Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

28 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great buy., 12 Oct. 2002
By 
Inger Watts (Trondheim, Norway) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I bought this book many years ago, and I still pick it up at least once a month. The book gives you the most important information of every king and queen who has ever ruled England or Scotland.
As I turn the pages, I can see that there is something interesting about every regent, and by the way; this book makes you realize that royal scandals are not a new invention.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Invaluable, 14 Jan. 2008
By 
Jack Oliver (Cornwall, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Kings and Queens of England and Scotland (Pockets) (Paperback)
Like reviewer Inger Watts, I bought this little volume years ago and find myself referring to it all the time. British history is divided by the reign of monarchs and this book brings perspective to the reigns. It certainly isn't everything you'll need to study the history of monarchy, far from it. But there are many comprehensive accounts in print... this is a facts-packed quick review, and as such is invaluable.
For more thorough accounts consider Antonia Fraser's "The Lives of the Kings & Queens of England" (also available as an excellent audiobook) and The Times' "Kings & Queens of the British Isles". The latter has excellent maps to illustrate historical events.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars another history lesson, 30 Mar. 2010
By 
This review is from: Kings and Queens of England and Scotland (Pockets) (Paperback)
My 8yr old grandson doing research at school on kings and queens and was asking non-stop questions so bought him this book he was mesmorised! he is thoroughly enjoying it (and so am I) so much in it would recommend this to anyone!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Kings and Queens of England., 9 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Item was sent very quick and arrived as and when described. Buying experience was very good and I was very pleased with the overall experience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Making history fun, 21 Jan. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kings and Queens of England and Scotland (Pockets) (Paperback)
My daughters two children get this book out of the school library with such regularity that I thought I would buy it for them.
They love the pictures, the text is easy for them to read and they just love it......they quiz one another on what they have read...what a fun way to learn about the history of the Kings and Queens of the United Kingdom.
I am in favour of encouraging learning history in this way. It is good for school projects too.
I just hope they will share amicably.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Reference for reading., 2 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kings and Queens of England and Scotland (Pockets) (Paperback)
I was looking for a small book to keep by me to refer to during reading. I read a lot of historical books, fiction and fact, and sometimes need to check which King/Queen is being referred to.

This little book is excellent and just the right size.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars What is says on the tin, 2 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Excellent book, with simple sequential history of the kings and queen of England. Very handy for putting assorted TV series into context.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars good book, 16 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kings and Queens of England and Scotland (Pockets) (Paperback)
this is a good book for young people to learn about our kings & queens
I would have liked this book to be more detailed though
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 29 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kings and Queens of England and Scotland (Pockets) (Paperback)
ok
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Kings and Queens of England and Scotland (Pockets)
Kings and Queens of England and Scotland (Pockets) by Plantagenet Somerset Fry (Paperback - 22 April 1999)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews