Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
29
4.7 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 17 March 2002
Once again, an exciting, interesting, and thouroughly enjoyable edition from DK. 'Animal' is possibly the best book to begin exploring the myriad of animal life that is gracing our known world.
This book is not just a colourful guide to the Animal Kingdom, indeed it is more an informative reference guide that involves us in each Species within. It informs us, via impressive Data boxes and stunning photography of the animals contained.
It classifies each animal group for easy, consise reading and explores habitats, Status, Occurences, and Statistics.
Excellent Reading, Excellent Viewing, and Excellent Reference.
Not to be missed!
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 July 2002
Animal is such a brilliant book! I have been totally absorbed reading it! It's true to say that this book is engrossing and you can really get carried away reading the descriptions and seeing the pictures of the different animals/species, some of which I was not even aware of!
This book reads extremely easily and can be understood by all... the information is facinating and informative while not too indepth as to make it boring. The pictures are fantastic too... I cannot recommend this book highly enough. If you are at all interested in animals you'll love it!
This is an excellent book that is as entertaining as any documentary. I really love it!
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 March 2006
"Animal" is extraordinarily good value for anyone interested in the natural world. In more than 600 superbly presented large format pages, several thousand species are beautifully illustrated and their key characteristics including distribution and conservation status described precisely and authoratively. There are introductory chapters providing a general overview of zoology including the tree of classification. The main part of the text is broken into large chapters on mammals, birds, reptiles, amphibians, reptiles, fish and inverterbrates, covering almost every species most people will have heard of, and many others. Attention to the more obscure branches of nature is as meticulous as that given to the best-known species. "Animal" is a book for stimulating browsing and for reference, for many years to come.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 March 2015
All the superlatives given by other reviewers are spot on. It continues DK's line of excellent popular Visual Guides, like Universe ,Earth: The Definitive Visual Guide (Dk) and Human: The Definitive Guide to Our Species among others.

I've ordered a used copy of the 2001 hardcover edition, and its simply stunning. It's hard to put down. The quality of the glossy paper and the vivid pictures still hasn't faded a bit after 14 years, and its hard to compete with the wealth of information and the way it's presented.

Pay attention to the fact that there a few editions including a compact one.
The Hardcover edition, with more than 600 25cm * 30cm high quality paper is a massive one both in size and weight.

With a 1p price tag for many used copies of the older editions, it may be considered as an insult to say it's worth every penny, so I'll just conclude with a warm recommendation.

The format is such that allows both adults and children to enjoy.

Contains the following sections:
INTRODUCTION
HABITATS
THE ANIMAL KINGDOM
MAMMALS
BIRDS
REPTILES
AMPHIBIANS
FISH
INVERTEBRATES
each divided to smaller chapters.
Also available are TOC, Glossary and Index.

There's a newer 2012 edition Animal that also has a Look Inside feature here on Amazon, that for some reason is not available here.
I can confirm that it is almost identical to the content of this earlier 2001 edition, so if it's not for a present, but for personal use, I guess the much cheaper old edition would do.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 April 2015
This volume is lavishly illustrated and the text is written by various experts in the different species and habitats covered. It is easy to read and the book is set out neatly.

I do not, however, feel that it is "authoritative" as claimed by the publisher, as there are many different books that are more so - but that does not detract greatly from the beauty and breadth that is covered in the 600+ pages. If you are a serious nature buff with a slightly above average modicum of knowledge then this book is not necessarily for you, but for the novice naturalist it would be a good read.

It represents good value and should certainly be made available to all school libraries.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 March 2002
A big heavy book, but the text within is anything but heavy. A wealth of information about animals, their habitats, feeding habits and phylogeny is presented in over 600 pages of fantastic photos, and in-depth but easy to read text. An essential book to animal enthuiasts, a very useful tool to students in zoology, biology and other animal related subjects.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 October 2001
Will definitely exceed your expectations. It's truly comprehensive, covering habitats as well as all the animals, making a fantastic reference for all the family. Sensational pictures!
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 January 2002
I cannot but fully agree with every praise showered over "Animal". It is one of the best reference works I have ever seen. The text accompanying the excellent illustrations is compact and to the point. It makes great reading.
Nevertheless, I have to raise three small points:
1. Where are "Homo Sapiens Sapiens"? I didn't find him in the Apes Section where it belongs. Religious Reasons?
2. Why not include feeding and reproduction information (e.g. gestation period, number of young produced etc.) in the animals' "Identity Cards"? It is true that in many cases the text offers that information, but not always...
33 comments| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 April 2003
This book is a really good visual guide for all wildlife enthusiasts. The information is easy to understand and covers classification sytems, animal habitiats, behaviour, biology and loads more. The photos are excellent, I would recommend this book to anyone who wants to find out more about wildlife.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 November 2003
I got this book a while back, but I'll never regret it. If you want to research animals, have a casual glance through a good book, or you are just interested in that kind of thing, this is the book for you.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)