Customer Reviews


33 Reviews
5 star:
 (25)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


51 of 51 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An invaluable reference guide
After many years of looking for a really useful reference book of the human anatomy I have finally found an excellently produced publication. Anatomy for the Artist by Sarah Simblet is the next best thing to having a model in front of you. The book is full of excellent photographs of well chosen models and the inclusion of illustrations of bones and muscles on simulator...
Published on 7 Jan 2002 by Mr S Murdoch

versus
19 of 24 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars more beautiful than useful
I would have found this book more useful if each photograph related to detailed drawings of what was going on underneath in terms of bone and muscle. The hand drawn sketches seem to me to be more a demonstration of the artist's skill and style than a useful depiction of the skeleton. Likewise the photos are more a celebration of the beautiful bodies they portray and the...
Published on 1 Nov 2009 by PiX


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

51 of 51 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An invaluable reference guide, 7 Jan 2002
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Anatomy for the Artist (Hardcover)
After many years of looking for a really useful reference book of the human anatomy I have finally found an excellently produced publication. Anatomy for the Artist by Sarah Simblet is the next best thing to having a model in front of you. The book is full of excellent photographs of well chosen models and the inclusion of illustrations of bones and muscles on simulator paper over the photos is very useful. I only wish that this book Amazon's January sale as I'd like to buy another ten copies for all my artist friends! I would be pleased to know if the author has done a similar book on the anatomy of animals.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An essential study book, 10 April 2009
This review is from: Anatomy for the Artist (Hardcover)
The human body has been constantly seen throughout history as one of the most important artist influences to the modern world. This is perhaps arrogant on the part of human existence but it does highlight one thing; if you want to get noticed in the art world chances are you'll need to brush up on your human anatomy!

I bought this book as a reference for the human body as I have little interest in life drawing classes at my university (bizarre I know). The first thing that strikes you when you open the book is how high the presentation is. Black and white backgrounds contrast perfectly and cut out the figure shapes well which is a must for creating your own renditions on paper. Another great touch is the transparent paper drawings of bones and muscle structure which overlaps onto the figures.

In terms of content this book has over 250 pages of human anatomy photos and drawings. These are divided into specific chapters such as the spine, the head and hands and feet just to name a few. It really covers all the bases of the human body.

If I am to point out fault it is with the books apparent obsession of human perfection. Every single model in this book is pretty much the pinnacle of what human perfection is viewed as in society. You won't find any references for less 'anatomically gifted' individuals. On another note you won't find anatomy of more diverse age groups; most of the models are in their 20's to 40's.

Any arguments against this book are seemingly minor and it does exactly what it sets out to do which is to provide an in-depth look at the human body and all it's details. I highly recommend Anatomy for the Artist for any artists out there in need of a good human reference book. It's almost worth sneaking out of life drawings for.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Education Aid, 31 Aug 2009
By 
M. Ward (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Anatomy for the Artist (Hardcover)
In teaching Art for the last 30 years I have yet to find a better reference book for Life Drawing. Whilst it could never replace the Life Class itself, it is full of excellent photographic imagery, anatomical detail and very high standards of draughtsmanship. It cannot recommend it highly enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Such a wonderful resource, 5 May 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Anatomy for the Artist (Hardcover)
There is no other reference book that is as good as this. The book is huge, lots of pictures of anterior, exterior views of the various parts of the body, supplemented by drawings of the muscles on transparent pages placed on top of the relevant body part.

I just wish more people would make books like this. The other anatomy for artist books are either grainy pictures of nudes from the 70s or hideous drawings of badly proportioned naked people. I use this book and my wealth of reference collected from the net, all the other books for me are useless.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Greater than my great expectations!!!, 14 April 2010
This review is from: Anatomy for the Artist (Hardcover)
Not only am I a working artist, I'm also studying to become a massage therapist and this book has proved an invaluable resource tool for both these areas of my life. I would highly recommend it, the pictures are clear and very beautiful, with tracing overlays to show you what happens under the external stucture of the body. Good value for money
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very good and a little different, 10 Jun 2012
By 
J. Waite - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Anatomy for the Artist (Hardcover)
This is a useful anatomy book to have on your shelf. There are drawings by the excellent Sarah Simblet, but a feature of this book is that a large proportion of the illustrations are photographs in both black and white and colour. There are some odd things about the book - a little too much emphasis on medical anatomy that doesn't really concern the artist (relating, perhaps, to the artist's academic interests). However, even as I write this I recall that I really enjoyed reading about the digestive system and plastic casts of the ventricles of the heart. Hence the five stars, because the unexpected elements of this are actually a pleasure. Another example is Simblet's own artwork towards the end, which I didn't much care for as an image, but found fascinating as a piece of work that is the result of her interest in anatomy. The overlays of bones drawn on tissue paper which go over photographs are very useful indeed, and I'm delighted to find that Victorian prudery seems finally to have died and there is a complete chapter on how to draw the genitals that takes this section of the body as seriously and straighforwardly as the rest. I notice one reviewer complaining that the models are all 'perfect' specimens and this is true, and I would have prefered a more interestingly varied group of models (such as one comes across in the life room). However, the choice of models does mean that the bones and musculature which form the substance of the text are well illustrated on live bodies. The text is very good, with clear explanations and is written by a practitioner who knows the sort of information that an artist needs. Of course you'll need other anatomy books but I'd put this as one of my top ten alongside classics like Beverley Hale (his Anatomy Lessons from the Great Masters is surely still indispensable?), Apesos (a favourite of mine), Raynes and of course Barcsay.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars great pictures, usefull book, 1 Mar 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Anatomy for the Artist (Hardcover)
I think the pictures are a great help in understanding of the human body and why things looks like they do.
It has fantastic photos and great illustrations focusing on different parts of the body.
I'm very pleased with the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stunning artist's manual, 30 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Anatomy for the Artist (Hardcover)
Our daughter loves drawing and wished to enhance her skills in drawing human anatomy. We read the reviews and thought it would be a good purchase, but it is excellent with overlays of bone structures and muscles so that it is easy to understand how the body is supported by the skeleton and how the muscles work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An outstanding book, 19 Sep 2011
This review is from: Anatomy for the Artist (Hardcover)
Bought for my 17yo student daughter on the recommendation of my sister - a medical professional and artist of considerable talent. An oustanding book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars fantastic book, 20 Feb 2010
By 
Karen Weston "lv a good book" (united kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Anatomy for the Artist (Hardcover)
a must for anyone interested in anatomy, full of facinating and useful information and pictures, the photographic images are great as well, not everyone has access to a life model and these photo's are such good quality they can be used to create studies from, an all round great book,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Anatomy for the Artist
Anatomy for the Artist by Sarah Simblet (Hardcover - 28 Sep 2001)
£17.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews