Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.9 out of 5 stars
23
3.9 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£9.98+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 11 January 2015
I've been very interested in the mystery of the Flannan Isles for a number of years and have found the facts difficult to separate from the fiction and this book is a real definitive source of information. The author has meticulously researched the subject with a real flare for establishing even the smallest details, a real credit to him. I found the picture of the three missing keepers and the superintendent very haunting and visceral, a real treat for any enthusiast of the truth.
There were a few lengthy and somewhat unnecessary asides which seem to stand alone without really connecting to the overall theme, and the conclusion could have been a bit more detailed hence the rating.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 February 2015
A very readable modern day investigation into the mysterious disappearance of three lighthouse keepers from a remote Scottish Isle in 1900.

The author takes us through various well-researched and engagingly told historical, geological and mythological theories, before proposing his own on the basis of his investigation.

Whether or not you agree with his viewpoint, this is a good read and a reminder, for me at any rate, of a classic real-life tale of mystery.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 July 2016
I really hate to write negative reviews. This book I found was really hard to get through. Normally I love this type of book, the mystery, the history and the possible reasons as to what happened but not this time I afraid.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 January 2015
A thoughtful and intelligent book on one of Scotland's great mysteries,and a great insight into the harsh life of a lighthouse keeper,well thought out and meticulously researched,a great read.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 September 2014
Spooky but a great read. The missing Lighthouse keepers from the Flannel Islands has been a mystery for many years and this book gives some explanations. A truLy good read.
22 comments| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 July 2015
Having seen a programme on television about the three lighthousekeepers I was keen to read more. Lots of interesting facts regarding lighthouses and their history and also historyOf Scottish islands which I personally found interesting but this did not detract from the title and I am still no wiser as to what happened to the lighthousekeepers as its all supposition. A good read.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 January 2015
I have been fascinated in the mystery of Eilean Mor and the Flannan Isles ever since I took a trip to Scotland, and Keith McCloskey doesn't disappoint in his short but informative book on the topic. Meticulously researched and put together in an easily accessible format, The Lighthouse gives an in depth view into what may have happened to the three lighthouse keepers at the start of the twentieth century. For anyone interested in this mystery, this is a must have!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 April 2015
An interesting read. A book well-written and researched, yet it's a book of two halves. FIne if you want to know the story of life in lighthouses, especially this one, but regarding the mystery it turns out to be something of a damp squib I feel, in the end.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 June 2016
although interesting the subject is written to be quite dry, a lot of information about the history and life of lighthouse keepers so if that was your interest this would be more then helpful.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 February 2015
What was an interesting subject spoilt for me by what seems to be a very poorly edited text, with many typos, some awful sentances. Add to that, the repetitions and padding, and it became a difficult clunky read . What a pity, but increasingly this is an issue with self publishing and small publishing houses these 'electronic' days. So subject a potential 10* but spoilt by editing to a miserable 2* ! Rather Disappointing.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)