Customer Reviews


34 Reviews
5 star:
 (23)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Review of French phrase book (DK)
Having looked in several shops for a French phrase book to accompany a course my son and I are doing, and not found anything not overloaded with grammar, I turned to the trusty Dorling Kindersley on Amazon. This book is a perfect, reasonably priced phrase book and perfectly fit for purpose and small enough to slip into a pocket. Ben wants to go and live in France so...
Published on 4 May 2011 by Mrs. S. L. Lee

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Acceptable
I bought this for a short visit to France, my first for a number of years. On the plus side it it very small and fits comforably in your pocket. It was basically ok though there seemed to be some glaring ommissions for phrases to use when out and about. I think I would buy something a bit more comprehensive for any future visits.
Published on 2 July 2012 by Damosin, London


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Review of French phrase book (DK), 4 May 2011
By 
This review is from: French Phrase Book (Eyewitness Travel Guides Phrase Books) (Paperback)
Having looked in several shops for a French phrase book to accompany a course my son and I are doing, and not found anything not overloaded with grammar, I turned to the trusty Dorling Kindersley on Amazon. This book is a perfect, reasonably priced phrase book and perfectly fit for purpose and small enough to slip into a pocket. Ben wants to go and live in France so seemed a good idea to learn the language! We are learning using Michel Thomas's French course and only speaking French at meal times (makes for a peaceful meal!) The phrase book is a good adjunct to this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An excellent all rounder!, 17 Feb. 2012
This review is from: French Phrase Book (Eyewitness Travel Guides Phrase Books) (Paperback)
I found this book very useful when I first went to France, having learned classroom French many many years ago! It contains basic everyday phrases under a number of headings with a guide for imitated pronunciation. There is also a mini dictionary. I recommend this to anyone going to a French speaking country and whose French is rusty!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A handy thing to have., 10 Nov. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: French Phrase Book (Eyewitness Travel Guides Phrase Books) (Paperback)
A great little book if you're travelling in France. Very easy to use and well laid out with a lot of common phrases that you'll need laid out by category. Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars It's a French phrase book, 8 Oct. 2012
By 
Mr. J. Ryden (In your mind, in the part you've forgotten about.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: French Phrase Book (Eyewitness Travel Guides Phrase Books) (Paperback)
I do like the DK range of travel phrase books; i'm sure there are others out there which are equally novice-friendly for the aspiring polyglots, but i've always gravitated towards their phrase books when on a weekend jolly somewhere.

Their French phrase-book is no different, easy to use phrases with phonetics and pronunciations. Phonetics are a big one for me as it's no good knowing the order of the letters if you can't pronounce them properly (after an ill-fated trip to Budapest)! Indexed into key sections for the casual traveller, this phrase book will help you get around and ensure you're understood at the very least, even if you're casually murdering their language, one mispronounced word and misconjugated verb at a time.

Pro-tip: Where possible, rehearse what you mean to say (ie buying a train ticket) in detail, including your best attempt at pronunciation. Clear your throat then impress the foreign speaking world with your multi-lingual skills. The lady in the kiosk will smile approvingly and your family at your side will swoon imperceptibly out of admiration. The lady then asks you a question which you haven't accounted for, uh-oh. A few options here: eloquently say 'Oui' whilst nodding sagely then walk off, leaving them in confusion; revert to blustering English then open your trusty phrase-book while jabbing your finger at what you hope is the correct topic; or get the wife to interject therefore crushing what respect you had cunningly built-up.

Always go for the first option.

On a more serious note, I find it at least courteous to learn the bare basics of the host's language. Even if you're killing their language I find most people will tend to appreciate the attempt. It never ceases to shame me when I hear people complain 'they don't even speak English'. The answer is, they probably do but certainly won't do so if you can't engage the old grey matter.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars does the job, 9 Nov. 2011
This review is from: French Phrase Book (Eyewitness Travel Guides Phrase Books) (Paperback)
I purchased this for a business trip to help me get by. Nice and compact, relevant quick sentences - perfect for complete beginners (like me!!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Bought for my Dad (retired), 11 Jan. 2010
By 
J. Smith (Cornwall, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: French Phrase Book (Eyewitness Travel Guides Phrase Books) (Paperback)
I got this phrase book for my Dad, who has been partof the local French Twinning for years and just wanted a handy reference to keep with him. He's very happy with it so far!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book, 30 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: French Phrase Book (Eyewitness Travel Guides Phrase Books) (Paperback)
This is one of the best phrase books I've seen. Not only helps you with how to ask questions but also tells you how to pronounce the words. Excellent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very helpful, 20 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: French Phrase Book (Eyewitness Travel Guides Phrase Books) (Paperback)
Bought this book for our visit to France. It was so easy to use, helpful tips and phases.
Great for the price, not complicated.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Acceptable, 2 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: French Phrase Book (Eyewitness Travel Guides Phrase Books) (Paperback)
I bought this for a short visit to France, my first for a number of years. On the plus side it it very small and fits comforably in your pocket. It was basically ok though there seemed to be some glaring ommissions for phrases to use when out and about. I think I would buy something a bit more comprehensive for any future visits.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Its okay!, 9 Sept. 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: French Phrase Book (Eyewitness Travel Guides Phrase Books) (Paperback)
I was a little disappointed with this book, it's small and I find a dictionary - English French, French English with phrases included better. I suppose it's a matter of personal taste, some pictures may have been more helpful
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

French Phrase Book (Eyewitness Travel Guides Phrase Books)
£4.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews