Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Principles of Horticulture
I am doing the RHS level 2 Horticulture Course and have recently taken a exam found the book very useful whilst revising. I am 64yrs have an interest in gardening - recently retired and thought I would take this course this book explains and uses information in an helpful way -
Published on 17 April 2009 by Mrs. E. Chapple

versus
7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars principles of horticulture
The pages listed in the index don't correspond to the actual pages. This obviously renders the index useless which is very unhelpful when trying to look up something specific. Not a terribly professionally edited book. The only thing going for it really is that it covers the RHS syllabus.
Published on 8 July 2009 by pinnih


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Principles of Horticulture, 17 April 2009
This review is from: Principles of Horticulture (Paperback)
I am doing the RHS level 2 Horticulture Course and have recently taken a exam found the book very useful whilst revising. I am 64yrs have an interest in gardening - recently retired and thought I would take this course this book explains and uses information in an helpful way -
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An easy read with lots of colour pictures, 14 Dec 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Principles of Horticulture (Paperback)
I just wish all horticulture books for students were like this - lots of colour pictures, and an easy read. It is designed around the new Level Two RHS QCF courses - which only started this year (2010). I am studying the old RHS course at Diploma level - I just wish we had books this good instead of books like Science in the Garden which are scholarly with slabs of text, Latin names and the odd colour photograph. What I do notice in this book is the use of common names where there is one - such as Poinsettia, named after Mr Poinsett, the American Consul who brought it back from Mexico, instead of Euphorbia pulcherrima, its botanical name. It is easier for beginners to understand - there are lots of reasons why Latin names are a good thing. I went round a botanical garden in France and of course I could read the plant names because they were all in Latin. However Latin remains a huge barrier between horticulturalists and botanists and the general public.
So this books is an excellent buy if you are doing the new RHS Level Two course. And it is suitable for the general gardener who wants to know more about the plants in their garden and how they work. Why doesn't a Poinsettia turn red if you keep it alive till next Christmas?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Review, 11 Oct 2011
This review is from: Principles of Horticulture (Paperback)
This is a very good book. I bought this book as I had just started an Horticulture course and I've found it to be of valuable use through my course.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 7000 miles but very prompt, 11 Oct 2011
This review is from: Principles of Horticulture (Paperback)
delivery to singapore almost faster than to u.k, great service arrived in great condition.
great book - highly reccommend to anyone interetsed in horticulture...my 1st copy helped me pass my RHS LEVEL 2 CERTIFICATE
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars RHA Course Study Book, 10 May 2010
By 
L. B. Parfitt (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Principles of Horticulture (Paperback)
I am thinking of doing an RHS course and this book was recommended. It is a very good book and I will use it entensively for the course work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars User Friendly, 30 Oct 2009
By 
J. Michell "book worm" (Manchester) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Principles of Horticulture (Paperback)
A really helpful book - especially to the novice like me. It follows the RHS qualification and is a great support to the teaching. The book layout is great the pictures and colours aid your learning and digestion of the information which is at times complex.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars principles of horticulture, 8 July 2009
This review is from: Principles of Horticulture (Paperback)
The pages listed in the index don't correspond to the actual pages. This obviously renders the index useless which is very unhelpful when trying to look up something specific. Not a terribly professionally edited book. The only thing going for it really is that it covers the RHS syllabus.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good book, 2 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Principles of Horticulture (Paperback)
Good book. Very detailed and informative. Very useful for when on a horticultural course. Or for if you grow stuff
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars ok, 8 May 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Principles of Horticulture (Paperback)
ok, new titles are shown. It is subjects are needed by most horticulturists . I liked it and others liked it too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Packed with information., 5 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Principles of Horticulture (Paperback)
A very thorough text book covering several non-trivial RHS courses. I can see why a new book costs 45, but I was able to get an ex-library copy for 15
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Principles of Horticulture
Principles of Horticulture by K M Bamford (Paperback - 15 Aug 2008)
Used & New from: 22.98
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews