Customer Reviews


66 Reviews
5 star:
 (47)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


39 of 39 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The true star of Astronomy!
This is the best read I have had for years! This marvellous Autobiography certainly depicts Sir Patrick's truly amazing character. This new and revised paperback is full of phenomenal stories and memories. My favourite part of the book is when Sir Patrick describes his meeting with Albert Einstein:
"Einstein was a talented violinist, and on this occasion he had a...
Published on 16 Feb 2005

versus
11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Unique character, good book.
Mr Moore is certainly an usual character and this comes across strongly in his autobiography.

The book goes through his life, focusing particularly on his involvement in the world of astronomy. He has certainly been prominent (and remains so, even in his old age) in this field and the book explains this and his TV career, well. Although the book is roughly...
Published on 11 July 2008 by Mr X


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

39 of 39 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The true star of Astronomy!, 16 Feb 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Patrick Moore: The Autobiography (Paperback)
This is the best read I have had for years! This marvellous Autobiography certainly depicts Sir Patrick's truly amazing character. This new and revised paperback is full of phenomenal stories and memories. My favourite part of the book is when Sir Patrick describes his meeting with Albert Einstein:
"Einstein was a talented violinist, and on this occasion he had a violin with him ... Pressed to show his skill, he said that he needed an accompanist. There was a piano to hand - and so there was Einstein playing Saint-Saens' Swan to my accompaniment."
When reading the Autobiography, I felt as though I was actually speaking with Patrick; it is remarkable the way his character shines through in the book - a shining star! All in all this is a fascinating and entertaining book, which would suit anyone who loves a good read!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Star Performer, 28 Feb 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Patrick Moore: The Autobiography (Paperback)
This is a fascinating, informative and highly-entertaining book which conveys the passion and humanity of its illustrious author. Moore writes authoratively about astronomy but the book always remains accessible to the average reader. When explaining why only rockets can be used for flight above the top of the atmosphere, he writes:
"Aircraft depend upon having air around them, and there is not much air above a few tens of miles, so that aircraft won't work. Rockets, on the other hand, depend upon what Isaac Newton called the "principle of reaction", every action has an equal and opposite reaction, so that a rocket will, so to speak, push against itself. If this baffles you, blow up a balloon and then suddenly let the air rush out. The balloon will shoot across the room, because it is being pushed by the air streaming out of its exhaust. In a rocket, a jet of gas is produced by a special kind of motor, usually involving a "fuel" and a "propellant", which when mixed together generate heat and send the gases out through the rocket exhaust."
However, the author's attention is not reserved exclusively for extra-terrestrial matters. He describes his fanaticism for cricket and humourously refers to his " curious leg-breaks, delivered at medium pace off a long, kangaroo-hop run and a cartwheel action". I especially enjoyed a delicious chapter entitled "The Tale of Mr Twitmarsh" in which he relishes in mocking incompetent bureaucracy. Forthright views on foxhunting and the European Union also reveal a man who is very much interested in current affairs. Yet the book reveals pathos, too. Patrick has remained a reluctant bachelor following the death of Lorna, " the only girl for me", killed by the Nazis in 1943.
I found this book compelling. It modestly sets its author in the context of the twentieth century and I was fascinated by Moore's decription of his meetings with famous individuals, including Orville Wright, the pioneering aviator, Neil Armstrong and Buzz Aldrin, the first men on the moon, Einstein, H G Wells, Rachmaninov and The Beatles.
In short, an excellent read for a modest investment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Story of a fascinating life., 3 May 2006
By 
This review is from: Patrick Moore: The Autobiography (Paperback)
Insightful, entertaining, refreshingly politically incorrect and ultimately human. This story, written on his 1908 typewriter, on which he was written every book and article credited to him, tells the story of a great English institution, a man perfectly comfortable with his beliefs. Some readers may decide to take offence over his use of old fashioned racial terms, as I did at first- but then I decided to grow up. I look forward to his fiftieth year presenting sky at night, for which incidentally he has never had a contract, just a gentleman's agreement.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well worth reading, 25 Oct 2009
This review is from: Patrick Moore: The Autobiography (Paperback)
Patrick Moore is perhaps the last great amateur Scientist (although I hope that there are still others out there). He contribution to the mapping of the Moon was significant and appreciated by the Russians in their lunar missions. He is also something of an accretion point of the wonderful British tradition of eccentricity. Reading through the book is not only fascinating but also evokes wonderful nostalgia for the period. The BBC with good in-depth Science programs; excellent traditional A-Levels; cricket; tea and scones; lovely summer evenings; rationality and science to the fore. I digress somewhat but this is how I felt when reading.

Patrick Moore is a fascinating and warm person and I recommend this autobiography to anyone who wishes to understand more about this British institution.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars More about Moore, 13 Jan 2006
By 
RTFishall "terry5680" (Lincolnshire, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Patrick Moore: The Autobiography (Paperback)
A wonderful read and a great insight into the world’s best loved astronomer. Simply, the most funny, sometimes sad, serious and entertaining book that I have read in a long time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Unique character, good book., 11 July 2008
This review is from: Patrick Moore: The Autobiography (Paperback)
Mr Moore is certainly an usual character and this comes across strongly in his autobiography.

The book goes through his life, focusing particularly on his involvement in the world of astronomy. He has certainly been prominent (and remains so, even in his old age) in this field and the book explains this and his TV career, well. Although the book is roughly chronological I did find that it ordering was sometime a little mixed-up but this is ironed out by the second half of the book.

I think that some modern readers will disagree with some of his views but one must admire him for at least being frank (one suspects that many people who adhere apparently unthinkingly to politically correct views are in fact moral cowards who in reality hold quite different views!)...at least Moore express what he honest feels.

Overall though it is an interesting and in places moving read by a very unique man!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent read, 4 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Patrick Moore: The Autobiography (Paperback)
This was well written and very engaging. It gave a lovely insight in this much missed and loved true English eccentric who gave so much to help others to understand and love his passion for astronomy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating, 27 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The autobiography of Patrick Moore is a book which will be read by all the family. We've seen Patrick in his stage presentations and met him and this book reflects his style perfectly. What an amazing life he had.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Out of this world, 23 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Patrick Moore: The Autobiography (Paperback)
This man is a sad loss the the world, this book is fantastic and I for one love it, as you read the book you can hear him speak, quite brilliant!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Interesting, funny with some sadness at the same time., 9 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have always been interested in astronomy and have grown up watching the Sky at Night presented by Sir Patrick. I bought this book some years ago in paperback and was pleased when it became available on the Kindle. It is a great read with details about his life and his achievements as well as being full of his witty humour. It has a lot of behind the scenes information about a lot of important events in history. A great read, I would recommend it to anyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Patrick Moore: The Autobiography
Patrick Moore: The Autobiography by Sir Patrick Moore (Paperback - 15 Feb 2005)
£10.67
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews