Customer Reviews


5 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


26 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars New insights
Was pleasantly surprised to stumble across this book in Waterstones - I think this is the first biography of Voltaire to come out in years and it is also first-class.
Derek Parker gives lots of information unfortunately passed over in the normal course of studying Voltaire, and having read the book you realise you now know a lot more about the man behind the works...
Published on 5 Mar 2005

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars
A good read
Published 4 months ago by estelle berlan


Most Helpful First | Newest First

26 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars New insights, 5 Mar 2005
By A Customer
Was pleasantly surprised to stumble across this book in Waterstones - I think this is the first biography of Voltaire to come out in years and it is also first-class.
Derek Parker gives lots of information unfortunately passed over in the normal course of studying Voltaire, and having read the book you realise you now know a lot more about the man behind the works that made his fame (Candide, Zadig, Lettres philosophiques etc.). It is reassuring to read a balanced, well-researched view of both Voltaire's faults and his merits, and I like the way Parker's text seems to flow so effortlessly from beginning to end.
Fascinating and highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love this book, 12 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Voltaire (Paperback)
This book was a real page turner, fascinatiing in its detail, humorous and fast paced. I would reccomend this book to everyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book (would have liked to have bought the Kindle version) at a great price, rapidly delivered, 1 Jan 2014
By 
Mr. J. Ballard "Jazz Lover" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Voltaire (Paperback)
Bought this used but it is a great book (would have liked to have bought the Kindle version) at a great price, rapidly delivered.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good introduction to the great man., 6 Feb 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Voltaire (Paperback)
I enjoyed reading this book. I consider it a great introduction to the great Voltaire - I hadn't read anything about Volltaire before. I'm now reading "Letters on England" and realise that reading Derek Parker's book provided a context to understanding Voltaire's psyche.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars, 29 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Voltaire (Paperback)
A good read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Voltaire
Voltaire by Derek Parker (Paperback - 28 Feb 2006)
£8.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews