Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Enjoy your whisky and this book, preferably at the same time, 27 May 2011
This review is from: Whisky: The definitive world guide to scotch, bourbon and whiskey (Hardcover)
I can be short, this is a truly magnificent book. It is very informative. The whole process of barley (or other kinds of grain) being transformed into the end product, aqua vitae, is explained. The historic elements can be useful, but I found the elaborative descriptions of the different stages, for example the distilling, much more interesting. The illustrations really helped to make this book attractive, not only for experienced drinkers but also for more novel drinkers. The beautiful pictures made it much more easy for me to understand and imagine how things like peat, heather or oak can influence the whisky.

Every part of the world is included in this book, from Scotland and Ireland to Japan and Australia and even European countries like Poland. The history and specialty of the distilleries in the different regions of the world are described. More important several whiskies are described in the form of tasting notes, which can be very helpful if you're in search of a new whisky.

Another pleasant point about this book is the variety of authors that contributed to it, each with their own professional opinion.

I thought I knew my whisky, but this book shows that whisky is truly a drink with great complexity. I can recommend this book to everyone who enjoys whisky and who like to learn more about it. Read it the way I did, with a fine glass of your favorite whisky. You will appreciate your spirit of choice as you taste the past!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Opens Up a Whole New World for the Whisky Drinker, 16 Jun 2008
By 
J. Chippindale (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Whisky: The definitive world guide to scotch, bourbon and whiskey (Hardcover)
Once you have browsed the pages of this book, a whole new world is opened up to the whisky drinker. Though by no means a connoisseur myself, I thought I was at least knowledgeable enough to tell a good one from a not so good one (is there any such thing as a bad one where whisky is concerned), or whiskey with an e as the Irish product is spelt.

Having in my time visited several of the smaller distilleries in Scotland, the most recent being Royal Lochnagar on the river Dee, near Balmoral, I though that I also knew some of the less well known, not to say obscure brands, but this book has an immense variety to choose from and certainly proves that the whisky available at your local pub or off-licence is merely the tip of the iceberg as far as whisk[e]y is concerned. Of course apart from numerous varieties from Scotland there are several varieties of whiskey common to Ireland, with Bushmills being probably the most well-known brand but of course there are many others, Tullamore Dew and Black Bush are just two more of a host of brands.

The book goes into great detail regarding the different types of whisky: Single malt, single grain and blended and the plus and minus points of the multitude of different brands. Many will be surprised to know that it is not only Scotland and Ireland that hold the monopoly on whisky. America of course produce their well know Jack Daniels and Jim Beam bourbons. Canada also produces whisky, as do places as far afield as Japan and India and surprisingly much closer to home, Wales.

The book tells the reader virtually everything they are ever likely to want to know regarding the history of whisky, e.g. the word whiskey is taken from an ancient Gaelic term "uisce beatha" which translates as "water of life". The book also goes into some detail of what gives a particular brand its distinctive taste and includes tasting notes for several key whiskies. The whisky industry is still thriving, even though many of the smaller distilleries have been brought under the umbrella of the multi-national brewing companies. For those who long to try something individual and different, it is still out there, you just have to look that little bit harder.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book, 20 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Whisky: The definitive world guide to scotch, bourbon and whiskey (Hardcover)
I bought this book as a present for my son-in-law and he is enjoying it very much. He said it was a good read as well as being a great reference book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars beaumaine, 25 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Whisky: The definitive world guide to scotch, bourbon and whiskey (Hardcover)
This was a gift and my son in law was very happy. Very hard to say much more when it is get they had asked for.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome Book!, 3 April 2013
By 
Clare Llewelyn (KAREN, NAIROBI Kenya) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Whisky: The definitive world guide to scotch, bourbon and whiskey (Hardcover)
I gave this to my husband as an anniversary present as he loves whiskey and he can now see where it all comes from. A good buy for a whiskey lover.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very good, 13 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Whisky: The definitive world guide to scotch, bourbon and whiskey (Hardcover)
Very good and useful book.It is wery well whriten with nice photos.Real definitive guide of whisky.I recomend it to anyone who wants to be whisky maniac.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Whisky Galore, 22 Feb 2011
This review is from: Whisky: The definitive world guide to scotch, bourbon and whiskey (Hardcover)
Although only co-written by the late,great Michael Jackson this is a superb book. It gives a fascinating insight into the world of whisky and its history. This is complemented by superb colour illustrations. It is a book that I have read and highly recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you enjoy whisky, buy this book!, 26 Dec 2010
By 
Mr. George M. Skinner (Poole, Dorset) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Whisky: The definitive world guide to scotch, bourbon and whiskey (Hardcover)
I bought this book as a present for Christmas for a family member (who enjoys whisky). It is a beautifully produced book with loads of information, pictures and diagrams etc. on the subject. Bought it at a very good price so I think it is a bargain. If you enjoy whisky, buy it. If you have a friend / relative who enjoys whisky and you are looking for a present for them, buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An impressive book about my favorite tipple, 30 May 2009
By 
Peter Durward Harris "Pete the music fan" (Leicester England) - See all my reviews
(No. 1 Hall OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 10 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Whisky: The definitive world guide to scotch, bourbon and whiskey (Hardcover)
Even knowing that he wasn't related to any similarly-named man that I'd ever heard of, the author's name almost put me off buying the book. The first Michael Jackson that I learned about was a computer person who devised some programming rules that I didn't like, to say the least, even though I never worked anywhere where I would have been required to apply his rules. Then there's the singer, who at least recorded SOME decent music. One of his albums, Off the wall, is brilliant but although he recorded some other good music, mostly I wish he hadn't bothered. All in all, then, the name Michael Jackson doesn't inspire confidence in me, but the author of this book shows that one should never judge somebody purely on their name. He writes authoritatively and clearly about whisky around the world. In this book, other contributors have also written a few pieces.

Although I am sure that Michael and the other contributors know far more about whisky than they are able to include in a single book, there is enough here to satisfy most people's curiosity. The first section (understanding whiskies) explains some of the basics and even includes a couple of pages about whisky in literature. Sadly, there is no mention of whisky in song although there would be plenty to choose from.

Next comes a section (aromas and flavors) explaining the factors that determine the differences between whiskies. Climate, geology, water, heather, sea breeze, seaweed, barley and peat all make their mark even before processing begins. The section continues by giving details of the distillation and maturing process and the factors that influence the final result.

The book then contains further sections describing whisky production around the world, with the 94-page section on Scotland being longer than the sections for the rest of the world added together. No surprise there, because Scotland is still synonymous with whisky. Ireland, Canada, America and Japan all get significant coverage with a mere six pages covering the rest of the world. Within these sections, information including the type of produced is given about distilleries still operating at the time the book was written, as well as some details of former distilleries.

Finally, there is a section titled enjoying whisky covering whisky cocktails, whisky with your meal and cooking with whisky. I confess that on the occasions when I've enjoyed cocktail drinks, they tend not to be whisky-based. I like my whisky neat or with water or ice.

If you enjoy whisky, even occasionally, and are interested in learning about the processes that create the drink, this book should provide you with exactly what you want.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Whisky ... by Michael Jackson, 4 Jun 2009
By 
Dmitrij Kuzmin "Dmitrij Kuzmin" (Lithuania) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Whisky: The definitive world guide to scotch, bourbon and whiskey (Hardcover)
Absolutely great book of great author. Very interesting and complete guide to whisky, whiskey and bourbon world. I recommend it for all whisky "maniacs"!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Whisky: The definitive world guide to scotch, bourbon and whiskey
Whisky: The definitive world guide to scotch, bourbon and whiskey by Michael Jackson (Hardcover - 28 April 2005)
20.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews