Customer Reviews


33 Reviews
5 star:
 (24)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


147 of 149 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The book I've been waiting for.
If you're interested in genealogy - this is the book you've been waiting for. It's clear, concise and very informative, written in an easy style which makes it easy and enjoyable to read. After reading several books on Genealogy, including many older ones from the library, this made a refreshing change, particularly as it is bang up to date with information on CD Roms,...
Published on 17 Jan 2001 by elaine3483

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Brick Wall
Wish it could have helped me break down my brick wall! It didn't! Never mind! One day perhaps I'll do it!
Published 7 months ago by Franci


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

147 of 149 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The book I've been waiting for., 17 Jan 2001
If you're interested in genealogy - this is the book you've been waiting for. It's clear, concise and very informative, written in an easy style which makes it easy and enjoyable to read. After reading several books on Genealogy, including many older ones from the library, this made a refreshing change, particularly as it is bang up to date with information on CD Roms, computer packages and internet sites. Herber manages to level the book in a way that it doesn't matter if you're a beginner or already someway into your research - this book will definitely be of help. Excellent!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


139 of 141 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the undisputed bible of family history - get it!, 11 Mar 2004
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Having been involved in family history research for thirty years, and being completely self-taught by trial and error, I have sometimes been tempted to invest in expensive reference books, but found many of them cumbersome, badly organised, or rapidly outdated. Genealogy is constantly developing but even so this book, in any edition, is an absolutely invaluable longterm reference. It is written in a hugely informative way, exciting and never patronising, and the sheer quantity and quality of information in it is breathtaking. You couldn't make a better investment if you're researching your family history (especially with the superb Amazon discount!) Can't fault it! BRILLIANT!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


36 of 36 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding coverage and depth of knowledge, 12 Mar 2007
By 
Tony Jones "Tony" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Whilst echoing all the comments already made, this phenomenal tome is and is likely to always be the definitive reference. Despite the extensive movement towards Internet sources, this book has the insight into 'why' you move through certain classes of records whereas the (also essential) Internet guides tell you where these are.

Beyond that the illustration with examples from the authors research, the many examples of why you need to double check every assumption, and the wealth of ideas for gleaning more insight into the lives of ancestors are frankly astonishing, and it astounds me that one person could both know so much, find so much and still have time to update this masterpiece.

If you haven't bought it, you're not serious about family history.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


68 of 69 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding, 25 Feb 2004
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is quite simply the best reference work for United Kingdom Genealogy that I have come across. I have been waiting for publication of the second edition for some time and am not disappointed at all. Everything I can imagine I might want to know is in it. I have been interested in Genealogy for many years and wish this volume had been available sooner. It's worth twice the price!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


59 of 60 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An invaluable companion, 6 July 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Ancestral Trails: Complete Guide to British Genealogy and Family History (Hardcover)
A comprehensive study of most of the sources available to people researching their family history in England. Examples from the authors' own research help to illustrate the information available and the use that can be made of it. There are many illustrations of the different types of documents discussed. Perhaps less suitable as the first, or only book, for absolute beginners due to the depth of coverage which can appear a little daunting. One of the two most useful (and reread) genealogy books that I have bought, the other being "The Family Tree Detective" by Colin Rogers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Family History "Must Haves", 9 Feb 2008
By 
Margaret Bird (Sussex, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
As a fairly recent - but rapidly becoming obsessed - family historian I have either acquired or borrowed a fair number of the leading books on Family History available at the moment. However Ancestral Trails outshines them all. Whilst being very readable in its own right it gives a wealth of background information on sources and advice on how you might make progress if you hit a brick wall, and has the most comprehensive coverage I have found. This and The Genealogist's Internet by Peter Christian have become my two bibles. I run two Family History Groups and I would strongly recommend both of these books to any serious amateur family historian.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


42 of 43 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A truly remarkable achievement, 10 Oct 2003
Mr Herber has achieved, within this finely crafted opus, something that few others have been able - His fluid style serves to demystify the Genealogical Jungle that has often proven to be inpenetrable for the beginner, such as I.
I cannot recommend this work too highly and am delighted that it has been accepted as the definitive text for those embarking upon their quest to discover their roots and branches
Well done Herber!!
Dward Heath
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The book I've been waiting for., 17 Jan 2001
If you're interested in genealogy - this is the book you've been waiting for. It's clear, concise and very informative, written in an easy style which makes it easy and enjoyable to read. After reading several books on Genealogy, including many older ones from the library, this made a refreshing change, particularly as it is bang up to date with information on CD Roms, computer packages and internet sites. Herber manages to level the book in a way that it doesn't matter if you're a beginner or already someway into your research - this book will definitely be of help. Excellent!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars very detailed but quite readable, 21 Mar 2009
I found the book very useful not only for geneology but also just for the insights in social hisory
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous!, 5 July 2010
By 
H. Thomas (Llanelli, Wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This book is absolutely brilliant, and well worth every single penny. As an archivist, this book is invaluable for answering those awkward questions about obscure areas of research, and as a family historian this book covers everything you could ever need to know and more. It is highly recommended by all archivists and family historians I know who have a copy, and use it regularly.

It is well written, clearly laid out and easy to use - if you buy only one book on family history, make sure it is this one. Herber answers everything in a concise but astonishingly informative manner, provides excellent examples of the records in question, and information for accessing them, including addresses and websites. This book is FABULOUS!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Ancestral Trails: Complete Guide to British Genealogy and Family History
Used & New from: 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews