Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


29 of 29 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Authors Review
I thought it may be useful to write a few words why I put together this reference book and comment on various other reviews that are on the Internet. The book came about as heating controls developed from the 1970's from simple gravity systems to the more complicated fully pumped systems.From the time that I started wiring heating controls I gathered as much information...
Published on 18 Aug 2007 by Mr. R. Ward

versus
7 of 12 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Disappointed
I bought this book thinking that it would supply information on wiring central heating systems but it is full of diagrams of wiring terminals of different types of boilers and time switches, it doesn't give any kind of instruction on how to connect these to a heating system,you need to be a qualified heating engineer to make any sense of the diagrams in the book.
Published on 30 Jun 2008 by Mike


Most Helpful First | Newest First

29 of 29 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Authors Review, 18 Aug 2007
By 
Mr. R. Ward (Surrey, England, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Domestic Central Heating Wiring Systems and Controls (Hardcover)
I thought it may be useful to write a few words why I put together this reference book and comment on various other reviews that are on the Internet. The book came about as heating controls developed from the 1970's from simple gravity systems to the more complicated fully pumped systems.From the time that I started wiring heating controls I gathered as much information as possible until I had an unmanageable amount, even having data that the manufacturers no longer held. I spent a lot of time photocopying the critical details including diagrams into loose-leaf folders for myself and other electricians that I employed from time to time. During the mid 1990's and with computers becoming commonplace I decided to produce a resource that all electricians and central heating engineers would find useful. It is aimed at qualified tradesman and not the DIY enthusiast. During my working career the book and its loose-leaf predecessor was in constant use and it is my firm belief that the book pays for itself after just a few referrals. Some reviewers have viewed the book as if it is a'Harry Potter' story whereas it is a reference book that will require consulting now and again much like an A-Z road atlas. There was nothing worse than turning up at a job for a programmer, motorized valve or boiler change late in the day to find that the customer didn't have the original installation instructions and neither did I. The book meant that the terminal and wiring data was readily available and time did not have to be wasted trying to trace the existing wiring or even worse, rewire the system. Hundreds of hours were saved due to having this resource to hand. The reason that I have given it 4 stars and not 5 is because it is virtually impossible to capture every item of information; however very little is omitted and I am confident that the book will be as useful for other tradesman as it was for me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Domestic Central Heating Wiring Systems and Controls, 11 Dec 2008
This review is from: Domestic Central Heating Wiring Systems and Controls (Hardcover)
I have owned this book for a couple of years now. This book is aimed at electricians or heating engineers, and is an excellent reference. It is not intended for DIYers looking to be shown how to wire up a central heating system.
The book is great for cross referencing controllers, valves, stats, with some good diagrams showing various heating wiring systems.
This book comes with me on every heating control job, and has paid for itself many times over!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 28 Oct 2009
By 
Mjb Electrical (u.k) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Domestic Central Heating Wiring Systems and Controls (Hardcover)
If your an electrician or heating engineer then this book is ideal, it gives a very large comprehensive list of manufacturers old and new wiring connections and wiring diagrams, there are no pretty pictures or basic guides on how to wire up a central heating system so if your not used to wiring diagrams then i would save your money and dont buy..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, 27 Feb 2014
By 
Escape "Apple mad" (Las Vegas NV) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Domestic Central Heating Wiring Systems and Controls (Hardcover)
Covers loads of makes in easy to follow

have a look at Mr Combi Wiring that's in colour much better
[...]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Very detailed - only for heating engineers!, 14 Mar 2012
This review is from: Domestic Central Heating Wiring Systems and Controls (Hardcover)
Hi this does what it says on the can! Perfect for heating engineers to keep in the van. Helps for repairs or fault diagnosis etc.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Domestic Central Heating wiring and controls, 16 Jan 2012
This review is from: Domestic Central Heating Wiring Systems and Controls (Hardcover)
A terrific book covering all the major boiler controls and wiring charts, A great help to fault find on new and the older systems, would recommend just to keep in you tool box.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars very pleased, 21 Oct 2011
This review is from: Domestic Central Heating Wiring Systems and Controls (Hardcover)
Very pleased with this book, made a great gift for my partner who takes it everywhere with him.Great service throughout.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars everything you need to know about c/heating systems, 8 Nov 2009
By 
Mr. M. LEA - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Domestic Central Heating Wiring Systems and Controls (Hardcover)
Excellent reference book to refer to, everything you need to know re: central heating and control systems. Worth the money!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 12 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Disappointed, 30 Jun 2008
By 
Mike (Wales, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Domestic Central Heating Wiring Systems and Controls (Hardcover)
I bought this book thinking that it would supply information on wiring central heating systems but it is full of diagrams of wiring terminals of different types of boilers and time switches, it doesn't give any kind of instruction on how to connect these to a heating system,you need to be a qualified heating engineer to make any sense of the diagrams in the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 9 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Must have good electrical knowledge, 5 Feb 2008
By 
Mr. S. Reynolds (U.K) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Domestic Central Heating Wiring Systems and Controls (Hardcover)
This book is not for the faint hearted. It is an indepth book to help build on existing knowledge. If you are in the trade then it is not for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Domestic Central Heating Wiring Systems and Controls
Domestic Central Heating Wiring Systems and Controls by Ray Ward (Hardcover - 11 April 2005)
£41.41
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews