Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


87 of 91 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent handbook on ornamental plants
The Royal Horticultural Society A-Z Encyclopedia of Garden Plants is a heavy packet of information about 15.000 garden plant taxa - species, subspecies, varieties and cultivars. Ca. 6000 colour photographs are included, so there is a photo of more than one third of the taxa, which makes this book stand out from the majority of other garden handbooks. The appearance and...
Published on 16 Nov. 2000

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars One Star
arrived incomplete. One out of two books. disappointing.
Published 19 days ago by M. M. Aboutorabi


Most Helpful First | Newest First

87 of 91 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent handbook on ornamental plants, 16 Nov. 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: RHS A-Z Encyclopedia of Garden Plants (box set of 2 volumes) (Hardcover)
The Royal Horticultural Society A-Z Encyclopedia of Garden Plants is a heavy packet of information about 15.000 garden plant taxa - species, subspecies, varieties and cultivars. Ca. 6000 colour photographs are included, so there is a photo of more than one third of the taxa, which makes this book stand out from the majority of other garden handbooks. The appearance and layout of the book attract to leaf through it, and the lucidity of the text makes reading a pleasure.
The first 47 pages (pp. 8-54) contain a botanical and horticultural introduction, short and compact, with ample illustration. The first section of this introduction explains the terms, abbreviations and symbols used in the book. The main part of the text is used to give information and practical hints for cultivation. Items such as hardiness of the plants, garden environment, cultivation outdoors, care under glass, pruning, propagation, pests, and diseases and other disorders are shortly covered. Ornamental plant groups are handled in 23 pages, clearly and informatively.
The actual contents of the book are the descriptions of the taxa. They are arranged alphabetically according to their Latin names. This is a practical choice, which makes it easy to find a plant with a known name. Of course, systematic order would have made it possible to identify unknown plants more easily by leafing the book and comparing them to their possible relatives. This is a matter of taste, and probably most non-botanists are satisfied with the solution. The most common synonyms are given (in small print), with a reference to the accepted name. Under each genus, there is a short account of the amount of the species, their distribution, description of the main characters, information about their flowering and use in the garden. Practical advise on cultivation are included either here or under the species and cultivar descriptions. Hardiness of the plants and advice on propagation, and pruning of trees and bushes are given. Possible pests and diseases are shortly listed. The species and cultivars are again listed in alphabetical order under the genera. The assortment is mainly exhaustive, though one must remember that there are many popular garden plant genera with thousands of cultivars, and it is impossible to fully cover this kind of abundance. The length of the descriptions varies, but usually it covers the most important features a gardener is interested in. They include also the hardiness of the individual taxa, and the minimum temperatures for frost tender plants. Photographs are mainly technically excellent and though they are rather small, the reader is given a good idea of how each plant looks like. Some trees and bushes are hard to identify from the pictures - they would have demanded illustration of both habit and details.
Almost the only thing that bothers me with this book is that it includes an overwhelming assortment of exotic taxa - at least exotic from my point of view, but lacks several species that are rather commonly cultivated in my own home area. Many of the genera are tropical or subtropical, and though the greenhouse effect would warm up our climate sometimes in the future, we have no possibility here in the northern corner of the EU to cultivate them (though, many of them are actually known as indoor plants). On the other hand, this makes the book very useful as a reference book to a very wide range of cultivated plants, both domestic and foreign. In all, I can warmly recommend the Royal Horticultural Society A-Z Encyclopedia of Garden Plants to everybody with an interest in ornamental plants!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Plant Bible!, 3 May 2009
This review is from: RHS A-Z Encyclopedia of Garden Plants (box set of 2 volumes) (Hardcover)
I have had this for a few years now and it really is my plant bible. I use it for identifying, planning and for searching. I would highly recommend this book for novices and experts alike.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars One Star, 10 Jan. 2015
By 
M. M. Aboutorabi (Birmingham, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: RHS A-Z Encyclopedia of Garden Plants (box set of 2 volumes) (Hardcover)
arrived incomplete. One out of two books. disappointing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not as ordered., 9 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: RHS A-Z Encyclopedia of Garden Plants (box set of 2 volumes) (Hardcover)
The item ordered was a box ste consisting of Vol 1 and Vol 2 BUT received a box ste consisting of 2 copies of Vol 2, one with a dust cover for a Vol 1 and the other a dust cover for Vol 2. Box set returned,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 16 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: RHS A-Z Encyclopedia of Garden Plants (box set of 2 volumes) (Hardcover)
Happy with the purchase, thank you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not very Happy, 27 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: RHS A-Z Encyclopedia of Garden Plants (box set of 2 volumes) (Hardcover)
I only received one volume of a two volume box set and did not get a very good reason when I enquired why.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars My son likes the volume he has received, 2 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: RHS A-Z Encyclopedia of Garden Plants (box set of 2 volumes) (Hardcover)
The RHS Encyclopedia of Gardens plants arrived for Christmas. BUT only one volume arrived and I am endeavoring to chase up with World of Books volume one. The delivery note seemed to infer that all items were in the package which was not the case. This is an ongoing situation I still have no answer from World of Books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

RHS A-Z Encyclopedia of Garden Plants (box set of 2 volumes)
RHS A-Z Encyclopedia of Garden Plants (box set of 2 volumes) by Christopher Brickell (Hardcover - 5 Oct. 2000)
Used & New from: £37.93
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews