Customer Reviews


36 Reviews
5 star:
 (27)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


34 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Essential for Pocket or Toolbox
.
If you are in any way involved in construction on a domestic scale, the Architect's Pocket Book is a must.
It evolved from a set of notes used by the author, collating the diverse practical information regularly required in her work as an architect. So many friends requested copies that she ditched the photocopier in favour of a publishing deal, and thank...
Published on 23 Aug 2004 by Maximus

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great, but light on Scottish information...
This is a fantastic pocket reference book; invaluable for the self-builder, architect or other building industry professional. The only problem with it is that it cites England-only regulations for planning & building standards and does not explain clearly that Scotland, where I live and work, has totally a totally seperate building system. Still, a must nonetheless!
Published on 7 Jun 2009 by Dàibhidh


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

34 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Essential for Pocket or Toolbox, 23 Aug 2004
By 
Maximus (Bradford on Avon) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Architect's Pocket Book (Paperback)
.
If you are in any way involved in construction on a domestic scale, the Architect's Pocket Book is a must.
It evolved from a set of notes used by the author, collating the diverse practical information regularly required in her work as an architect. So many friends requested copies that she ditched the photocopier in favour of a publishing deal, and thank heaven she did! Nowhere else can you find concise notes that cover the whole spectrum of information needed for smaller projects.
The book is divided into six sections, namely General Information, Planning, Structures, Services, Building Elements and Materials. There is also an appendix containing addresses, a list of sources and an index followed by a few pages for your own scribbles. Within the sections you find a wealth of information, tables and diagrams that cover such useful topics as drawing conventions, anthropometric data, weight of materials, safe loads on subsoils, concrete mixes, lintel sizes, beam formulae, heat loss, timber stress grade tables, types of nails, identifying wood boring beetles, plasterboard dimensions and much, much more.
The book measures 185mm x 125mm x 17mm thick and has 305 pages. Whether you are an architect, developer, student, interior designer, builder, or DIY enthusiast, this book will be relevant and of great practical use to you. My copy is a trusted and well thumbed friend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A book to literally be kept in the pocket, 29 May 2008
This review is from: Architect's Pocket Book (Paperback)
Being an architecture student I keep this book with me whenever I am working on projects, be it at work or at university. It is unbelievable how much information Baden-Powell has managed to cram into this tiny book. Among others, some of the topics covered in the book are common furniture sizes, staircases, brick types, soil, wheelchair user space requirements and even drainage, heating and lightbulbs! This book really is a MUST if you are in the architectural field and even if you aren't this book is useful for anyone doing any kind of construction, design or engineering. I would not have survived my degree without this book since it has lots of very useful, "must-know" information which may take ages to find!

An excellent book, you won't be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply Indispensible, 4 Oct 1999
This little gem is essential for any architect, builder, surveyor, engineer, student, in fact anyone connected with the building industry. Information is clearly presented in a no-nonsense style. The well illutrated diagrams help the building regs. appear almost logical...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great, but light on Scottish information..., 7 Jun 2009
By 
This is a fantastic pocket reference book; invaluable for the self-builder, architect or other building industry professional. The only problem with it is that it cites England-only regulations for planning & building standards and does not explain clearly that Scotland, where I live and work, has totally a totally seperate building system. Still, a must nonetheless!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Useful aide memoir, 15 April 2009
Helpful, easy to use reference guide that I don't go to site without.
Principally for domestic buildings, the book has basic info on the Planning system and design data, Structural design data, Services, Common domestic Building Elements and Materials.
Whilst the Planning, Building Regulations and CDM sections are based on the regulatory structure as it was when the book was published and a number of the regulations have changed since, the reference to what the information is based on, found at the end of each section, is a perfect starting point for the lay reader to find out more.
I wait in anticipation for an updated version.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Invaluable..., 23 Oct 2008
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Received the book yesterday and my husband (who's an architect), hasn't been able to put it down. He thinks it's brilliant, informative and concise, he's using it now for work he's doing. Would recommend it to any student or Architect who needs reference in an easy to read format.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Arch student? Get it!, 11 Dec 2003
This review is from: Architect's Pocket Book (Paperback)
Almost as essential as your drawing pen, no architecture student should be without this. Easy to use and just the right level of depth for you to scale and detail domestic-scale buildings with ease.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Students need this!, 20 April 2004
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Architect's Pocket Book (Paperback)
Not just useful for architecture, i am an interior design student at uni.Its not all about decorating you know and I wouldnt have survived my1styear without the help of this book. Especially because I havent come froman architectural background I did find it hard but this book helped loadz!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars must have, 18 April 2010
By 
L. Mason "i must have books!" (Glasgow, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This book is a must have for anyone working in the architectural field. It's a pocket of knowledge that almost always has what you're looking for. In the office its probably one of the most borrowed and passed about books there is! from stairs, to door sizes etc etc. a handy wee guide.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Speedy Delivery, Great Product, 19 Jan 2010
By 
A. Isaaks "Adam" (Huntingdon, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Great all rounder. Holds lots of useful information that every architect should keep on them for those little queries. Architect student like me? Even BETTER! A must have when learning about building regs. and so much more! 100% recommended for the price as well
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Architect's Pocket Book
Architect's Pocket Book by Charlotte Baden-Powell (Paperback - 23 April 2001)
Used & New from: £1.48
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews