Customer Reviews


23 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


100 of 103 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A path through the swamp
This book provides a good overview of a vast subject area and is clearly aimed at the more ambitious DIYer. Although some basic knowledge of electrical principles is assumed the content is practical and sensible; there are plenty of clear diagrams, and all the major issues are covered from high-level planning through to low-level installation details. This is a book that...
Published on 21 Jan 2004 by Liam

versus
43 of 43 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Technical Handbook
Ideal if you are doing some major rewiring and you want to check you are doing it properly and complying with building regs. The explanation of circuit breakers, for example, is thorough and you get a clear idea of the different types and how they should be used.
I would only buy this as companion to something like "The Which Book of Wiring and Lighting". If I only...
Published on 26 July 2005 by Goldgraham


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

43 of 43 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Technical Handbook, 26 July 2005
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Electric Wiring: Domestic (Paperback)
Ideal if you are doing some major rewiring and you want to check you are doing it properly and complying with building regs. The explanation of circuit breakers, for example, is thorough and you get a clear idea of the different types and how they should be used.
I would only buy this as companion to something like "The Which Book of Wiring and Lighting". If I only had a straightforward bit of wiring to do, like some new lights, the latter book is far more accessible.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


30 of 30 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Electric Wiring : Domestic, 14 Aug 2006
By 
DG Powell "DG Powell" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Electric Wiring: Domestic (Paperback)
This book is ideal for modifications to current installations where someone already has some appreciation of what is required, i.e. is not a complete novice. The number of typographical errors consign this book to be used for cursory reference and not to be used a basic reference - and even then do not rely upon the figures stated. The next re-print must remove these errors as a top priorty.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


100 of 103 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A path through the swamp, 21 Jan 2004
This review is from: Electric Wiring: Domestic (Paperback)
This book provides a good overview of a vast subject area and is clearly aimed at the more ambitious DIYer. Although some basic knowledge of electrical principles is assumed the content is practical and sensible; there are plenty of clear diagrams, and all the major issues are covered from high-level planning through to low-level installation details. This is a book that boils the complex IEE regs down to the salient points for a straightforward domestic installation. My only criticisms would be that the prose is sometimes a little vague and there are some annoying typos.
Whilst I will still need to seek further advice in some more complex areas, at least now I’ll know what questions to ask, and will hopefully understand the replies! Overall this book is a solid starting point if you’re considering rewiring your house, which is exactly what I wanted.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not for non physicists, 4 Oct 2007
This review is from: Electric Wiring: Domestic (Paperback)
If you are after clear and concise explanations as to how to wire a house, I would strongly suggest that you DO NOT buy this book. If, however, you have a degree in physics and have an appetite for mathematical equations, which are not supported by a clear narrative, then this book may be of interest to you. It's almost as though the author is trying to impress. Having knowledge is one thing but this book demonstrates that having the ability to impart it is quite another.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Good Clear Book, 20 Oct 1999
By 
A. Pilkington (Devon, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This book is good for anyone who needs to know more about wiring. As a builder I knew the basics, but this book shows more complicated and in depth elements of electrical work. Two critisms are: The diagrams are not as clear as they could have been, but they serve their purpose, and a little more on fault finding and testing proceedures would have been appreciated. Generaly, an excellent book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 30 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars An unnecessary book, 13 April 2007
By 
Scott Marshall (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Electric Wiring: Domestic (Paperback)
I bought this book and "16th Edition IEE Wiring Regulations: Explained & Illustrated" by the same author. The two books are very similar in size and content; indeed, in places entire sections are identical. However, the "16th Edition..." book is far superior. "Electric Wiring: Domestic" is an overview that omits a lot of practical detail and underlying rationale. Don't buy this book, buy the excellent "16th Edition..." book instead.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Domestic wiring, 2 April 2009
By 
Mr. C. Tovey (Birmingham) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Brians work is well kn own in the electrical education industry and his books are often recommended to students on electrical courses.
This new title that conforms to the 17th is an ideal compliment to other full course text books.
The trouble with a lot of Brian's work is that it is repeated in many of his titles, this book is no exception.
When students purchase text books they are looking for new information, so when they buy, say 5 of these new pocket books they are not going to be pleased that the same written text is in most of them.
Students also buy books to try and work through different examples but in these books the worked examples are the same.
Some of the graphics are good but equally some are a bit amateurish.
Ok as a one off but not if you are purchasing other titles by the same author.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An essential book for any electrician!, 8 Oct 2009
By 
Having spent the last week reading this book, I can honestly say that it is the most helpful book I have purchased to date!
Just as the title suggests, it covers domestic wiring, which is what I intend to do for a living next year.
The information is very clear, easy to follow, and full of practical advice!
If your sick of trying to read your way though the IEE 17th edition regulations for the countless time, get this, it will make a big difference!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential if doing domestic wiring, 10 Mar 2010
By 
Retep (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This is a essential guide and has been updated to include the new Part P building regulations covering domestic wriring. Tells you what you can do without being a Part P electrician and what you cannot do.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 32 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not as comprehensive as previous editions, 30 Oct 2000
By A Customer
Not as comprehensive as previous editions - most, if not all the extracts from the IEE tables have been stripped out, there are lots of typos and some technical errors.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Electric Wiring: Domestic
Electric Wiring: Domestic by Brian Scaddan IEng; MIIE (elec) (Paperback - 9 Jun 2003)
Used & New from: 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews