Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

37 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hits the mark, 31 July 2007
This review is from: The Great Warbow (Hardcover)
This book is handsome enough to adorn any coffee table, but it's much more than a glossy tribute to one of history's most feared and famous weapons - the longbow. Actor Robert Hardy - a key player behind the important, and controversial, technical analysis of the powerful bow staves recovered from the wreck of the Tudor warship Mary Rose - contributes several feisty chapters, but the bulk of this substantial book is the work of Dr Matthew Strickland, a lecturer in Medieval History at the University of Glasgow.
Dr Strickland is a leading authority on Medieval warfare, and he uses his knowledge to place the longbow squarely within its broad historical context. He provides a scholarly but readable account of the role of archery (including the crossbow and composite bows) from Hastings to the Armada. En route, 'The Great Warbow' tackles not only the epic set-piece encounters of the Hundred Years War, but all manner of lesser battles and skirmishes fought from Scotland to Portugal. In addition, it includes coverage of such relevant themes as hunting, armour, castles and the rise of gunpowder weapons.
From start to finish, the combination of narrative and analysis is based upon an intimate acquaintance with the sources, including many chronicles that have never been published in English. This is bolstered by a generous selection of well-reproduced and thoughtfully-captioned illustrations. There is also enough technical data to support the book's conclusions, although this is not stretched beyond its limits simply to prove a point.
The end result is not only a comprehensive account of the capabilities and limitations of the longbow, and the armies who both used it and faced it, but also what is now perhaps the best English-language overview of Medieval European warfare in general.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


49 of 50 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very informative, 9 July 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: The Great Warbow (Hardcover)
This is an excellent book which deals comprehensively with the use and effect of both the longbow and crossbow. But it is more than this inasmuch as it surveys the great battles of the later middle ages and considers the tactics - including archery - which helped to win or lose them. The authors are clearly experts and the illustrations are superb - it deserves to become the standard work in the field.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


41 of 42 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Highly recommended, 15 Jan 2006
This review is from: The Great Warbow (Hardcover)
Being a keen archer for many years,using both the modern compound bow and the old English Longbow,I saw this book advertised on Amazon and added it to my wishlist.
My parents got it for me for Xmas and as soon as I opened it that was the last anyone saw of me for the holidays.
It is highly informative on many different aspects,things like the technical side of the bow,why we were the only country to adopt it in such high numbers,and other things like the types of arrowheads used and how archers would aim for the faces of Knights with lifted visors at 100 paces.
One fascinating chapter,although quite sqeamish,has highly detailed surgical reports of how these were removed from any soldier lucky(?) enough to survive one embedding itself in their head.
The authors Matthew Strickland and Robert Hardy(yes the actor from All creatures great and small!) obviously have a great respect and love of this symbol of Medieval England.
I defy any true Englishman or lady not to feel an immense feeling of pride when they read this.
Buy this book and I promise you will love it.It's not just a good book,it's a beautiful one.
For St.George!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A complete history of the longbow, 22 Dec 2009
By 
This review is from: The Great Warbow (Hardcover)
I bought this second hand at about half the list price, figuring that the quality of the print and the chapter on the Mary Rose bows would be sufficient to justify the price. In retrospect it is worth its full listed price (even given the cover damage my copy has). It has clearly surpassed my expectations in both scope and depth of the topics covered, and I found it a very pleasant read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable and Informative, 10 July 2011
This review is from: The Great Warbow (Hardcover)
This is one book I rank very highly.

Whilst initially a formidable tome due to its size, it nethertheless was, for me, a book I found hard to put down until I had finished it in its entirety.

Easy to read and presents information in a manner that is entertaining and with enough information to keep people like myself happy (for the most part). I would imagine that some sections (such as the one on arrow penetration on armour) may become a trifle dull for someone (lots of data), for myself I found it greatly informative.

I found the pictures supported the text well and provided interesting depictions. The experiment undertaken and reported by the authors at the very end of the book, was a highlight.

Gripes: I would have liked more repetition in the experiment with heavier arrows.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 6 July 2012
By 
Ms. M. Abbott (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Lovely book and very imformative. Lovely pictures and great discriptions. I would recommend this book to everyone, especially those that love history.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful ..., 30 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A heavy weight read but awesome ...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great just what i hoped for, 2 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Great Warbow (Hardcover)
the book was what I wanted it arrived quickly, extreamly interesting I cant put it down and I shall recommend it to my friends.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A great read and and a great work of reference., 14 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Well written and well presented. This will provide me with many hours of interesting reading. It the sort of book you can pick up and read for 5 minutes or spend much longer absorbed in its finer detail.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Great Warbow
The Great Warbow by Matthew Strickland (Hardcover - 23 Feb 2005)
Used & New from: 24.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews