Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


25 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What a Find!!
Just excellent, this book took my barbeques to a new level. A rich combination of inventive recipes with excellent use of spice and tastes and superb results to the table. No more charred chops and wings in our house!
One very useful point is the recommendations for each recipe on how to prepare the food both with an indoor grill and an outdoor grill so you can...
Published on 29 Sep 2001

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars No long cook recipes
This book is not too bad if the limit to your cooking is 30 mins or so.

The recipes are nicely sorted, clear and well written and there is a good selection of things to try. There is also a good range of accompaniments which is a distinct plus on some books. Some really nice salads.

Where this book falls down is that there are no long roast/smoke...
Published on 18 Jun 2012 by Mr. R. Bragg


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

25 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What a Find!!, 29 Sep 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Barbecue: Where There's Smoke There's Flavour (Hardcover)
Just excellent, this book took my barbeques to a new level. A rich combination of inventive recipes with excellent use of spice and tastes and superb results to the table. No more charred chops and wings in our house!
One very useful point is the recommendations for each recipe on how to prepare the food both with an indoor grill and an outdoor grill so you can prepare the recipes at any time, not just in the Barbeque season.
Well worth the purchase...I have already bought it for friends...and it will be on my Christmas gift list for more of them....be prepared!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Buy it - Cook it - Eat it!, 7 Aug 2009
This review is from: Barbecue (Hardcover)
I love cooking and have a large collection of books, but this book really stands out on my bookshelf. When I'm flicking through a recipe book, maybe 5-10% of the recipes appeal either because they sound nice, or there's a nice picture. This book stands out for the sheer number of recipes that make me want to fire up the barbecue - or grill, because this book includes directions for both.

For the first barbecue, I literally could not decide what to make, as it all sounded wonderful (quite a rarity in a cookbook, in my experience) - so I ended up preparing four recipes. My carnivorous yet usually reserved husband loved it enough to ask 'Where did this come from - it's really good!'

The photos are great, as is to be expected from a Dorling Kindersley publication. The recipes are straightforward and very easy to follow, and as already mentioned, there's detailed instructions for cooking on both the barbecue and the grill indoors - so poor weather is no longer either a problem or an excuse!

If you're looking to perk up your barbecue repertoire after years of same old same old, then buy this book. It'll be a very long time before you'll need another.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars No long cook recipes, 18 Jun 2012
By 
This review is from: Barbecue (Hardcover)
This book is not too bad if the limit to your cooking is 30 mins or so.

The recipes are nicely sorted, clear and well written and there is a good selection of things to try. There is also a good range of accompaniments which is a distinct plus on some books. Some really nice salads.

Where this book falls down is that there are no long roast/smoke recipes. These can take many hours on the fire but are equally fun to do. I like getting a back rib of beef on the barbie and cooking it for hours at a lower heat. This sort of recipe is not present in the this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I'll never throw a burger on the barbie again!, 9 Jun 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Barbecue: Where There's Smoke There's Flavour (Hardcover)
This book is gorgeous, it's packed with great photo's and great recipes to inspire you. I can't wait to work my through it! And if the weather let's you down there is instructions on how to cook everything indoors, maybe not as much fun but if it tastes as good as it looks and early indications are that it does then all is not lost. If you want to make the most out of your barbie then buy this book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant ideas to avoid the usual boring barbecue fare., 7 Jun 2011
This review is from: Barbecue (Hardcover)
Barbecues should be good but I got to feel that all having a barbecue equalled was the sort of grim food you wouldn't consider eating unless it came off a barbecue on a hot day. Cheap burgers, sausages and generally meat covered in commercially prepared nondescript unhealthy marinades.
I had this book recommended to me and it really does give you all the ideas you need to cook interesting and healthy food on a barbecue. We have used it and the recipes are delicious. The tips are also very useful. I would really recommend this to anyone who would like some ideas as to how to improve their barbecues a lot and add some variety to it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best of the lot, 28 April 2011
By 
R. Gorman "ba1485" (Bangor, Northern Ireland, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Barbecue (Hardcover)
Having bought a range of BBQ menu books I can truthfully say that this is the best ever.
The menu's are comprehensive plus there are lots of useful time saving tips - especially about how far ahead you can make up marinades and there are cooking instructions (often brief but correct) for indoor cooking on a griddle pan, which with our fickle weather is a great benefit.

The comprehensive instructions about making up your own spicy dressings is terrific and has permitted me to experiment as I would never have done previously, and because you are making them yourself you can "tweak" the taste.

Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A brilliant book, 13 July 2010
This review is from: Barbecue (Hardcover)
No complicated recipes, all recipes well explained, subsititute ingredients incorporated. In English and not American. Quite simply the best BBQ book on the market
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Barbecue, 12 July 2010
By 
This review is from: Barbecue (Hardcover)
I bit too American taste but on the whole not a bad book. Some great food pictures.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars From chopping an onion to barbecuing a squid., 16 Mar 2001
By A Customer
Grilling is highly recommended by Charlie Charcoal. The photographs are excellent, a great recipe section on seafood and essential skills, from chopping an onion to barbecuing a squid.This is a super book for beginners.cc
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great for summer bbq's, 9 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Barbecue (Hardcover)
Really pleased with this. Great recipes for summer bbq's with friends and family. Rum coated pineapple was a favourite with the family.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Barbecue: Where There's Smoke There's Flavour
Barbecue: Where There's Smoke There's Flavour by Birgit Erath (Hardcover - 4 May 2000)
Used & New from: 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews