Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential reading for anyone involved in e-Marketing, 31 Oct 2008
This review is from: eMarketing eXcellence: Planning and Optimising your Digital Marketing (Emarketing Essentials) (Paperback)
e-Marketing eXcellence, third addition, covers the entire scope of e-Marketing:
Objectives - Do you want to sell? build a brand? talk to and or serve customers?
e-Models - e-commerce, communications, online revenue, web2.0.
e-Customers - Who are they? why do they/don't they buy online? how do they buy? how do you build relationships with them? how do they communicate with each other?
Tools - Not just the internet! iDTV, Digital Radio, Mobile etc.
Site design - Establishing the purpose of the site, best practice design, navigation, structure and copywriting.
Traffic building - SEM, display advertising, e-mail, viral, PR.
CRM - Developing lasting relationships with your customers - database marketing, profiling and personalisation.
e-Business - From value chains to value networks; an analysis what's involved in setting up and managing an e-Business.

The main body text is well written, and the depth of coverage for each topic is just right for a book this size.

Throughout the book you'll find the following boxes:
e-Marketing Excellence - Real world case studies of how large corporations have used the topic being discussed in that part of the book.
Practical/Best Practice e-Marketing tip - Specifics on how you can use the topic being discussed in your own e-marketing campaigns.
e-Marketing Insight - Views from corporations, technology providers (e.g. Google), e-Marketing experts to get you thinking in multiple directions.
The book is also littered throughout with high quality charts, graphics and screenshots of actual websites, all in colour, to give you actual examples of how these techniques are being used.

This third edition of the book has extensive coverage on the latest trends in e-Marketing - viral marketing, web2.0 approaches such as social networking and online PR.

One of the highlights of this book, for me, is thorough coverage of the SOSTAC® approach to e-Marketing planning. Created by Paul Smith (who is a co-author of this book), the model provides a structured framework for building your e-Marketing plans. The model can be applied to projects from small to massive. The book concentrates on how to apply the SOSTAC® model specifically to e-Marketing. Essential reading for anyone involved in writing e-Marketing plans.

This book has broadened my knowledge of e-Marketing in a way that I would not have been able to do so without it. I found myself constantly thinking in new directions when reading it. I now have an appreciation of many more aspects of what's involved when planning for, implementing, and testing e-Marketing campaigns, and I would not hesitate to recommend this book to anyone involved in all aspects (strategizing, managing, implementing) of e-Marketing. The book also serves as an excellent resource for the e-Marketing student.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best of the eMarketing bunch?, 26 Mar 2009
By 
Richard Sedley (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: eMarketing eXcellence: Planning and Optimising your Digital Marketing (Emarketing Essentials) (Paperback)
Increasing your understanding of digital marketing can be quite an intimidating exercise. There are a mass of books on the subject each professing to have the best route to developing your skills. In my opinion eMarketing Excellence is probably the most accessible and comprehensive of the books around.

It is pretty clear from the opening chapters that the authors have been able to draw on their experience both as practitioners and as trainers. The sections are discretely and logically titled and subtitled. Each chapter has very clear boxed sections providing insights and real-world examples -importantly drawn from both B2C and B2B environments - and the chapters close with useful summaries.

The book's target market is probably new marketers or those already in marketing but looking to add digital to their skill set, but It's examples and breadth make it just as interesting to those already familiar with the digital arena. Particularly useful in this regard are the chapters that include aspects of planning, strategy and measurement.

This isn't a sit down and read on one session book, but more like the manual you leave on your desk or have close to hand so you can dip in and out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars essential for professional marketers, 11 Jun 2009
By 
Ms. A. Hanlon (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: eMarketing eXcellence: Planning and Optimising your Digital Marketing (Emarketing Essentials) (Paperback)
I was introduced to eMarketing Excellence when I was taking the Chartered Institute of Marketing's eMarketing award. It is an essential reference book for anyone wanting to know more about eMarketing.

Chaffey and Smith move beyond the 4Ps, 7Ps or 8Ps into `remix' and gets the reader to review how these work in an online setting. Full of marketing models (and matrices), it is clearly presented and easy to follow. Case studies and real world examples clarify specific topics.

Since reading the first edition of the book I bought this edition too. On a practical note we use the 5S tool to review websites as it gives an objective benchmark from which to start.

The book contains practical tips, links to other websites and I recommend this book highly - I've sent the link to many colleagues as a worthy read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Whatever you want, it's here!, 11 Oct 2011
This review is from: eMarketing eXcellence: Planning and Optimising your Digital Marketing (Emarketing Essentials) (Paperback)
Basically I do not need to say a lot more than, Dave Chaffey has included every e-marketing concept in this book, which is fantastic. He doesn't always go into great depth on some concepts but all-in-all it is a very good read.

It isn't just a book with Chaffey explaining what e-marketing is about, he has written it in a way which attracts the audiences' attention to make them want to read on and on.

The book is great for academics and businessmen/women who need some advise on e-marketing strategies. There are case studies at the end and A LOT of data which was extremely useful for myself (academic-wise). The layout is very clear, unfortunately I wasn't recommended Chaffey sooner as it is probably the best marketing book I have read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars eMARKETING eXCELLENCE, 26 Sep 2011
By 
This review is from: eMarketing eXcellence: Planning and Optimising your Digital Marketing (Emarketing Essentials) (Paperback)
With this latest edition, Chaffey has shown once again that he is the master of eMarketing text books.
Written in easily understandable language with many case study illustrations it should be regarded as "the bible"
for budding eMarket entrepreneurs. Students studying eMarketing will find it an invaluable source of information
and inspiration. As world chief examiner in Internet Marketing for the London Chamber of Commerce International Qualifications
I recommend this text book as core reading material. Prof. Robert Brooks Ph.d.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars easy to understand and follow, 15 Nov 2010
By 
Miss Hartley "seh0211" (Oxford, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: eMarketing eXcellence: Planning and Optimising your Digital Marketing (Emarketing Essentials) (Paperback)
This is a great book - very simple to read and understand, explaining complicated concepts and strategies well.
The authors are clearly enthusiastic and knowledgable on their subject areas and it's pretty up-to-date considering how fast technology is moving. I would expect to see another edition in a couple of years however.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Readable, comprehensive and on the money, 17 Sep 2010
This review is from: eMarketing eXcellence: Planning and Optimising your Digital Marketing (Emarketing Essentials) (Paperback)
eMarketing eXcellence was one of the first books I read when starting to properly understand the world of digital marketing. Its an impressive introduction. Thoroughly underpinned with "proper" marketing theory, this is a great example of a textbook that integrates PR Smith's good solid marketing principles with Dave Chaffey's extensive knowledge of digital tools and techniques. A good mix of strategic overview with tactical know-how. The web is awash with white papers providing lots of tactical ideas, however they normally lack the essential underpinning of traditional proven marketing theory.

I teach CIM marketing and CAM digital qualifications and this is a textbook top of my recommendations to all my students. PR Smith's excellent SOSTAC framework for marketing planning is used throughout, there are also plenty of case studies.

I've read it cover to cover - and it is that readable, however it is also well indexed for dipping in and out of.

I'm currently undertaking a Masters Degree in Digital Marketing and its no surprise that this book is one of the year 1 core texts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best books on the subject, 3 Jan 2010
This review is from: eMarketing eXcellence: Planning and Optimising your Digital Marketing (Emarketing Essentials) (Paperback)
I bought this for someone who has been operating a sucessful internet business for a year or so. He felt there were some areas of his operation that could be improved on, but was not sure of the way forward (ie specific aspects of marketing). I did some research before purchasing, and it appeared to fit bill.

I'm happy to say that this book completely met his requirements, if required you can dip into it and explore certain areas briefly, but you will also find there is plenty of depth devoted to each area. Everything seems to be covered. All in all a very good guide and reference book. It may be more expensive than similar publications, but in my opinion if you're going to buy one book on this subject, this is the one!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very informative, interesting read, 10 Oct 2009
This review is from: eMarketing eXcellence: Planning and Optimising your Digital Marketing (Emarketing Essentials) (Paperback)
I bought this for the CIM eMarketing Course and I'm glad I did. It got me thinking about how to improve my website and online marketing strategy and has totally inspired me. I have learnt loads from reading it and would definitely recommend this book to others. It contains real life examples which makes it easy to relate to and has lots of relevant useful websites. Very impressed with Chaffey's website too which contains even more information and up-to-date website links.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Everything you need to know, 23 May 2009
This review is from: eMarketing eXcellence: Planning and Optimising your Digital Marketing (Emarketing Essentials) (Paperback)
Good book, it covers all the bases for good emarketing and it doesn't get too technical for those who are not very computer savvy. It was a very practical book for my masters course and I will continue to refer to it when planning campaigns.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

eMarketing eXcellence: Planning and Optimising your Digital Marketing (Emarketing Essentials)
Used & New from: £6.28
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews