Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars First in the series
This is the first book in the Wycliffe series and the first one I have read though I can remember watching the television series many years ago. Wycliffe himself is an interesting character - very laid back and not keen on paper work. This is an interesting case. A woman with a mysterious past and an amoral present is found dead in a house she rents in a small Cornish...
Published on 30 Sep 2011 by Damaskcat

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good light reading
Like to load my Kindle when going away and the Wycliffe stories are easy to read and provide a good way to spend a few hours whilst sitting by the pool! The background detail is always worth a second read and Mr Burley certainly knew his Cornish countryside and made tremendous use of it in his stories.
Published 21 months ago by Colin Smith


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars First in the series, 30 Sep 2011
By 
Damaskcat (UK) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is the first book in the Wycliffe series and the first one I have read though I can remember watching the television series many years ago. Wycliffe himself is an interesting character - very laid back and not keen on paper work. This is an interesting case. A woman with a mysterious past and an amoral present is found dead in a house she rents in a small Cornish village.

Many suspects present themselves to Wycliffe's calm and interested gaze and many people have secrets they really want to keep hidden both from the police and from their nearest and dearest.

When Wycliffe and his team start digging into the past they find that the victim's husband died in mysterious circumstances and one of her lovers almost died in a suspect road accident which has left him badly scarred. I liked the writing and the way the claustrophobic atmosphere of the small community is evoked. The characters and their motivations are well drawn and believable.

If you prefer your crime without graphic violence and bad language then give this series a try. This is crime writing in the classic mould and I recommend it to anyone who enjoys reading such authors as Patricia Wentworth, Georgette Heyer, Gladys Mitchell and Margery Allingham.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 3 Toed Pussy marks an era, 3 Dec 2010
By 
P. Davies - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
The story clips along with twists and turns as you'd expect. In my mind I have the TV Wycliffe acting out the scenes but the original is a more awkward character and naturally of the era in which the book was written. Even the title is a play on words and a reminder of the language of the era.

A good read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good formula, 22 July 2013
By 
D. Munnings (Canterbury) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Wycliffe and the west country, a gentle wander through genteel suspects and laid-back policeman. The sort of book I like to read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars gift, 8 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Bought as gift for relative, fan of the television series will enjoy the books. good price and good service, thanks
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good light reading, 26 Mar 2013
By 
Colin Smith (High Wycombe, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Like to load my Kindle when going away and the Wycliffe stories are easy to read and provide a good way to spend a few hours whilst sitting by the pool! The background detail is always worth a second read and Mr Burley certainly knew his Cornish countryside and made tremendous use of it in his stories.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Nice dialogue and good descriptions but some threads of the ..., 8 Dec 2014
By 
Ginny (Martha's Vineyard) - See all my reviews
Complex plot with a lot of psychological overtones which can be somewhat confusing considering the various characters, most of whom have something to hide. Nice dialogue and good descriptions but some threads of the plot seem to either meander along or just piddle out. Wycliffe is not always an admirable, or even pleasant figure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars, 25 Nov 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I prefer the TV adaptations
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 4 Nov 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Good price. Good delivery.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars poor story, 18 Jan 2014
By 
Mrs. M. Phillips "legwarmers" (Leeds England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
It was so dreadful that I only read a couple of chapters then just couldn't be bothered and donated the book to a charity shop
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 24 Nov 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
good value
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Wycliffe and the Three-Toed Pussy
Wycliffe and the Three-Toed Pussy by W. J. Burley (Hardcover - 1 July 1996)
Used & New from: £0.91
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews