Customer Reviews


56 Reviews
5 star:
 (41)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Super new investigation for Noor
I spotted this book early on when released. I read it with great excitement, it was thoroughly researched detailing Noor's life and her talents for Morse and wireless operating and codes are expertly examined. Her character was considered unusual, even unsuitable for an agent - dreamy, spiritual, careless with security, conspiciously beautiful and unable to lie with ease...
Published on 28 Nov. 2006 by Ms. Vanessa Wagstaff

versus
10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars More to her
Noor Inayat Khan was one of a surprising number of agents who knowingly sacrificed their lives in the Second World War for freedom. Once dropped into France, she had only the slightest chance to survive. When writing a biography of these the centerpiece can be the action, the suspense, the adventure. It can also be digging to find what inspired him, or in this case her...
Published on 14 Sept. 2009 by Hugh van der Mandele


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars SPY, 5 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
TERRIFIC BOOK I RECOMMEND IT TO ANYONE YOU WILL SEE HOW BRAVE THIS YOUNG WOMAN WAS .
READ IT YOU WILL SEE FOR YOURSELVES .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars An interesting and rather neglected aspect of the war, 10 Dec. 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Not a particularly well written book, but it does tell the (true) story well. So often we hear of heroic manly exploits involving daring raids and battles etc. but this relates the quiet and unassuming extremly dangerous hidden underground work of communications between the UK and the resistance that was often undertaken by women...no, by young girls....who volunteered for it. Their lives were in constant danger and all too often brought to a nasty and untimely end by the enemy as in this case. All long before the days of the compensation culture, Health and Safety or post traumatic stress syndrome of course. A truly remarkable and heroic woman!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Spy Princess: The Life of Noor Inayat Khan, 2 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I really enjoyed this book, a fascinating account of a remarkable and, in this country, unsung heroine. The book gave an in-depth insight into the work of Noor and her colleagues with the SOE during the 2nd World War and the incredible risks they took as radio operators working in France. I didn't give 5 stars as it was a bit repetitive in parts and, on occasions, I thought the writing was a little clumsy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Cannot put it down...., 10 Feb. 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Spy Princess: The Life of Noor Inayat Khan (Paperback)
This is the most compelling biography I have ever read. Very well researched and great details of the overwhelming bravery of this incredible young lady who played a vital part in undermining the Germans during World War II. Absolutely heartbreaking to be so near to escape and then captured.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A extraordinary life, 29 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Brilliantly written,covering every aspect of this young woman's extraordinary life. I could not put it down it made me happy,sad extremely angry but ultimately very proud.A five star read from start to finish.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Oh such a super read I felt so sad having reached the end ..., 4 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Oh such a super read I felt so sad having reached the end of this great work, we must always remember the danger that these brave people put themselves into ,to keep us safe at a time of war
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars GOOD, 8 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Spy Princess: The Life of Noor Inayat Khan (Paperback)
A FASCINATING READ, I WAS GLAD I ORDERED THIS BOOK ALTHOUGH THE STORY WAS VERY SAD. SOME OF THE FAMILY HISTORY WAS A BIT HARD TO FOLLOW. IT MAKES YOU APPRECIATE THE GOOD IN PEOPLE
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars gone but not forgotten, 20 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A history of noor inayat khan who was one of the bravest SOE operatives. The book simply tells her tale without embellishments and provides an insight into this heroines life
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating and thought provoking, 27 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A life so interesting prior to the outbreak of war of a quiet peace loving girl who took on an impossible task to defend a country she adored. A magnificent read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars We must never forget her., 12 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Spy Princess: The Life of Noor Inayat Khan (Paperback)
This is a very well-researched biography of an extraodinary young woman. There is now a memorial to Noor in London - she richly deserves such an honour.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Spy Princess: The Life of Noor Inayat Khan
Spy Princess: The Life of Noor Inayat Khan by Shrabani Basu (Paperback - 30 Aug. 2008)
£9.98
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews