Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Worth Reading
This book certainly reinforced my view that it takes a very special type of person to be a cabbie. A good down to earth read that is hard not to enjoy.
Published on 22 Oct 2011 by Martin

versus
7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Entertaining but out of date
This 2007 edition is a reprint of the 2003 book. And it shows. The first half of the book is mainly made up of stories from the past and they are great: interesting and entertaining. The second half deals with contemporary issues: also interesting, but out of date.

I bought, what I thought was a new book and the references to the "proposed" Terminal 5 and...
Published on 10 Oct 2007 by Wheels


Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Entertaining but out of date, 10 Oct 2007
This review is from: The London Cabbie: A Life's Knowledge (Paperback)
This 2007 edition is a reprint of the 2003 book. And it shows. The first half of the book is mainly made up of stories from the past and they are great: interesting and entertaining. The second half deals with contemporary issues: also interesting, but out of date.

I bought, what I thought was a new book and the references to the "proposed" Terminal 5 and "expected" licensing of mini-cabs were confusing until I checked the copyright page. It wouldn't have taken a lot for a decent editor to have checked this and to have brought the book up-to-date. Even an author's addendum would have been appreciated.

Generally the anecdotes and stories are amusing although I've heard some before and they sound like urban myths! Parts of the book are a cabbie's rant but that is too be expected and in my opinion there is nothing like a good rant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Worth Reading, 22 Oct 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The London Cabbie: A Life's Knowledge (Paperback)
This book certainly reinforced my view that it takes a very special type of person to be a cabbie. A good down to earth read that is hard not to enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The London Cabbie, 23 Jun 2011
This review is from: The London Cabbie: A Life's Knowledge (Paperback)
Funny book, however you probably need to be a black cab driver or doing the knowledge to fully understand the book completely.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Well written, 24 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A well written book, gets you right in the scene a must to read for anyone doing the famous knowledge of london
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars In two minds, 21 Jan 2014
By 
Anji Prudence "Wot Larks Pip" (London UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The London Cabbie: A Life's Knowledge (Paperback)
Badly written but the idea is there . A bit self congratulatory for my liking and the anecdotes are a bit disjointed .overall an ok read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Book !, 20 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The London Cabbie: A Life's Knowledge (Paperback)
Bought this book for my boyfriend who is a London Cabbie, he loves it and he can relate to it !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars ... a quick look through it will be a very good read, 30 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The London Cabbie: A Life's Knowledge (Paperback)
put away for Christmas had a quick look through it will be a very good read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The London Cabbie: A Life's Knowledge
The London Cabbie: A Life's Knowledge by Alf Townsend (Paperback - 15 April 2007)
£7.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews