Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Your money or your life.
A facinating book even if you have just a passing interest in this subject. It is written in an easy, non taxing style and so makes good bed time reading. I also have a copy of 'Outlaws & Highwaymen' by Gillian Spraggs which is a very formidible book, written in a very adroit manner but almost a little too scientific and clinical in its manner with a little too much...
Published on 28 April 2011 by Planning Outlaw

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Stand and Deliver!
Not particularly well written or presented, this guide to highway robbery seems a little cheap and cheerful. Despite appearances it does not focus on any one period but covers the history of robbery in general from the middle ages onwards. As a result it never really gets to grips with the subject. I'm sure there are better books on highway robbery out there.
Published 14 months ago by Neil Lennon


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Your money or your life., 28 April 2011
A facinating book even if you have just a passing interest in this subject. It is written in an easy, non taxing style and so makes good bed time reading. I also have a copy of 'Outlaws & Highwaymen' by Gillian Spraggs which is a very formidible book, written in a very adroit manner but almost a little too scientific and clinical in its manner with a little too much emphasis on the Robin Hood subject important though he undoubtedly is. 'Stand & Deliver' is much lighter although in parts it relys solely upon acecdote, it nevertheless makes a darn good read. If anyone can recall the TV series in the late seventies with Richard O Sullivan then one can see, whilst reading, that Richard Carpenter dug deep to come up with characters and story lines!. I therefore would reccommend this book to anyone as an entry level source of information. The Gillian Spraggs tome I would recommend if you intend to study for a PHD. Enough said.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Stand and Deliver!, 18 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Not particularly well written or presented, this guide to highway robbery seems a little cheap and cheerful. Despite appearances it does not focus on any one period but covers the history of robbery in general from the middle ages onwards. As a result it never really gets to grips with the subject. I'm sure there are better books on highway robbery out there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Stand - your money or your life !, 13 Feb. 2008
By 
DavyA (Newcastle Upon Tyne, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Thoroughly enjoyable history of highway robbery from the time of Robin Hood onwards (a nice intro into the narrative,as the author analysis the stories surrounding possibly the most famous outlaw in the world). This is social history of the highest quality & explores the myths & realities of highway robbery & the people who perpetrated it.
The only reason this does not get 5 stars is that I enjoyed it so much, I found it was too short, I just wanted to read more.
Some very good background research, gives us a flavour of what society was like in each of the eras of highway robbery explored & how these shaped the people who took to the highways & byways to rob the unfortunate traveller.
Some surprising & lesser known facts & history are unearthed,as well as analysis of the most famous & well known of this breed of "romantic" criminal. A highly recommended read on the subject.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Informative rather than entertaining, 25 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book should have been called "A brief history of robbery in England's streets and alleys through the ages", for half of the book tells about all the other forms of robbery in public places. In itself the book it well-written and informative. But a subject like this calls for either in-depth study and analysis, or for a popular-history, tongue-in-cheek approach. Clearly Mr. Brandon has chosen for the latter, but he is not really a writer a writer who knows how to make the most of a good story or anecdote. Mr. Brandon in my view is a bit too much of a serious historian to make this book really fun and entertaining. So what we end up with is a book full of stories that come across as a Morecambe and Wise-sketch as told by your headmaster. But for those who just want to know more on the subject in an easily digestible way, this is a good buy..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Your money or your life!, 18 Sept. 2011
By 
Icy Sedgwick "Icy" (Newcastle upon Tyne, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a fascinating little book that not only tells the stories of various highwaymen, both notorious and obscure, but also examines the social history of crime in the eighteenth and nineteenth centuries. Chapters are devoted to the more famous figures such as Claude Duval, Jack Sheppard and Dick Turpin, but Brandon does his best to explode widely-held misconceptions and popular legends. The topic is perhaps a little vast considering the long time frame in which highwaymen can be said to have operated but the book is written in a lively and enjoyable style, and makes the subject matter highly engaging. Brandon seems more at ease discussing the history of crime, but the book as a whole is an interesting read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Very interesting, 5 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Interesting and well written brief account of the most motorious highwaymen, from Robin Hood to Dick Turpin with a selection of lesser known in-famous robbers. Very entertaining and discovered some quirky facts. I liked very much the last chapter with the list of places associated to highwaymen: made me want to go on a tour and visit them. An enjoyable read I would recommend to all lovers of history. Money well spent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars David Brandon stood and delivered in style !, 21 Mar. 2013
By 
W. Duddy - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is an enjoyable well researched read about skulduggery along the highways and byways of England over the centuries. David Brandon fleshes out the wide variety of characters, dispensing with some old myths in the process. Composed of a series of stand alone(but chronologically linked)stories the book is particularly "reader friendly". Thoroughly recommended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 16 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I DONE IT DIICKRD YRAERS AGO
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic read, 15 Aug. 2007
I loved this book. I am into Highwaymen and pirates and history so this was a must for me. I read this book within two days it was that good,it held my attention.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 25 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
pleased
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Stand and Deliver!: A History of Highway Robbery
Stand and Deliver!: A History of Highway Robbery by David Brandon (Hardcover - 18 Oct. 2001)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews