Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

48 of 51 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An indispensable reference for all serious gardeners, 28 Oct. 2000
By 
shaolin@learnfree.co.uk (Cambridgeshire, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: RHS A-Z Encyclopedia of Garden Plants (Hardcover)
I have had this book for around three years now and continually refer to it. It contains descriptions of just about all the cultivated garden plants you will ever come across or hear about, with colour photographs of a good many too. It's not for every-one though as it's laid out alphabetically according to the latin names, and at a hefty 1080 pages with a price tag to suit, you have to have a good reason to buy it. I have progressed from keen amateur to obsessive amateur to carrying out garden "make-overs" professionally in recent years and without doubt this has been one of my most valuable references. I up-graded from another RHS work the "Gardeners Encycopedia of Plants and Flowers", which is more difficult to use in my opinion and less informative due to it's different lay-out and amateur target market. If you are at all serious about gardening, then consider buying this now as the chances are when you buy it in a few years, the other guides you've picked up along the way will become pretty much redundant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


35 of 41 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Brirish horticultural extravaganza, 7 Jan. 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: RHS A-Z Encyclopedia of Garden Plants (Hardcover)
Since established in 1804, the RHS (Royal Horticultural Society) has been at the forefront of all things horticultural. Indeed, it represents all things British - the Empire travels, collects, and stores... And the benefits are immense to gardeners!
This volume is dear, but valuable. There is a two-volume edition, which makes it easier to refer to. Otherwise, the binding breaks, or your back, trying to browse too frequently...
This volume is probably the only publication of its kind, and presents a formidable achievement. However, a thumbed-index-type version would be more useful, while an accent on native plants, rather than an infinite greenhouse tropics bias, should prove handy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An invaluable reference for any gardener, 20 Feb. 2014
This review is from: RHS A-Z Encyclopedia of Garden Plants (Hardcover)
I have owned mine for over 10 years and still dig it out to have a look at particular plants, and their different versions, colours, heights and spread. Though it has to be said that some of the "information" given is not accurate but general and you will find that plants will adapt to conditions, soil types and light conditions. A nursery owner once mentioned to me, when I asked about why this plant had not grown - according to my book etc - he said that his years of experience and knowledge has shown that the RHS book does not get it right all the time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars great ref book, 3 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: RHS A-Z Encyclopedia of Garden Plants (Hardcover)
excellent book with all the info you'll need to look after plants in the garden. Easy to use, alphabetical format with common names means you'll find that plant even if you don't know its proper latin name
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A lovely book, 27 Mar. 2015
By 
Aletheuon (Wales UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: RHS A-Z Encyclopedia of Garden Plants (Hardcover)
This is an older edition of this book, but it contains a vast amount of information and is beautifully produced. At its current price, it represents a marvellous bargain. The RHS has revised its lists of recommended plants, those that have particular garden merit, so that aspect of this book is outdated, but much else in here is of great value. The photographs are glorious and it makes a great coffee table book for the winter months, when one can do little other than dream and plan for next year's garden.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must for Plant Enthusiasts, 7 May 2010
This review is from: RHS A-Z Encyclopedia of Garden Plants (Hardcover)
An excellent reference book for anyone interested in plants. Lovely pictures and basic information for the care of a very wide range of Garden Plants, Trees and Shrubs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must for all serious gardeners, 3 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: RHS A-Z Encyclopedia of Garden Plants (Hardcover)
A mine of information. I bought min second hand which made it a great deal for an essential reference book that is in constant use.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Full of great information, 23 April 2014
By 
A. G. Ingle (Bridlington, East Yorkshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: RHS A-Z Encyclopedia of Garden Plants (Hardcover)
For a used book, this is in very good condition.

I love having a random look at plants, some I have never heard of,
and enjoy the pictures and advice for each plant.

You will be well advised to buy a Bookseat, as this is a big, heavy book,
and takes some holding for any length of time,
but the information it contains is priceless.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Really good service, 1 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: RHS A-Z Encyclopedia of Garden Plants (Hardcover)
This was a replacement for a book lost in the floods, so I was not pleased when the replacement turned up damaged by water! However, World of Books responded very promptly and courteously and replaced the book without question. They did not ask me to return the book, either. It is the kind of service I have come to expect from World of Books!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Everything you want to know about plants, 24 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: RHS A-Z Encyclopedia of Garden Plants (Hardcover)
Excellent value. This big book was in excellent condition and good value compared to the new price. I will be diving into the book every now and then to get some tips and advice on my garden.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

RHS A-Z Encyclopedia of Garden Plants
RHS A-Z Encyclopedia of Garden Plants by Christopher Brickell (Hardcover - 10 Mar. 1996)
Used & New from: £34.78
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews