Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautifully done
The presentation of the material is beautifully done and attracted immediate attention from my teenage children. After reading about the rationale for wartime rationing and scientific basis for the way the rations were determined, they set about trying the recipes. The recipes work well and are filling and healthy. Grandparents who had been teenagers themselves during...
Published on 9 Sep 2007 by Gazdoc

versus
33 of 35 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars could try harder
i was actually hoping for a diet plan based on wartime rations and portions,this is actually a little cookbook with factual info about food distributions. if you are looking for wartime recipes you are better off with the marguerite patten 3 book set called "the war time kitchen"
Published on 8 Sep 2006 by L. S. Southam


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautifully done, 9 Sep 2007
By 
Gazdoc (Bristol UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Ration Book Diet (Hardcover)
The presentation of the material is beautifully done and attracted immediate attention from my teenage children. After reading about the rationale for wartime rationing and scientific basis for the way the rations were determined, they set about trying the recipes. The recipes work well and are filling and healthy. Grandparents who had been teenagers themselves during the war recognised and enjoyed the dishes.

This marvellous book gave my children an excellent set of recipes and a grounding in an important part of their grandparents' social history. If I had a criticism it would be that it could have contained more recipes.

For interest I compared the wartime diet with the current recommendations of the British Heart Foundation and found them to be remarkably similar, except that we currently advocate the use of olive oil for its monounsaturate properties. (Up until the 1960s, in England, most people used olive oil to soften ear wax as medicinal agent!) It is well worth reading and using this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


33 of 35 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars could try harder, 8 Sep 2006
By 
L. S. Southam (new forest uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Ration Book Diet (Hardcover)
i was actually hoping for a diet plan based on wartime rations and portions,this is actually a little cookbook with factual info about food distributions. if you are looking for wartime recipes you are better off with the marguerite patten 3 book set called "the war time kitchen"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Worth a look, 29 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Ration Book Diet (Paperback)
This book is a revelation about how food was rationed during World War Two, also the recipes can be used today. I have made meals from it with great success. The way of eating was healthier than much of our processed diet today.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Ration Diet Book, 13 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Ration Book Diet (Hardcover)
bought this out of being interested in cookery and so purchased a copy some really nice recipes in this book very pleased !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Inspiring eating habits from World War 2, 2 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Ration Book Diet (Paperback)
I love this recipe book. Apart from some really interesting background information on the war-time diet, the recipes are great! As well as reproducing many originals from the British diet of WW 2, others have been included with a modern twist. But they're all healthy, tasty and filling, and use lots of fresh produce. I'm looking forward to eating like my grandmother did when she was young - and having her amazing war-time figure as a result!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars diets are good, 19 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Ration Book Diet (Hardcover)
very interesting diets and hope it will have great things to cook hot and cold meals and is a good read this book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Making the most of little., 27 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Ration Book Diet (Paperback)
I believe that people were probably better fed in wartime even though there was less fare available. I purched this book on my wife's behalf and she is delighted with it, promising me that I will benefit from eating more healthily.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars rationing and diet, 28 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Ration Book Diet (Paperback)
This book is a very worthy timepiece depicting how we as a nation survived in past years on limited food supplies when there were food shortages i.e. in times of war and conflict. It is by the simple things in life i.e cooking a meal from what you have left in the fridge, larder or pantry and being able to turn these ingredients into a simple but appetising and nourishing meal, that is a skill all to often lost these days , in favour of more convenience foods like ready meals. A very good read and comes highly recommenced worthy of a 5 star rating, and is an important piece of our recent 20th century history of food.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars NOT what it says on the tin!, 25 April 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Ration Book Diet (Paperback)
Very disappointing- thought this would tell me how to use rationing to diet- give ideas of amounts of food allowed/how to create diet plan based on ration amounts in the modern day.
What this is is a recipe book with information on rationing in the war- if that's what you want then buy it- if you want to know how to use rationing for yourself- don't bother!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars How to survive rations and mealtimes during the war, 1 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Ration Book Diet (Paperback)
Not so much a book for dieters, more a book of how people managed to cope with feeding a family during wartime
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Ration Book Diet
The Ration Book Diet by C J Jackson (Paperback - 9 Dec 2004)
£7.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews