Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Stand - your money or your life !
Thoroughly enjoyable history of highway robbery from the time of Robin Hood onwards (a nice intro into the narrative,as the author analysis the stories surrounding possibly the most famous outlaw in the world). This is social history of the highest quality & explores the myths & realities of highway robbery & the people who perpetrated it.
The only reason this does...
Published on 13 Feb 2008 by DavyA

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Stand and Deliver!
Not particularly well written or presented, this guide to highway robbery seems a little cheap and cheerful. Despite appearances it does not focus on any one period but covers the history of robbery in general from the middle ages onwards. As a result it never really gets to grips with the subject. I'm sure there are better books on highway robbery out there.
Published 7 months ago by Neil Lennon


Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Stand - your money or your life !, 13 Feb 2008
By 
DavyA (Newcastle Upon Tyne, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Stand and Deliver!: A History of Highway Robbery (Paperback)
Thoroughly enjoyable history of highway robbery from the time of Robin Hood onwards (a nice intro into the narrative,as the author analysis the stories surrounding possibly the most famous outlaw in the world). This is social history of the highest quality & explores the myths & realities of highway robbery & the people who perpetrated it.
The only reason this does not get 5 stars is that I enjoyed it so much, I found it was too short, I just wanted to read more.
Some very good background research, gives us a flavour of what society was like in each of the eras of highway robbery explored & how these shaped the people who took to the highways & byways to rob the unfortunate traveller.
Some surprising & lesser known facts & history are unearthed,as well as analysis of the most famous & well known of this breed of "romantic" criminal. A highly recommended read on the subject.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Stand and Deliver!, 18 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Stand and Deliver!: A History of Highway Robbery (Paperback)
Not particularly well written or presented, this guide to highway robbery seems a little cheap and cheerful. Despite appearances it does not focus on any one period but covers the history of robbery in general from the middle ages onwards. As a result it never really gets to grips with the subject. I'm sure there are better books on highway robbery out there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Your money or your life., 28 April 2011
This review is from: Stand and Deliver!: A History of Highway Robbery (Paperback)
A facinating book even if you have just a passing interest in this subject. It is written in an easy, non taxing style and so makes good bed time reading. I also have a copy of 'Outlaws & Highwaymen' by Gillian Spraggs which is a very formidible book, written in a very adroit manner but almost a little too scientific and clinical in its manner with a little too much emphasis on the Robin Hood subject important though he undoubtedly is. 'Stand & Deliver' is much lighter although in parts it relys solely upon acecdote, it nevertheless makes a darn good read. If anyone can recall the TV series in the late seventies with Richard O Sullivan then one can see, whilst reading, that Richard Carpenter dug deep to come up with characters and story lines!. I therefore would reccommend this book to anyone as an entry level source of information. The Gillian Spraggs tome I would recommend if you intend to study for a PHD. Enough said.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Very interesting, 5 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Stand and Deliver!: A History of Highway Robbery (Paperback)
Interesting and well written brief account of the most motorious highwaymen, from Robin Hood to Dick Turpin with a selection of lesser known in-famous robbers. Very entertaining and discovered some quirky facts. I liked very much the last chapter with the list of places associated to highwaymen: made me want to go on a tour and visit them. An enjoyable read I would recommend to all lovers of history. Money well spent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars David Brandon stood and delivered in style !, 21 Mar 2013
By 
W. Duddy - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is an enjoyable well researched read about skulduggery along the highways and byways of England over the centuries. David Brandon fleshes out the wide variety of characters, dispensing with some old myths in the process. Composed of a series of stand alone(but chronologically linked)stories the book is particularly "reader friendly". Thoroughly recommended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Your money or your life!, 18 Sep 2011
By 
Icy Sedgwick "Icy" (Newcastle upon Tyne, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Stand and Deliver!: A History of Highway Robbery (Paperback)
This is a fascinating little book that not only tells the stories of various highwaymen, both notorious and obscure, but also examines the social history of crime in the eighteenth and nineteenth centuries. Chapters are devoted to the more famous figures such as Claude Duval, Jack Sheppard and Dick Turpin, but Brandon does his best to explode widely-held misconceptions and popular legends. The topic is perhaps a little vast considering the long time frame in which highwaymen can be said to have operated but the book is written in a lively and enjoyable style, and makes the subject matter highly engaging. Brandon seems more at ease discussing the history of crime, but the book as a whole is an interesting read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 16 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Stand and Deliver!: A History of Highway Robbery (Paperback)
I DONE IT DIICKRD YRAERS AGO
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic read, 15 Aug 2007
This review is from: Stand and Deliver!: A History of Highway Robbery (Paperback)
I loved this book. I am into Highwaymen and pirates and history so this was a must for me. I read this book within two days it was that good,it held my attention.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Stand and Deliver!: A History of Highway Robbery
Stand and Deliver!: A History of Highway Robbery by David Brandon (Paperback - 1 April 2010)
£8.57
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews