Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant and absorbing
LTC Rolt writes in a wonderfully absorbing way.There is real humanity to his words. This book, and his ones on Brunel, the Stephensons and Victorian Engineering, have a very special place in my bookshelf.
Published on 19 Oct 2007 by M. G. Taylor

versus
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Thomas Telford
The text itself, by LTC Rolt, is of course excellent.
I already had a nice, small, paperback edition, purchased many years ago.
I bought this copy to send to a friend, but found that, although the format is slightly larger, the reproduction of the pictures left a lot to be desired. Some of the excellent engravings, especially that of the Pontcyssyllte aqueduct,...
Published on 22 Oct 2010 by Mons Meg


Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant and absorbing, 19 Oct 2007
By 
M. G. Taylor (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Thomas Telford (Paperback)
LTC Rolt writes in a wonderfully absorbing way.There is real humanity to his words. This book, and his ones on Brunel, the Stephensons and Victorian Engineering, have a very special place in my bookshelf.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent biography of Thomas Telford, 4 April 2010
By 
This book gives an excellent overview of the outstanding contributions by Thomas Telford in various areas of civil engineering that include bridges, canals, aqueducts and roads. The author, L T C Rolt, clearly understood the engineering and social significance of Telford's achievements. The life and work of Telford are described in a very readable manner. This is a most enjoyable and illuminating text.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thomas Telford Biography by L.T.C. Rolt, 11 July 2009
By 
R. Telford (U.K) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Thomas Telford (Paperback)
Thomas Telford

An excellent,very readable book about our ancestor's life from his humble beginnings as the son of a Dumfiesshire shepherd, born in Eskdale,in 1757, to his death in 1834 and subsequent burial in Westminster Abbey. This absorbing book descibes Thomas's early work, as an apprentice stone mason in Langholm, to his most memorable skill of being a master, canal, bridge and road builder. Indeed this book draws the reader's avid attention to the many bridges for which he is famous and the stunning fact that he has been remembered as the 'Colossus of Roads' because of the great many roads which he designed. Indeed Scotland and many English counties today,would be most difficult to traverse without his work! He was indeed a great engineer from the 18th Century. His deafness in later life unfotunately caused him to be fairly lonely even though he was made President of the Institute of Engineers in 1820! He is honoured for his contributions to Great Britain.I find it incredible that he did not own his own home until quite late on in his life.

We found this biography such enjoyable reading that we immediately purchased 2 further copies from Amazon (at an excellent bargain price as usual) for other members of our close Telford clan!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars thomas telford, 10 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Thomas Telford (Paperback)
very well written by a well known author with plenty of information for anyone interested in canals and well researched
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Present for my husband, 2 Sep 2013
By 
Mrs. Susan L. Arrand (Manchester, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Thomas Telford (Paperback)
Haven't read it myself but my husband likes it. I will have to get round to reading it myself soon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Winter reading matter, 7 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Thomas Telford (Paperback)
Have not yet had the time to read this and other books I've purchased....this is my winter fuel l- am looking forward to reading this
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Rely on Rolt for a readable biography!, 20 Nov 2012
By 
Clive Buckley (Birmingham England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Thomas Telford (Paperback)
I love Rolt for making what may otherwise be dull reading, a good read if, like me, you are into industrial archaelogy and civil engineering. Eminently readable biography of a genius whose work is still there for all to see and use.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Thomas Telford, 22 Oct 2010
This review is from: Thomas Telford (Paperback)
The text itself, by LTC Rolt, is of course excellent.
I already had a nice, small, paperback edition, purchased many years ago.
I bought this copy to send to a friend, but found that, although the format is slightly larger, the reproduction of the pictures left a lot to be desired. Some of the excellent engravings, especially that of the Pontcyssyllte aqueduct, had been transmuted into poorer quality photographs, which is a pity.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Thomas Telford-engineering genius, 24 May 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Thomas Telford (Paperback)
I read Rolt's book on Brunel and then bought this book. Rolt's writing is quite dense and takes some concentration but he is incredibly well read and it's an amazing story of a man who like Brunel has his whole energy directed to a single goal. Well that's not quite true because like Brunel (who he preceeded ) Telford always had lots of different projects on the go at any one time. He built bridges, canals and aquaducts and there was really very little he didn't try. He was also a poet of no mean ability in his limited spare time.
Although not a Victorian (he died in 1834) Telford had all the qualities of industry and imagination as well as a genius for finding new ways to do things that the Victorians so clearly showed.
A fascinating read for anyone interested in English history.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Thomas Telford, 12 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Thomas Telford (Paperback)
We recently returned form a winter cruise where we had lectures on the famous builders and architects. This was a gift for my son-in-law continuing the theme
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Thomas Telford
Thomas Telford by L T C Rolt (Paperback - 4 Jun 2007)
£7.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews