Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen with Prime Learn more Shop Men's Shop Women's

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars12
4.3 out of 5 stars
5 star
6
4 star
3
3 star
3
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£44.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 12 February 2004
I'm an undergrad studying chemistry and this book is one of the most important books out there. Anyone who does a serious course will be fairly lost without it.
I personally find it better than books like 'Cotton and Wilkinson' as the layout is better and it often goes further. Some sections may be a bit short but there's other books for those.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 December 2011
I purchased this textbook as a first year undergraduate Chemistry student, when I naively thought that one had to buy all the books on the university's book list. However, I wish I had saved my money, as over the course of a 4 years Masters degree I only used this book on a handful of occasions. Don't get me wrong, this is an excellent reference book if you want to check, for example conditions for a particular reaction, but do not be fooled into thinking this a good textbook for inorganic chemistry - it is not. Perhaps, it depends on how heavily your course is weighed to inorganic chemistry, mine wasn't particularly, with more of an emphasis on organic and physical chemistry. One section I do remember it being particularly useful for was boron chemistry, in particular that of boranes and carboranes - however, this is the only instance I can think of where I actually used this book as a textbook and not just as a fact checker. For all first year undergraduate chemistry students, I would advise putting off buying this book until you have checked if your university library has it first, and only if you are going to be using it with any regularity perhaps go ahead and buy it. Despite my low rating, I do actually think this is a good book and I am in two minds whether to sell mine now having completed my degree two years ago. Although it wasn't useful for my course, I can see it coming in handy in the future for reference, but certainly not as essential as say Clayden's Organic Chemistry or Atkins' Physical Chemistry for a chemist's own personal library.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 March 2011
A vital reference for those needing the reliability and detail you don't find on wikipedia, invaluable as a 2nd year undergraduate chemistry text book and highly useful for those needing to check their facts while teaching chemistry, especially at A level and above.
The book itself is well organised, the information within is presented in a clear accessible manner. It is easy to find relevant information on an enormous range of compounds, with useful asides to give contextual information relating to industrial processes, biochemistry, and some newer developments in nanotechnology!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 March 2008
Greenwood and Earnshaw provides very useful and thorough information on chemical reactivity. It will help you find those odd reactions and structures of compounds that are apparently ambiguous. A word of warning to an undergrad student is that this book is not a comprehensive explanation of chemical concepts and models. You won't find thorough explanations of theories in this book and in certain instances assumes you know a little about them. For a book of that nature I recommend Housecroft and Sharpe or even Huheey, Keiter and Keiter if you can find it in a Library (it's quite old now but the explanations are great). What the book provides are useful trends in reactivity and more importantly specific reactions. The book is well organised with and large index so tracing down that rogue compound isn't impossible. Even if you think you can't find a particular compound the chapters focus on individual groups (or element in the case of Boron) so you're never more than a few pages away from finding it. I know post grad and post Doc chemists that still refer to this text on odd occasions. This will be helpful for your entire study as a reference book. The book misses out on a 5 rating as in some rare cases when you finally do track that compound down, the information you find can be somewhat insufficient.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 January 2013
There can be no doubt that this is a splendid reference book for post grad level chemists needing to refresh their knowledge of, for example, less common elements. However the progress of research since the last revision date of my copy (1998) meant that in my search for "graphene" I could only find information on the fullerenes. With re-prints actioned almost every year since this cannot have been seen to much of a disadvantage to many readers. However the time must be fast approaching when the authors/publishers will find it necessary to offer electronic up-dates.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 March 2006
This book is a must when it comes to writing up any area involving inorganic chemistry. Probably not the best "single source" for undergraduates, but for graduate students and active researchers an essential tool. Famous, reads slightly like a list of data more than a textnbook, but that makes use as a reference work much easier. Highly recommended to serious chemists everwhere.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 November 2000
This book is a must for any chemistry undergraduate student. It has a useful range of knowledge contained within its pages and is a very helpful study aid.
0Comment|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 February 2014
This book is very comprehensive giving you all the information you need for any inorganic chemistry course! Takes into account the production of all elements and the most important compounds.

A must buy for any chemist!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 April 2016
Truely a bible of properties and compounds of elements. Theoretical aspect is usually treated with minimum attentation
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 October 2015
Images have very poor quality. Some of them are unuseful and don't invite to try to understand it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£47.49

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)