Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The funniest history book ever
In this marvellous book Will Cuppy tells the life stories of some of history's most famous men and women, in his onw inimitable style. He starts with the Egyptian Pharoah Cheops, or Khufu, and goes on to discuss the female pharoah Hatshepsut, Alexander the Great, Cleopatra, Atillia the Hun, Lucrezia Borgia, William the Conqueror, and many others. His comments on the...
Published on 3 July 2004 by L O'connor

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Been done before and better.
While it is an interesting foray into the byways of history I found it just too much. "1066 and All That" had the right combination of humour and thoughtful comment this is just a stream of sarcasm.
Published 18 months ago by A Customer


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The funniest history book ever, 3 July 2004
By 
L O'connor (richmond, surrey United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
In this marvellous book Will Cuppy tells the life stories of some of history's most famous men and women, in his onw inimitable style. He starts with the Egyptian Pharoah Cheops, or Khufu, and goes on to discuss the female pharoah Hatshepsut, Alexander the Great, Cleopatra, Atillia the Hun, Lucrezia Borgia, William the Conqueror, and many others. His comments on the lives and habits of the people he writes about are hilarious. Discussing Henry VIII's conduct in bringing about the execution of two of his wives, he remarks "As a matter of fact, Henry merely allowed the law to take its course, but some people feel that a really thoughtful husband would have done something about it." And writing of the childhood of Peter the Great he says "his teacher permitted him to develop his own individuality, and if you have met any such children I don't have to tell you." Writing of Agrippina, mother of Nero, he says "Agrippina was a sister of Caligula. You don't get over a thing like that." Every chapter in this book is full of hilarious comments. I have lost count of the number of times I have read this book, and still find it blissfully funny every time. The illustrations by William Steig are delightful too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The book for Historians, 3 Jan 1999
By A Customer
I first read this book from my fathers library in the late 1960's. In college I learned of the secret History underground that made knowledge of this book THE required text to understanding history.
As another reviewer has written, this book could replace whole libraries of reference material. This is because Mr. Cuppy could reduce complex Ideas and Actions into a 6 word sentence. Few people can do it as well as he could.
From time to time a writer will come out with Mr. Cuppy's style. The book, "Hail to the Chiefs", about American Presidents, is one of the best (Alas, it is out of print as well!).
Find this book and enjoy your past. Then look at a dusty old tome and the latest news from Washington and have a good laugh.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What more can I say?, 9 Oct 2000
By A Customer
This book is such a good read, made even better by the fact that it is so well researched and constructed. It could even (nay, should) be taught in schools. It has won me so many general knowledge quizzes that I could go on all day heaping praise on it. READ IT NOW!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superlative!!! Why couldn't history class be like this., 24 April 1998
By A Customer
Decline and Fall of Practically Everybody is THE book for those who have found history dull and dry. I first became aquanted with this book in highschool, over 20 years ago, and have often quoted it since. Will Cuppy has made the great figures of history into living people with all of their foibles and shortcomings as well as accomplishments exposed. All of the greats from ancient Egypt to Queen Victoria are skewered here. William the Conquer was "a manly little fellow, always fighting and wrangling and knocking the other children down...till his father died near Jerusalem. Then he became more independant and took to putting out peoples eyes." Henry VIII "has been much criticzied for beheading two of his wives, but he only let the law take it's course. ... He let some of them live, for those were the days of chivalary when Knighhood was in flower." The only sad note in the history of this marvolous book is that Mr. Cuppy did not see it published. As the introduction notes he died before it was assembled and his heirs used his collection of 3x5 index cards to compile the best book on Western Civilization ever written.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I used to hate history!, 2 Jan 2004
My husband is a big history buff and I always hated sitting through boring television programs about everything from the Romans to WWII. But, I was inspired by the other reviews to try this book out and try to get more up-to-speed on general historical knowledge. This book focuses on some of the most interesting people from the past and it is so funny and cleverly written that it kept my attention AND I even learned something! I highly recommend it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars There has never been a funnier book on history, 31 May 1999
By A Customer
WIll Cuppy's book has more laugh-inducing material per square inch than any other book on history, easily putting much better-known books (like those of Armour) in the shade. Mr. Cuppy is the most under-rated of all American writers in this century, because he wrote humor, and especially because so much of his humor is dry and requires a little thought on the part of the reader. (This last requirement doubtless is fatal for the sales and popularity of any book.) Will Cuppy's secret was to read ABSOLUTELY everything on a subject, known and obscure, and then write an essay of 1 to 5 pages about it. He knew how to skewer pretension, academic pedantry, and indeed all the excesses of the academic community better than any other writer. While he was at it, he also had great skill at exposing the foibles of his famous subjects. Like any humorist, he does not bat 1000, but when he hits, he is as funny as anybody else has even been.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Been done before and better., 27 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Decline and Fall of Practically Everybody (Paperback)
While it is an interesting foray into the byways of history I found it just too much. "1066 and All That" had the right combination of humour and thoughtful comment this is just a stream of sarcasm.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars History for those who hate history., 25 Feb 1998
By A Customer
Will Cuppy was a blithe original. His view of history, meticulously researched in the grand academic manner, yields results that are at first glance about 65 degrees off center. Go back and read them again, and the truth behind them comes out. The Decline and Fall of Practically Everybody is a delight; it is informative (and has more verifiable facts in it than a library full of ordinary history texts); it is, besides, a work of rare humor. Read it, and you will think three several times before venerating any hollow hero.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 11 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Decline and Fall of Practically Everybody (Paperback)
good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars never buy this book, 27 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Decline and Fall of Practically Everybody (Paperback)
This is bar far the worst book I have read in the last 10 years. The facts are mainly dull and his humourist comments are childlike at best. How anyone has rated this awful book is beyond me. I have been buying books based on reviewers ratings on amazon for years and whilst I have not always agreed with the high ratings I have bought some excellent books as a result. This book is so bad I have felt compelled to write my first ever review in the hope that no one else wastes their time reading it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Decline and Fall of Practically Everybody
The Decline and Fall of Practically Everybody by Will Cuppy (Paperback - 18 Jan 2011)
8.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews