Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Attractive but needs support
This is a very visually attractive book, with inspiring photographs and satisfying page layouts. It is not the place to find extensive information on individual plants, but works well to give an idea of this approach to gardening.
I think it is very good value, unless you are an expert.
Published on 19 Aug 2002 by Bookworm1973

versus
17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Pretty but disappointing
I love Christopher LLoyd's writing, but found this book disappointing. It lacks the discursive, personal voice that makes his descriptions of plants and planting so invigorating to read, and skims over too much ground in too little detail to be useful as anything other than the most basic introduction (a page on bee keeping, a page on preserving, a few pages on...
Published on 25 Mar 2007 by Ms


Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Pretty but disappointing, 25 Mar 2007
By 
Ms (Lancaster, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Cottage Garden (DK Living) (Paperback)
I love Christopher LLoyd's writing, but found this book disappointing. It lacks the discursive, personal voice that makes his descriptions of plants and planting so invigorating to read, and skims over too much ground in too little detail to be useful as anything other than the most basic introduction (a page on bee keeping, a page on preserving, a few pages on vegetables ...). The range of plants described is severely limited, and the whole thing feels as if it has been written to a tight design brief developed by a non-gardening editor. Not vintage Lloyd.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Attractive but needs support, 19 Aug 2002
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Cottage Garden (DK Living) (Paperback)
This is a very visually attractive book, with inspiring photographs and satisfying page layouts. It is not the place to find extensive information on individual plants, but works well to give an idea of this approach to gardening.
I think it is very good value, unless you are an expert.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars good for small gardeners, 5 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Cottage Garden (DK Living) (Paperback)
excellent book for all those who have a small garden and need to use the space to the best effect
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Good, 8 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Cottage Garden (DK Living) (Paperback)
A good book about gardening. I like this book and I hope that other clients will love this fine book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful book, 7 Oct 2011
This review is from: The Cottage Garden (DK Living) (Paperback)
What a detailed lovely book, has some beautiful illustrations. Even though I have many gardening books, this is definately different and is a very descriptive book on the history and the plants that make a real cottage garden.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Filled with ideas!, 1 Nov 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: The Cottage Garden (DK Living) (Paperback)
A friend had this book & after looking through it I decided I needed to get a copy! Full of ideas on how to achieve the romantic country cottage garden you always dreamed of!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Cottage Garden (DK Living)
The Cottage Garden (DK Living) by Richard Bird (Paperback - 8 April 1999)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews