Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Aquarium Fish
`Aquarium Fish' is an outstanding guide to fish species from Dick Mills and DK publications. It pays to be aware from the outset that this is solely about fish species and not their general care and health and if that is the type of book you are after I would recommend `You and Your Aquarium' by the same author. This book is lavishly illustrated throughout and each...
Published on 11 Jan 2010 by Spider Monkey

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A bit useless
Its a sort of catalogue of fish, limited to a small set of the fish you can get, and offers very little else. The information is haphazard, limited to a few seemingly random notes about each fish and there is no information about pH, hardness and temperature ranges for each fish. In fact, there is virtually no practical information about tank setup and maintenance and in...
Published on 18 July 2012 by A reader


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Aquarium Fish, 11 Jan 2010
By 
Spider Monkey (UK) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Aquarium Fish (DK Handbooks) (Paperback)
`Aquarium Fish' is an outstanding guide to fish species from Dick Mills and DK publications. It pays to be aware from the outset that this is solely about fish species and not their general care and health and if that is the type of book you are after I would recommend `You and Your Aquarium' by the same author. This book is lavishly illustrated throughout and each species is generally given at least half a page (occasionally a whole page and very rarely three to a page) to explain their features, traits and specific details. Each entry looks at which family each fish is from, species, size, habitat, diet, tank levels, temperament and general information that is relevant to that fish. There are also some small chapters at the start looking at how fish are grouped, how they adapt to their environments and also very basic information on fish anatomy. The chapters are headed Tropical Freshwater Fishes, Coldwater Freshwater Fishes, Tropical Marine Fishes and Coldwater Marine Fishes, with each chapter being further subdivided for ease of use. This is best used in conjunction with a good fish care guide, like the one recommended at the start of my review, and this particular book would be great for those who are getting more into their fish keeping or really wish to research their fish before purchase and setting up of a home aquarium. This is a specialised book but still manages to be fascinating.

Feel free to check out my blog which can be found on my profile page.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A great guide for those starting a new aquarium, 9 Dec 2001
This review is from: Aquarium Fish (DK Handbooks) (Paperback)
This handbook is a clear and concise guide to setting up a new aquarium, containing instructions, different set-ups available, plants, and colour photographs to identify the fish. You are also told the habits and mannerisms of each fish, which is invaluable when working out which fish to put together. I found this useful to help me set up my fist community. A great book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nice little book, 12 Oct 2008
By 
Picard (USS Enterprise) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Best suited to the 'total' beginner rather than someone with at least any idea what tropical fish keeping requires, this is an all round lovely read. The photographs are clear and colourful in typical DK fashion, and the explanatory reading is of course informative and well written. As an experienced keeper myself, I did discuss certain aspects with a friend and we did agree that the book had tendecies to over-worry on certain aspects of care, and their were also a couple of anomalies; such as in one paragraph, the writer claims you should never put your hand in to avoid contaminating the water. A few pages later, a photo and text tells you to put your hand in the water for general purposes.. Hardly an easy thing to miss out on.

It's at a good price and well suited for introducing fish to a family of young'uns and about teaching children the moral important of caring for pets. Well done DK!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A bit useless, 18 July 2012
By 
This review is from: Aquarium Fish (DK Handbooks) (Paperback)
Its a sort of catalogue of fish, limited to a small set of the fish you can get, and offers very little else. The information is haphazard, limited to a few seemingly random notes about each fish and there is no information about pH, hardness and temperature ranges for each fish. In fact, there is virtually no practical information about tank setup and maintenance and in my opinion, this book is little more than useless.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great reference book, 27 Mar 2014
By 
G. Lane (Llandudno) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Aquarium Fish (DK Handbooks) (Paperback)
Everything laid out in pure simplicity, large pictures, clear information, sound advice as you would expect from DK. Real bargain like all thier books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very Informative, 2 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Aquarium Fish (DK Handbooks) (Paperback)
A good informative book contains information about hundreds of fish. very highly recommended. clear and easily understood. and a great price to mach.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great book, 23 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Aquarium Fish (DK Handbooks) (Paperback)
covers many fish, their care and set up. a good informative book all through. details on set ups and diseases
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good book, 19 Jun 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Aquarium Fish (DK Handbooks) (Paperback)
a bargin book , lots of fish in it, could have a bit more real in depth detail and a few more species.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars fish book reveiw, 25 Feb 2011
This review is from: Aquarium Fish (DK Handbooks) (Paperback)
I think the main section of the book which explained about each particular fish in detail with pictures cover a large range of fish is very good but the first section on fishkeeping etc. was a bit brief.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Quite a good book, but not as useful as some I ..., 21 Nov 2014
By 
Alison (North Tyneside) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Aquarium Fish (DK Handbooks) (Paperback)
Quite a good book, but not as useful as some I have purchased. Still I like to have a good selection of books on my hobbies as every book has something useful in it, so I welcome it to my library of reference books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Aquarium Fish (DK Handbooks)
Aquarium Fish (DK Handbooks) by Dick Mills (Paperback - 13 April 2000)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews