Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Significant Step Towards Social Networking
That's hardly a title you would expect. It is, however, easy to see the link between the development of the coffee shops and the expectation that we want to share our thoughts and interests with both friends and strangers. This is a short but comprehensive history book that is both interesting because of its factual content and relaxing because it is so easy to read and...
Published 8 months ago by Manfred

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars boring
found this book boring, ok I would guess if you're interested in facts and figures, personally I didn't enjoy it
Published 7 months ago by Mrs. Pj Parnell


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Significant Step Towards Social Networking, 12 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
That's hardly a title you would expect. It is, however, easy to see the link between the development of the coffee shops and the expectation that we want to share our thoughts and interests with both friends and strangers. This is a short but comprehensive history book that is both interesting because of its factual content and relaxing because it is so easy to read and quick to finish. It is also a very interesting portrait of a society which was very different from our own in terms of comfort and amenities but that bore the familiar stamp of our contemporaries, giving high place to gossip, rumour and argument with limited reliable facts but it was also a place where very serious business was done and political ideas were developed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating insight, 4 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book disappeared as quickly as a bar of chocolate! I so looked forward to reading it. Lots of interesting facts and insights into how the City of London works today. Highly recommended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Potted History, 4 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Very interesting little book about the history of coffee shops, told I a very readable and informative way. Lots of historical points.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great historical gem, 27 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I couldn't stop reading this book. It paints a very clear picture of bygone days and people. I may return to this again sometime.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A potted history of our coffee shops., 12 Oct 2013
By 
Julie Vanberkel (United kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Though not a coffee drinker, I am interested in the 17th century, and found this little gem most interesting and informative. Concise, and easy to follow, you almost can hear/see/smell the goings on there, it was so evocative! It was well worth the little I paid for it to get a flavor of bygone times.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars pointless but the convenience of instant acquisition is wonderful., 27 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Short and fascinating account of the role of coffee shops in history in Britain. An advantage of e-books is that you can have a copy before your eyes before the TV from which you learned of it has finished. star ratings for historic documents of this kind are, of me, pointless but the convenience of instant acquisition is wonderful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars 17th century coffee shop, 23 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Being very interested in history this book was absolutely wonderful, I could not stop reading it, so much information on how coffee shops came about and helped pave the way for other businesses to come about. I would recommend this read to anyone interested in our history.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Interesting, 17 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
If like me you have read in various books about people frequenting the Coffee Shop of this era, then I would say that it gives much more of an insight into what made these Coffee shops the place to be. It also gives a real idea of the atmosphere in these places. It is what it is; the title says it all really, but I would recommend it to people who want to relate to and understand more about the early Coffee shops.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars boring, 21 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
found this book boring, ok I would guess if you're interested in facts and figures, personally I didn't enjoy it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 29 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I learnt something here. An interesting read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Life in a Seventeenth-century Coffee Shop (The Sutton Life Series)
Used & New from: 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews