Customer Reviews


50 Reviews
5 star:
 (37)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Super new investigation for Noor
I spotted this book early on when released. I read it with great excitement, it was thoroughly researched detailing Noor's life and her talents for Morse and wireless operating and codes are expertly examined. Her character was considered unusual, even unsuitable for an agent - dreamy, spiritual, careless with security, conspiciously beautiful and unable to lie with ease...
Published on 28 Nov 2006 by Ms. Vanessa Wagstaff

versus
10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars More to her
Noor Inayat Khan was one of a surprising number of agents who knowingly sacrificed their lives in the Second World War for freedom. Once dropped into France, she had only the slightest chance to survive. When writing a biography of these the centerpiece can be the action, the suspense, the adventure. It can also be digging to find what inspired him, or in this case her...
Published on 14 Sep 2009 by Hugh van der Mandele


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book., 12 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This makes for great, but, also sad reading. Miss. Khan is one of the forgotten, when she certainly shouldn't be. This lady's bravery and courage saved, who knows how many lives. She was alone, and at one point, the only operator transmitting from Paris. Wow! Miss. Khan definitely deserves her place in our history, and should always be remembered. A true heroine.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Not to be missed, 10 Nov 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Spy Princess: The Life of Noor Inayat Khan (Paperback)
An excellent and compelling history of one of the bravest people to fight against the Nazis. Written with sensitivity and packed full of interesting facts, this is an absolute cracker and a story that will live with this reader forever. This is a book not to be missed if the SOE is of interest to you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 29 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Absolutely loved this book, sad that I've finished it! What an amazing inspiring woman
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Pawn or Queen in SOE, 24 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Very sad ending for a heroic woman but was she just an expendable soldier at the end of the day?
I disliked the beginning part of this book as the home detail was tedious and in fact I put it down for some months but felt I owed it to Noor to struggle through that to get to the meat of the story.

The latter part of her life in France appears to capture the constant fear these Operators must have encountered and your reading becomes compulsive to see what happens next. The outcome has of course been revealed far earlier but never the less it is shocking in its brutality. A good read about a very brave woman.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars What an incredible woman, 16 Mar 2014
This review is from: Spy Princess: The Life of Noor Inayat Khan (Paperback)
I came across this book in Waterstones, by sheer chance. I bought it as a present for someone else, but in the end read it myself, while being sceptical about how much exactly could be known about this woman's work as a radio operator in Paris in the war. In my view the commercial title does an injustice to this book, about a very remarkable young woman, who, nevertheless, I feel should have left Paris when she had the chance. Her poor family.... and what suffering she endured in the end at the hands of the Nazis. Latterly I have visited her bust in Gordon's Square in London, which I would also recommend. How easy it would have been to fall in love with such a one as Noor Inayat Khan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An Amazing Story, 13 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
What a fantastic book about an amazing and courageous lady. Definitely worth a read. Could not put the book down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Cannot put it down...., 10 Feb 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Spy Princess: The Life of Noor Inayat Khan (Paperback)
This is the most compelling biography I have ever read. Very well researched and great details of the overwhelming bravery of this incredible young lady who played a vital part in undermining the Germans during World War II. Absolutely heartbreaking to be so near to escape and then captured.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars A missed opportunity, 26 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A real story, well worth the telling, of a woman who undertook probably the most hazardous duties in the Second World War. Unfortunately this book doesn't quite deliver. There is to much supposition in place of fact. The facts may not be available, but guessing what might have been does not add anything to this book. Overall it doesn't add a great deal to the accounts of Noor's life, written in the 1950's.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant reading, 14 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Spy Princess: The Life of Noor Inayat Khan (Paperback)
this book really makes you think. women should read this. what these ladies went through for this country is out standing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brave lady, 29 July 2013
By 
L. Matheson "LMH" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This was a great war story. All these people who served as agents dury WW2 were the bravest of women
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Spy Princess: The Life of Noor Inayat Khan
Spy Princess: The Life of Noor Inayat Khan by Shrabani Basu (Paperback - 30 Aug 2008)
£9.98
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews