Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Summer Savings Up to 25% Off Cloud Drive Photos Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Learn more Shop now Learn more

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars15
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£9.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 19 October 2007
LTC Rolt writes in a wonderfully absorbing way.There is real humanity to his words. This book, and his ones on Brunel, the Stephensons and Victorian Engineering, have a very special place in my bookshelf.
0Comment|16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 April 2010
This book gives an excellent overview of the outstanding contributions by Thomas Telford in various areas of civil engineering that include bridges, canals, aqueducts and roads. The author, L T C Rolt, clearly understood the engineering and social significance of Telford's achievements. The life and work of Telford are described in a very readable manner. This is a most enjoyable and illuminating text.
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 July 2009
Thomas Telford

An excellent,very readable book about our ancestor's life from his humble beginnings as the son of a Dumfiesshire shepherd, born in Eskdale,in 1757, to his death in 1834 and subsequent burial in Westminster Abbey. This absorbing book descibes Thomas's early work, as an apprentice stone mason in Langholm, to his most memorable skill of being a master, canal, bridge and road builder. Indeed this book draws the reader's avid attention to the many bridges for which he is famous and the stunning fact that he has been remembered as the 'Colossus of Roads' because of the great many roads which he designed. Indeed Scotland and many English counties today,would be most difficult to traverse without his work! He was indeed a great engineer from the 18th Century. His deafness in later life unfotunately caused him to be fairly lonely even though he was made President of the Institute of Engineers in 1820! He is honoured for his contributions to Great Britain.I find it incredible that he did not own his own home until quite late on in his life.

We found this biography such enjoyable reading that we immediately purchased 2 further copies from Amazon (at an excellent bargain price as usual) for other members of our close Telford clan!
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 March 2016
Bought this book as a present since we live near to quite a few of the things that Telford had built or had actually visited some of the buildings.
The print in it is a good size so even with not very good eyesight husband has managed to read it and did not want to put it down. Very well written and informative some surprises about things, not technical jargon, just very interesting reading.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 October 2010
The text itself, by LTC Rolt, is of course excellent.
I already had a nice, small, paperback edition, purchased many years ago.
I bought this copy to send to a friend, but found that, although the format is slightly larger, the reproduction of the pictures left a lot to be desired. Some of the excellent engravings, especially that of the Pontcyssyllte aqueduct, had been transmuted into poorer quality photographs, which is a pity.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 July 2015
Outstandingly successful present for an engineer. It brought to life Thomas Telford and the trials and tribulations of being an engineer in the distance past. A must read for those interested in construction and broader engineering challenges.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 November 2012
I love Rolt for making what may otherwise be dull reading, a good read if, like me, you are into industrial archaelogy and civil engineering. Eminently readable biography of a genius whose work is still there for all to see and use.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 May 2014
very well written by a well known author with plenty of information for anyone interested in canals and well researched
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 November 2015
As one would expect of a book by this author this is well researched , well written and very informative .
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 December 2015
Very interesting but not to LTR's usual standard.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)