Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Animal Magic!, 17 Mar. 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Animal: The definitive visual guide to the world's wildlife (Hardcover)
Once again, an exciting, interesting, and thouroughly enjoyable edition from DK. 'Animal' is possibly the best book to begin exploring the myriad of animal life that is gracing our known world.
This book is not just a colourful guide to the Animal Kingdom, indeed it is more an informative reference guide that involves us in each Species within. It informs us, via impressive Data boxes and stunning photography of the animals contained.
It classifies each animal group for easy, consise reading and explores habitats, Status, Occurences, and Statistics.
Excellent Reading, Excellent Viewing, and Excellent Reference.
Not to be missed!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awe inspiring content and presentation, 25 Mar. 2006
By 
L. P. Roche (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Animal (Hardcover)
"Animal" is extraordinarily good value for anyone interested in the natural world. In more than 600 superbly presented large format pages, several thousand species are beautifully illustrated and their key characteristics including distribution and conservation status described precisely and authoratively. There are introductory chapters providing a general overview of zoology including the tree of classification. The main part of the text is broken into large chapters on mammals, birds, reptiles, amphibians, reptiles, fish and inverterbrates, covering almost every species most people will have heard of, and many others. Attention to the more obscure branches of nature is as meticulous as that given to the best-known species. "Animal" is a book for stimulating browsing and for reference, for many years to come.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant!, 31 July 2002
By A Customer
Animal is such a brilliant book! I have been totally absorbed reading it! It's true to say that this book is engrossing and you can really get carried away reading the descriptions and seeing the pictures of the different animals/species, some of which I was not even aware of!
This book reads extremely easily and can be understood by all... the information is facinating and informative while not too indepth as to make it boring. The pictures are fantastic too... I cannot recommend this book highly enough. If you are at all interested in animals you'll love it!
This is an excellent book that is as entertaining as any documentary. I really love it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must-have book for all., 14 Mar. 2002
This review is from: Animal: The definitive visual guide to the world's wildlife (Hardcover)
A big heavy book, but the text within is anything but heavy. A wealth of information about animals, their habitats, feeding habits and phylogeny is presented in over 600 pages of fantastic photos, and in-depth but easy to read text. An essential book to animal enthuiasts, a very useful tool to students in zoology, biology and other animal related subjects.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Animal Review, 24 April 2003
By 
This review is from: Animal: The definitive visual guide to the world's wildlife (Hardcover)
This book is a really good visual guide for all wildlife enthusiasts. The information is easy to understand and covers classification sytems, animal habitiats, behaviour, biology and loads more. The photos are excellent, I would recommend this book to anyone who wants to find out more about wildlife.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Animal, 5 Feb. 2010
By 
Spider Monkey (UK) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Animal: The definitive visual guide to the world's wildlife (Hardcover)
`Animal' is another outstanding book in DK's large `definitive guide' reference book series and as the name suggests this looks at the worlds wildlife. If you have seen any of the other books in the series you will know what to expect. This has stunning images throughout, clear, concise entries and is edited by leading authorities in their respective fields. This book starts off by classifying exactly what an animal is and explores aspects of animal life that relate to all species, things life behaviour, anatomy, life cycles and conservation. It then goes on to look at habitats animals live in before looking at the animals themselves. The chapter headings are Mammals, Birds, Reptiles, Amphibians, Fish and Invertebrates and each chapter is further subdivided to be more specific and for ease of reference. Each animal entry has a stunning image, a map of where they are found, height, weight and other details relevant to that particular species (social unit for primates or plumage for birds for example), before a brief block of text explains about the animal in a little more detail. I am a huge fan of this DK series and this book lives up to the high standard the other books have set and I enjoy nothing more than sitting down for a few hours and browsing through this book. It is a large and weighty tome and would make a delightful coffee table book to flick though at odd moments, as well as being a great introduction to the worlds wildlife for inquisitive children (and adults!). Well worth a look and adding to your reference library.

Feel free to check out my blog which can be found on my profile page.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb Book, Authoritative Text and Great Illustrations, 3 Jan. 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Animal: The definitive visual guide to the world's wildlife (Hardcover)
I cannot but fully agree with every praise showered over "Animal". It is one of the best reference works I have ever seen. The text accompanying the excellent illustrations is compact and to the point. It makes great reading.
Nevertheless, I have to raise three small points:
1. Where are "Homo Sapiens Sapiens"? I didn't find him in the Apes Section where it belongs. Religious Reasons?
2. Why not include feeding and reproduction information (e.g. gestation period, number of young produced etc.) in the animals' "Identity Cards"? It is true that in many cases the text offers that information, but not always...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hours of readable information, 17 Nov. 2003
By 
Peter Roberts "PeterandtheGoose" (Stoke-on-Trent, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I got this book a while back, but I'll never regret it. If you want to research animals, have a casual glance through a good book, or you are just interested in that kind of thing, this is the book for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A truly superb book, 11 Oct. 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Animal: The definitive visual guide to the world's wildlife (Hardcover)
Will definitely exceed your expectations. It's truly comprehensive, covering habitats as well as all the animals, making a fantastic reference for all the family. Sensational pictures!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars animal, 28 Aug. 2008
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Animal: The definitive visual guide to the world's wildlife (Hardcover)
This excellent book has been produced by 72 contributors andconsultants. Over 2000 species are described. The book is divided into two parts a)covering introduction,habitatsand the animal kingdom b)sections on mammels,birds, reptiles,amphibians,fish and invertibrates.Each grouping covers anatomy,feeding,reproduction,movement and defence.For each species there is a distribution map,short description and first class illustration. Ahistory of endangered species and glossary are included. The book does not include my favourite animal-the takin (Budorcas toxicolor) the national animal of Bhutan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Animal: The definitive visual guide to the world's wildlife
Animal: The definitive visual guide to the world's wildlife by David Burnie (Hardcover - 4 Oct. 2001)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews