Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen in Prime Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars26
4.3 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£8.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 12 August 2012
Interesting text, with plenty of fascinating detail about the lives of women in the 15th and 16th centuries, but it's a real shame that the publisher did not include any of the images from the print edition. It's frustrating to read text that says, for instance, 'see plate xx' or 'see reproduction of original, without actually being able to see the images referred to. I realise that Kindle isn't exactly set up for images, but nevertheless some publishers make a reasonable fist of including them in their Kindle editions - and when viewed on an iPad rather than the Amazon Kindle, images are reproduced perfectly well. So why leave them out?

Publishers should start to pay more attention to the details when publishing Kindle editions. And Amazon should be applying pressure to get them to do so.
11 comment|21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 March 2010
I read one of Alison Sim's Tudor books and enjoyed it so much bought the other two I could find.
This is an accessible and yet detailed book that gives a view into the society that doesn't fill the famous histories, that of women. Well worth a read if you have a general interest in history. A definite read if you are interested in Tudor times.
Women may have had limited life options compared today, but not as restrictive as it would seem. Running households, like anytime in history, is like running a business and in some cases women were running major businesses and making significant decisions financial and political. I will be rereading it soon.
0Comment|22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 May 2011
Readable and fascinating look at the various aspects of the life of women in the Tudor period. From child-bearing to education, running businesses to being a good, religious women... this book takes you through what we know of how women lived during this time. When I picked it up I feared it would be yet another dry, academic tome, but it was surprisingly readable. Worth a look if this is a topic of interest to you.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 October 2012
This is a very good overview of the life of women in Tudor times. For me the author gets the tone just right - neither too academic, nor too simplistic, she brings her subject to life. There are plenty of quotes and references to particular women, which you could fairly easily follow up if you wanted more detailed information. The writing style is straightforward and involving, although I suspect that the transfer to ebook format has - as is all too common - messed about with some of the layout. I also gather from other reviews that the ebook does not have the illustrations of the paper versions, and this is very disappointing. Overall though, a great introduction to the subject.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 October 2012
I love the Tudor era and I did enjoy this book.
It was very informative and written in an easy to read style.
Very good.
Get the cocoa on, get the fire lit and spend Sunday with your feet up and this book
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 November 2001
this book gives so much to both the social and the studing reader. Set out clearly, we are taken through the lives of Tudor women, from the childbearing to the business women. this book shows clearly the restrainghts placed on women in the early modern period while highlighting their important role in society. I would recomend this book to anyone studing this period.
0Comment|15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 June 2014
I'm sorry to have to give a negative review to what should be an excellent and informative book. However, the constant references to illustrations which simply aren't there is very frustrating. I have the paperback edition, not the Kindle, so there is no excuse for this omission. Even the quote on the back cover refers to it's being 'finely illustrated'. Disappointing.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 May 2011
This book came to my notice when I was ordering another book from Amazon. When it arrived I was amazed at the amount of information that it contained and my wife found it fascinating reading too. Want to know what housewives did in the Tudor period, then get hold of this little book - you will find it a tremendous resource.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 December 2012
At last an author who realises "ordinary women" and their lives are interesting and relatable to the modern woman,they cook , they clean and look after the family whilst working ( sometimes) with/for/instead of (in some cases) Husbands or employers or women without ANY "shortcuts or mechanical " help at all.

You can only wonder at the strength and resiliance of these women for without that you would most definately not be reading this review my only complaint, I wish it was twice as long therefore twice as detailed. Not the usual coffee table fare, skimming across the surface of the subject and just retelling the same well worn facts we all read in leaflets in museums again and again.
Recommended
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 January 2013
this book has lots of info about how households were run, the kind of education women had, how their daily lives were. Life wasn't quite as bleak domestically as we sometimes imagine.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse