Customer Reviews


19 Reviews


3 star
0

2 star
0

1 star
0

 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

101 of 103 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect for the beginner, 21 Mar. 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: The Golf Instruction Manual: Take the Fast-track to Better Golf, Whatever the Level of Your Game (Hardcover)
After looking at numerous books on golf technique, this is probably the best available at the price.
There are numerous colour photo's to illustrate exactly what the author is describing. Everything from the basic stance and grip to advanced subjects such as pushing/pulling the ball and altering the shape of your shot to avoid obstacles.
Each chapter in the book covers a different area of the game e.g. iron shots, tee shots, etc. At the start of each chapter there is an evaluation test that helps to determine your level of play. Once this has been established you have a choice of reading the beginner, intermediate or advanced sections of that particular chapter. There are plenty of practise exercises available to improve your game play and tips on how to correct faults.
As a newcomer to the game I have found this book invaluable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


80 of 82 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great introduction..., 21 Feb. 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: The Golf Instruction Manual: Take the Fast-track to Better Golf, Whatever the Level of Your Game (Hardcover)
As a complete beginner to the game of golf, I found this book very useful. The numerous illustrations and annotations really help to give an impression of what should be happening and when. The explanations are provided in plain English and are easy to understand and thorough.
The book is clearly split into sections for players with different abilities and it is easy to determine which section you should be looking at by taking the tests as outlined at the beginning of each chapter. Looking at the sections for more advanced players I think there will be a great deal to keep me going here for some time.
I bought the book as a tool to help me prepare for my first golf lesson. It has served its purpose very well.
I feel it really is a good substitute for a video, and is more accessible (eg you can take it to the driving range). Thoroughly recommended for a beginner and probably just as good for an improver.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Old, but still worth reading, 13 Oct. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Golf Instruction Manual: Take the Fast-track to Better Golf, Whatever the Level of Your Game (Hardcover)
Contains a guide to all aspects of golf for the beginner. It has lots of exercises and self analysis tools to help you learn the basics and improve to be a competent club player. Many diagrams to help you understand how to hit the ball effectively whatever the lie. Lots of practice routines to help improve your play.

The later versions of this book are a bit more up to date, the sections on equipment do cover more recent development like hybrids and clever soft faced putters, but this version has more than the essentials and in some repects is easier to understand.

Well worth buying if you can get a cheap copy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An excellent book, 21 Mar. 2006
By A Customer
This review is from: The Golf Instruction Manual: Take the Fast-track to Better Golf, Whatever the Level of Your Game (Hardcover)
Well worth it. A superbly illustrated book, perfect for the golfer of most proficiencies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Genuine and genuinely helpful., 10 July 2013
By 
Bluecashmere. (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Golf Instruction Manual: Take the Fast-track to Better Golf, Whatever the Level of Your Game (Hardcover)
It is always stimulating to take issue with other reviewers, but here I shall do the proper thing and join fellow enthusiasts in thoroughly endorsing this book. Of my rapidly expanding golf library, this is the one that comes down from the shelves by far the most frequently.

Steve Newell makes no extravagant claims. This is not one of those golf books that promises you an effective swing for life if you follow one or two claims. It is a far more substantial book than that.

The emphasis is on the key basics and rightly so. While all aspects of the game are covered, they are cleverly but unobtrusively introduced to offer particular help to golfers at different stages of the never ending learning process. Already I have profited from a number of the drills suggested and the concise summaries under "key checkpoints" are most useful reference points.

Another great strength of Newell's presentation is his avoidance of unnecessary jargon and unnecessary excursions into anatomy and physiology. The writing and the layout are wonderfully clear as is the pictorial content.

In the last analysis there has to be practice and hard work if we are to improve. Mr Newell's honest approach is refreshing. There are no phoney quick fixes here. In all, this book seems to me to come closer than any other I have yet encountered to essential reading.

Well worth the investment and more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Golf Instruction Manual. Fast-track to Better Golf., 30 Nov. 2010
This review is from: The Golf Instruction Manual: Take the Fast-track to Better Golf, Whatever the Level of Your Game (Hardcover)
This book is possibly the only golf instruction book the one would ever need.
Easy reading, easy to understand articles with wonderful detailed advice.
Hints, tips and instructions.
Illustrations on every page and good photography, demonstrating practice procedures.
Up-to-date information about golf equipment and about sucesses of the great players.
Nothing is missed out.
The best! Pat Bowles.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Really good for all levels, 19 Oct. 2010
By 
Mr. S. Hinds (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Golf Instruction Manual: Take the Fast-track to Better Golf, Whatever the Level of Your Game (Hardcover)
Simple to use, with clear instructions and clear progression steps

I particularly like all the drills for different parts of your game. Along with the theory stuff, this practical approach means I get better use of my time at the range, and a selection of things I can also do indoors

Really recommend
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Golf Instruction Manual: Take the Fast-track to Better Golf, Whatever the Level of Your Game, 20 Nov. 2010
By 
M. Moore (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Golf Instruction Manual: Take the Fast-track to Better Golf, Whatever the Level of Your Game (Hardcover)
This is an excellent book for someone looking to take up golf. It's not overly technical, but covers everything that you could want to know. It has good photos with step by step instructions. I would highly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Best coaching book ever, 24 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Golf Instruction Manual: Take the Fast-track to Better Golf, Whatever the Level of Your Game (Hardcover)
Glad to find this book as lent it to someone and they didn't return it ,very straight forward teaching techniques , very useful for coaching ! Arrived in good condition and on time , won't be lending it again
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Golf manual, 9 Oct. 2013
By 
K. E. Beckett - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Golf Instruction Manual: Take the Fast-track to Better Golf, Whatever the Level of Your Game (Hardcover)
Fills in all the gaps that other teaching manuals leave. Is very easy to follow, well illustrated with lots of useful practice drills. A must for all levels of golf.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Golf Instruction Manual: Take the Fast-track to Better Golf, Whatever the Level of Your Game
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews