Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Exciting composition of insects to!
I found this book was indeed a 'unique photographic guide' as the layout was like an art piece in its self! - Clever chaotic but clear format of insects over each page with descriptions of each next to it's photo(s). Details include life cycle info, physical features, order & family, size, feeding and tries to include info of how many other similar types there are of...
Published on 30 July 2006 by N. Fulker

versus
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Mixed feelings
Mixed feelings about this handbook. It gives an excellent introduction to an enormous subject, and provides a manageable overview using Linnaean taxonomy (family tree), within its 250 pages. Its illustrations are clear and detailed and in glorious colour. Many of the bugs are absolutely beautiful.

However, it recognises its own limitations by saying "...
Published on 1 Aug 2010 by Gloops


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Mixed feelings, 1 Aug 2010
By 
Gloops (Dorchester Dorset UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Insects (DK Handbooks) (Paperback)
Mixed feelings about this handbook. It gives an excellent introduction to an enormous subject, and provides a manageable overview using Linnaean taxonomy (family tree), within its 250 pages. Its illustrations are clear and detailed and in glorious colour. Many of the bugs are absolutely beautiful.

However, it recognises its own limitations by saying "... impossible to include [all 1500 families of terrestrial arthropods] in this book. We have chosen a broad range from around the world, including [those that] are particularly important, common or simply fascinating in some way".

As a result, if you really need something to identify the creatures in the area where you live, then this handbook won't get you very far. For example, the entire world's Lepidoptera (butterflies and moths) are dealt with in 20 pages and the Odonata (dragonflies and damselflies) in only 5. Compare this with, say, the 84 and 21 pages respectively (out of a total of 320) in Bob Gibbons' "Field Guide to Insects of Britain and Northern Europe", which I found to be of much more practical use, simply because its scope is geographically far less ambitious.

The DK production is attractive and eye-catching, and could very well spark a youngster's interest in the subject, but it is probably more suited to the coffee table than to the field and the garden.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Exciting composition of insects to!, 30 July 2006
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I found this book was indeed a 'unique photographic guide' as the layout was like an art piece in its self! - Clever chaotic but clear format of insects over each page with descriptions of each next to it's photo(s). Details include life cycle info, physical features, order & family, size, feeding and tries to include info of how many other similar types there are of each (obviously the book can't include all our insects!!). The book groups the insects so you can compare, it has quite a lot of general bug type, life cycles, Hqbitat& handling info at the front plus a guide to the book layout Roughly 10cm X 19cm.

Overall a fun book but I found it a bit strange as a guide, maybe great for a child to catch the 'bug' for bug-studying!? - I take my hat off to anyone who has a go at composing an Insect guide though!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I recommend, 13 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Insects (DK Handbooks) (Paperback)
Excellent book; excellent quality. I recommend this book to anyone who is interested in arthropods and other little invertebrate critters.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The best insect book for beginners, 28 Aug 2011
By 
M. Griffiths - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Insects (DK Handbooks) (Paperback)
Clear, beautifully illustrated, lots of information. A great first book for anyone interested in insects, young or old. Great value
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars DK all the way!, 7 Feb 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Insects (DK Handbooks) (Paperback)
Very impressed, this is an excellent reference book for anybody interested in the lives of insects will enjoy flicking through the pages of this nicely detailed little book. This book covers a wide array of creepy crawlies with detailed and attractive photographs printed on quality paper. I adore DK reference books and know to expect beautiful photography and detailed descriptions. Couldn't have asked for more. I look forward to obtaining the other books featured in this series such as Fossils and The Planets.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A nice little addition to my macro photography, 9 Jan 2010
By 
C. Spencer - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I bought this book to put in my bag for when I do macrophotography. It's compact and just does the job for me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 23 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars There are better books about than this!, 18 July 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Insects (DK Handbooks) (Paperback)
Don't buy it. Simple as that. Contains relatively few species and is dominated by non-UK inects. Shops around for something better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Insects (DK Handbooks)
Insects (DK Handbooks) by George C McGavin (Paperback - 13 April 2000)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews