Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


23 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Briliant crime scene book!!!!!
This book was amazing. The pictures made the book come to life and the desciptions made i feel like you could go out and 'work a scene yourself'.
A must for any crime scene fanatic!!
Published on 22 Oct 2003 by wildebob

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Two Stars
It's an alright book for beginners but not worth it if your looking into more advanced forensics
Published 9 days ago by Tiffany Africa


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

23 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Briliant crime scene book!!!!!, 22 Oct 2003
This review is from: Crime Scene: The Ultimate Guide to Forensic Science (Hardcover)
This book was amazing. The pictures made the book come to life and the desciptions made i feel like you could go out and 'work a scene yourself'.
A must for any crime scene fanatic!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars For Forensic Buffs, 22 Mar 2004
This review is from: Crime Scene: The Ultimate Guide to Forensic Science (Hardcover)
This is a great book for ne body interested in knowing more about forensic science, it has a great overview of many different aspects of this varied area and the case studies make for some interesting reading, its set out in away thats easy and clear to understand, I left my copy lying around at home, and was amazed at the how many people picked it up to flick through and then couldn't put it down (including my brother and he hates to read!) Its money well spent!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Good Place To Start..., 3 July 2006
By 
Allan One (Lincolnshire, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Crime Scene: The Ultimate Guide to Forensic Science (Hardcover)
From a technical point of view, this book is a great place to start for the general reader and student alike.

Whilst it lacks much of the depth of a true textbook, it does have the advantage it is concise, readable and remains clear in its approach. For the general reader it gives examples of the 'hows and whys' of the world of forensic science. I would however say that it is really only a primer for those wishing to explore the nature of forensic science in a serious manner.

My only other criticism is that perhaps some of the photographs act to distract the reader and at times the prose, appears to me at least, 'breathless' as in the style of news reports, rather than a properly paced commentary.

That said, it's a very worthwhile book and is certainly value for money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 30 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars crime science - a great guide to forensics., 30 Oct 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Crime Scene: The Ultimate Guide to Forensic Science (Hardcover)
The ulimate guide to forensic science is well written , easy to understand informative for both individuals with a general interest in the topic and also for those wishing to begin their studies in forensic science.
It's fantastic to have a book at last that students beginning their studies in this field can pick up and read learn a general outline on many topics without being weighed down with too much indepth information.
A good basic book to have on ones bookshelf. Well worth the money!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 27 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars great for beginners (like me!), 1 Jun 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Crime Scene: The Ultimate Guide to Forensic Science (Hardcover)
i am only 12 but i am an aspiring forensic scientist so i was looking for books about it. finally i picked this one, and it was a great choice. i don't know how good it is for experts, but for me, as a beginner it was great. loads of interesting stuff - one to buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Forensics as interest, 10 Nov 2005
By 
C. Beresford (Pymouth, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Crime Scene: The Ultimate Guide to Forensic Science (Hardcover)
This is a great book, however as a student in the area did not find it as help as hoped. I enjoyed read this and found it very interesting but it is not a textbook that will help u out as much as u may need to study. If u have a interest dont hold back this is the book for u. With great pictures and famous case studies it is a good read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A good starter book on Forensics, 21 July 2011
This review is from: Crime Scene: The Ultimate Guide to Forensic Science (Hardcover)
I bought this book for my son. He will soon be in his last year of secondary school and is looking around for what he wants to do when he eventually leaves. He mentioned an interest in forensics so hence the reason for buying the book. Just a quick mention to say I purchased it at a very good price and the delivery time was excellent.

My son hasn't read the book yet but I couldn't resist picking it up and reading it myself. As earlier reviewers have mentioned it is not a text book (it is, after all, only 143 pages including the index) It gives a brief overview of the different fields within Forensics and if you bear that in mind then I am sure you will find the book an interesting read. The book is split into seven main headings (At the Crime Scence, The Victim, Human Identification, The Suspect, Analysis of Evidence, Lethal Agents, Crimes Without Corpses). At the end is a, not very detailed, glossary of terms used in Forensics. Each section describes the methods used and then gives case studies of how the methods were employed and the success they had.

So, if you want to have an overview of all things Forensic then I recommend this book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Two Stars, 13 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Crime Scene: The Ultimate Guide to Forensic Science (Hardcover)
It's an alright book for beginners but not worth it if your looking into more advanced forensics
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good, 3 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Crime Scene: The Ultimate Guide to Forensic Science (Hardcover)
I rated this 5 stars because It was really interesting and had a great amount of information, if you are into this sort of thing I would definitely recommend you buy this, its a good book. Glad I brought it and very satisfied. :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars crime scene, 19 Sep 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Crime Scene: The Ultimate Guide to Forensic Science (Hardcover)
i was very please with the book it was in very good condition wanted for my grandaughter for her interest in related science projects
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Crime Scene: The Ultimate Guide to Forensic Science
Crime Scene: The Ultimate Guide to Forensic Science by Richard Platt (Hardcover - 4 Sep 2003)
Used & New from: 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews