a lot of bird info at the front and is the best complete guide I have come across.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


43 of 45 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant for Identification, 15 Aug 2007
By 
J. Chippindale (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
We come to expect quality books when they carry the RSPB name and logo and they do not let us down, my only slight quibble is that this particular book says on the front "UK's Best Selling field Guide." To my way of thinking it is a little large for a pocket guide. Carrying a camera field glasses is enough without a weighty book that you will struggle to get into a pocket.

Whether you are an armchair addict, or a twitcher of the first order, this guide and 70-minute CD are essential reference. The book and video introduce you to 800 species that are regularly and not so regularly found in Britain and Europe. The book contains beautiful photographs, including ones of the different plumages, both male, female and juvenile. There is information on habitat and virtually everything you need to know to obtain a true picture of each individual species.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A brilliant coffee table bird reference book, 21 Mar 2010
This book is superb with some of the best Photos and pictures of any birdbook and we have several. The format is one specie per page. It highlights features to look for to aid identification, differences between males, females and juveniles where necessary. There are flight "patterns", distribution maps and status. Also, most usefully it has pictures of similar looking species on the page. Saw it first at an RSPB site and decided to buy it. It is a coffee table bird book so you will also need a pocket book to take with you for example - RSPB Pocket Birds.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


40 of 43 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A fantastic bird guide, 18 Dec 2005
This review is from: RSPB Complete Birds of Britain & Europe (Hardcover)
This is a fantastic field guide for birdwatchers to have on their bookshelf. The photos are superb, and I personally find them much easier to use for bird identification, than the classic birdwatching field guides that have artists representations. It is a shame that this book is too big and heavy to use outdoors as a field guide (not that I would want to as it might get ruined). However the RSPB have thought of that and have a slimmed down pocket guide available as well.
First class RSPB and DK. Watch out Collins guides, there is a new kid on the block.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars RSPB Complete Birds - Customer Review, 9 Jun 2010
This book was bought as a birthday present for a friend who very much enjoys sitting in his garden/conservatory and watching the birds who visit it. He is a bird lover and this has presented a whole new world to him and also to his family and friends. He is in his seventies and found that this book has considerably increased his enjoyment. He can also look up birds he has seen on walks etc.

An excellent book all round.

An excellent book for bird lovers of all ages. This was bought as a present for an old friend who much enjoys watching the birds in his garden and found this helps in his identification of species and also appreciation of the different varieties. The gentleman in question is a pensioner but has found the book also much enjoyed by his family.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, 30 Mar 2010
By 
This is a beautifully made book and has already proved it's worth in identifying birds we have seen and were not too sure about. The fact that it is all photographs as opposed to drawings makes a huge difference when looking for small differences between birds
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Complete Birds of Britain and Europe, 28 Oct 2012
By 
Johnathan Smith (Metairie, LA United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A beautiful book. The best I've seen for this section of the world. RSPB Complete Birds of Britain and Europe Good profiles and habitat descriptions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good but CD is all wrong!, 7 Jan 2012
The book itself is great but could do with a little more information.. my old field guide from the 80's has more info on each bird than this! But it doesn't have as many images so at least it's a great photo guide! There's also tonnes of other excellent information at the start of the book such as the different habitats found in Europe and some basics on bird anatomy, breeding etc.
The main problem is that the names on each track of the CD are all wrong.. the first track I put on was the Wigeon's call and as soon as it started playing, I immediately turned to my partner and said "If the title didn't say Wigeon, I would swear those were Swifts.."
Turns out they WERE Swifts.. the worst part is I also have a later version of this book and CD, they still haven't updated the names! Argh! At least you can correspond everything with the book track list so it's not too big a deal. Four stars for the mess-up and lack of information.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 12 Feb 2010
As with all Dorling Kindersley books it has been put together extremely well. The photos are clear and the similar birds on the bottom of the pages are very handy for the amateur bird watcher. The hard cover means it will be in good condition for years to come. It is not pocket sized but it makes an invaluable helper when trying to identify birds from the kitchen or conservatory.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Misleading book title and description of content, 28 Dec 2012
First of all this is an excellent book, but not what I expected. I was expecting from the words printed on the book's cover and the description of the book in the Amazon review that the book is a photographic guide, but it is very far from this and is not a photographic guide at all. The cover says "The Ultimate Photographic Guide...", so what would you expect if you are a buyer? Probably lots of photographs.
This book is little more than a re-packaging of the also excellent RSPB - Birds of Britain & Europe as far as the bird pictures and are concerned. It is 100% the same. The bulk of the pictures (whilst good) are illustrations, with small supporting photos, i.e. small in both size and quantity! The bird guide description for each species is also 100% the same.
This book is therefore not the "ultimate photographic guide" so is misleading in its description.
If you want a proper photographic guide try the Collins Complete Guide to British Birds which is 100% photographic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

RSPB Complete Birds of Britain & Europe
RSPB Complete Birds of Britain & Europe by Rob Hume (Hardcover - 10 Feb 2003)
Used & New from: 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews