Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Read the Goat!!!
I read the book from cover to cover the first day I got it. I loved it. Shaun Goater is a role model not just on the football field but to all those budding Bermudian footballers who aspire to be the next Shaun Goater or Clyde Best.

The book is entertaining and a good read throughout. It follows the life and times of Shaun from his Bermudian roots from the...
Published on 25 Sep 2006 by Mr. G. Bridgeman-clarke

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Shaun Goater a Gentleman.
A good read and great value for money. One of those books you should have read even if it isnt startling or the most memorable. I was a fan of the "goat" as a player and it is good to see his future plans and also the amount he is giving back to his homeland. You do feel a sense of liking for the man and feel he is very genuine and honest. One of the few books i have read...
Published on 28 Oct 2007 by SUNDERLAND TILL I DIE


Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Read the Goat!!!, 25 Sep 2006
By 
Mr. G. Bridgeman-clarke "Graham BC" (Rayleigh, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Feed the Goat: The Shaun Goater Story (Hardcover)
I read the book from cover to cover the first day I got it. I loved it. Shaun Goater is a role model not just on the football field but to all those budding Bermudian footballers who aspire to be the next Shaun Goater or Clyde Best.

The book is entertaining and a good read throughout. It follows the life and times of Shaun from his Bermudian roots from the time of the riots in his homeland, through his childhood and teenage years, signing for Manchester United and being released to go through the lower leagues with Rotherham United and Bristol City before reaching the apex of his career with Manchester City. Shaun tells of the lows at Reading and going out on a high by winning the Coca Cola Division One Championship with Southend United last season.

Shaun comes over as a great guy who loves life and Manchester City especially. I am sure if you buy the book you, like Shaun, will have a perpetual smile on your face.

Football and Bermuda has a new ambassador. Feed the Goat!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Feed The Goat indeed!, 30 Sep 2006
By 
D. Dean (Manchester) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Feed the Goat: The Shaun Goater Story (Hardcover)
Just finished the book this second. Took me since wednesday night to finish it (now Friday night) and i literally couldnt put it down, every page i turned i read with enthusiasm, and i wanted to know everything about the man.

The book is inciteful, it gives the low-down on everything he went through in Bermuda getting over to England, his stays with United, Rotheram, Bristol, Manchester City, Coventry and Southend, all as delightful as the last. He comes across in the book exactly how you would imagine, a kind, caring, down to earth, special man. He clearly loves City, he mentions the Blue's throughout, he clearly loves everything about football, City, England and Manchester, hes humble in his opinions throughout the book and is rather forthright too.

More than anything the book is hilarious in parts, some little quotes are fabulous, little things that he says or thoughts he had are brilliantly funny and had me laughing out loud.

It was exceptionally interesting to read about his home country, and what he did when he was younger over there, right up to what he plans to do in the future.

As i said, i couldnt put it down, literally, i just wanted to read and read and read about the Legend, and is truly what he is in my eyes, a complete, utterly brilliant Legend. If you haven't already bought the book, go get it...now, if youve got it and are reading it you'll know exactly what i mean. Its being lent over to my Dad now who cant wait to delve into it.

What a man the Goat is, complete Legend. Feed the Goat and he will score!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Shaun Goater a Gentleman., 28 Oct 2007
A good read and great value for money. One of those books you should have read even if it isnt startling or the most memorable. I was a fan of the "goat" as a player and it is good to see his future plans and also the amount he is giving back to his homeland. You do feel a sense of liking for the man and feel he is very genuine and honest. One of the few books i have read where i would say the subject is a true gentleman. Worth the money to any football fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars feed the goat the shaun goater story, 4 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Feed the Goat: The Shaun Goater Story (Hardcover)
an entertaining and unusal story of a player who took the long route to the top and finished off becoming a cult hero
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing..., 22 Oct 2011
This review is from: Feed the Goat: The Shaun Goater Story (Hardcover)
This is a truly inspiring story of a footballer who defied the odds to have an amazing career and life. Its a must read if you watched this great man in action. An underrated player and a gentleman...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 17 Aug 2014
By 
A. Johns "A.Johns" (South West) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Loved him as a player and the book didn't disappoint.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Feed the Goat - He will ALWAYS Score!!, 25 Sep 2006
This review is from: Feed the Goat: The Shaun Goater Story (Hardcover)
Absolutely brilliant book about the media shy former Man City centre forward who scored an incredible 103 goals for the club, after being signed for 400,000. The book is short and sweet, and will appeal to any football fan across the country.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Goat-tastic, 11 Oct 2006
This review is from: Feed the Goat: The Shaun Goater Story (Hardcover)
What a brilliant read! I'm not even a fan of any of the teams the Goat has played for, but I found it fascinating finding out about his life and career on and off the pitch. He comes across as an immensely likeable character and it's refreshing to read a football biography like this. There's plenty of humour and amusing stories in the book and it's written in his own voice, if you know what I mean.

I can highly recommend this book to Goat fans everywhere.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars not anything special, 4 Sep 2007
By 
Mr. Sj Leveridge "manor12" (Southend) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
is like most football autobiographies in that it is basically telling you results but shaun just tells you what happened behind the scenes and what he was thinking about when key moments in games or when transfering although a much better read for a man city fan, as a southend fan he seemed to make southend a much smaller club than it is but is never disrespectful which can make a book good. he also tells the reader of his plans which are quite intresting but is worth it if u can get it for around 5
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Feed the Goat: The Shaun Goater Story
Feed the Goat: The Shaun Goater Story by Shaun Goater (Hardcover - 21 Sep 2006)
14.65
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews