Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Building Construction Handbook
Well on its way to becoming a classic - I hope Elsevier continue to run with this one. I bought my first copy as a student in the late eighties and I still use it. One criticism/suggestion: why is it not possible to get this book in hardback? About to splash out on the latest edition anyway.
Published on 15 Aug. 2006 by D. MacDonald

versus
8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Useful if a little outdated
For design professionals, this book gives some useful information about detail design and construction principles as well as additional information about services and other construction related material.
Some of the information is out of date and the book is far from comprehensive.
However, the information that is in the book is clear and concise giving an...
Published on 15 April 2009 by FilmView


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Building Construction Handbook, 15 Aug. 2006
By 
D. MacDonald (Surrey, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Building Construction Handbook: Incorporating Current Building and Construction Regulations (Paperback)
Well on its way to becoming a classic - I hope Elsevier continue to run with this one. I bought my first copy as a student in the late eighties and I still use it. One criticism/suggestion: why is it not possible to get this book in hardback? About to splash out on the latest edition anyway.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A place required on everyones shelf for this book, 10 Sept. 2006
By 
C. Marriott (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Building Construction Handbook: Incorporating Current Building and Construction Regulations (Paperback)
I found this book very useful to me, and a great handbook for me to keep close by. I wished, I could have had this book in my possession before my first degree, as it would have made life a lot easier, with the scope of the content, and levels of certain details provided. More though, as a comprehensive introduction.

I would recommend this book to anyone who would like to understand and familiarise themselves with the methods and techniques within the construction industry.I use the book as a guide and reference for my current role of project management.

The book however, does also present the reader with mathematical equations, associated with the structural mechanics of design. Which aren't quite complete, in some cases, which may confuse! These are not provided to educate the reader in engineering math, but merely I would expect to illustrate the reasoning behind it. However, I would have liked to have seen the inclusion of some fully detailed worked examples to complement the relevant topics throughout, but nevertheless, the book is still excellent and is very good value.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Useful if a little outdated, 15 April 2009
This review is from: Building Construction Handbook: Incorporating Current Building and Construction Regulations (Paperback)
For design professionals, this book gives some useful information about detail design and construction principles as well as additional information about services and other construction related material.
Some of the information is out of date and the book is far from comprehensive.
However, the information that is in the book is clear and concise giving an insight into how domestic buildings are built and what to consider when designing them
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good updated edition of this book., 11 July 2009
This review is from: Building Construction Handbook: Incorporating Current Building and Construction Regulations (Paperback)
This book was referred to by my lecturers at building college as 'The Builders Bible'. Whilst it remains a poor guide to the Christian faith, it is an excellent reference book for the fundamentals of building construction.
It retains its quaint descriptions of site establishment that, although outdated, address the considerations that should be taken.
I bought this version to update the early 90's copy I have, to pick up on more modern construction details. There is now a little information on timber frame etc but not in a great deal of depth. Having said that, the book generally devotes no more than one or two pages to each subject, which is why it can cover the breadth of subjects.

If you are on a construction-related degree/HND, I would recommend you buy this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Construction Handbook, 29 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Building Construction Handbook: Incorporating Current Building and Construction Regulations (Paperback)
Purchased for my husband who was working in the construction industry at the time. Value for money and covered the essentials that he needed to know. Would recommend supplier
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great book, 18 Feb. 2014
By 
P. Jackson (Lowestoft UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Building Construction Handbook: Incorporating Current Building and Construction Regulations (Paperback)
just what I needed just in case the oil and gas business goes t*ts up. This gives me all the info I need if I have to go into civils
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent resource, 24 Feb. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Building Construction Handbook: Incorporating Current Building and Construction Regulations (Paperback)
Bought this for my BTEC construction course as recommended by my tutors.

Not recommended however for higher/degree level courses.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars pleased with this one, 30 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Building Construction Handbook: Incorporating Current Building and Construction Regulations (Paperback)
arrived this morning in good condition bought it for a friend who I am sure will be as pleased as i am
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars, 1 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Building Construction Handbook: Incorporating Current Building and Construction Regulations (Paperback)
Delivered as described on amazon good value.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 18 Feb. 2015
By 
J. Nicholson "juannic" (Isle of Wight) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Building Construction Handbook: Incorporating Current Building and Construction Regulations (Paperback)
good reference, good service
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Building Construction Handbook: Incorporating Current Building and Construction Regulations
Building Construction Handbook: Incorporating Current Building and Construction Regulations by Roger Greeno BA(Hons.) FCIOB FIPHE FRSA (Paperback - 14 Mar. 2006)
Used & New from: £4.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews