Customer Reviews


131 Reviews
5 star:
 (103)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (11)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


20 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An interesting contrast
It is Thanksgiving time in New York and Eve Dallas is being coerced into spending time with her extended family and friends to celebrate the season. She is feeling very thankful for a number of things and some good and happy things happen to her in the course of this novel which she deserves but doesn't always appreciate. Jerry Reinhold on the other hand is thankful for...
Published 13 months ago by Anne

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Must-read for J. D. Robb fans, for all others I suggest to read some of the other books from the series
"Thankless in Death" by J. D. Robb is another thriller in author's "In Death" series of books.

This time the book is about 26 years old Jerald Reinhold who killed both of his parents and escaped with lot of stolen cash and things that can be sold.
But it seems that these two killings weren't enough for him because he obviously enjoys...
Published 7 months ago by Denis Vukosav


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

20 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An interesting contrast, 17 Sep 2013
By 
Anne (Sheffield, Yorkshire) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
It is Thanksgiving time in New York and Eve Dallas is being coerced into spending time with her extended family and friends to celebrate the season. She is feeling very thankful for a number of things and some good and happy things happen to her in the course of this novel which she deserves but doesn't always appreciate. Jerry Reinhold on the other hand is thankful for nothing. He holds serious grudges and believes that people have been stopping him for getting everything he wants and deserves in life. This Thanksgiving he will hit back at them.

There are two narratives in this novel and the author splits the book more or less equally between them giving equal time to the thankful and the thankless. It is an effective technique as we move from Jerry and his crimes to the police officers trying to stop him. Everyone knows that Jerry is the murderer here but the police seem always to be one step behind him. Despite it being the holiday season Eve and her colleagues are going to put all their time and energy into catching him.

This is an effective story and rather self contained despite it being number 37 in a series. I think that if you hadn't read any of the others or only a few of them you would easily be able to follow the plot. If you are a fan of these stories you will be pleased to meet many familiar characters, including quite a few who reappear from previous books, but the author has not indulged herself in trying to make sure that all of them make an appearance in this story - some previous novels gave the impression of being be stuffed full of minor characters to the detriment of the story-telling.

This is a smooth and easy read. The tension builds up as Jerry traps and takes yet another victim and we are not sure if the police will get there in time or not or who he will target next. The investigation makes sense and the way in which he is tracked is realistically because of police work and not because of some sudden burst of intuition. There is the usual light humour and the ongoing romance between Roarke and Eve but the crime plays the largest part in this book.

I have read all the other JD Robb novels and enjoyed them. I did find some elements of the story here to be familiar but that is probably inevitable. The way that the story is told, in giving a large amount of time to the criminal's viewpoint, is new and effective. The book poses the question - how could someone from a normal upbringing suddenly behave this way ? It doesn't answer it, but it does provoke some thought. The author does have a moral viewpoint about being grateful for what you have and by the end she is driving it home a little too forcefully - the epilogue was very nearly too sentimental but just managed to keep on the right side of that line.

JD Robb has created an excellent detective figure in Eve Dallas and we have seen that character grow over the books in this series. Here, she is in total control of herself and her investigation (no more nightmares although some rather odd dreams). She has accepted herself for what she is and is even beginning to accept and understand those who love her. This is excellent storytelling and a definite return to form for JD as this is one of the strongest novels she has written recently. Very enjoyable and rewarding reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Must-read for J. D. Robb fans, for all others I suggest to read some of the other books from the series, 4 Mar 2014
By 
Denis Vukosav - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Thankless in Death: 37 (Paperback)
"Thankless in Death" by J. D. Robb is another thriller in author's "In Death" series of books.

This time the book is about 26 years old Jerald Reinhold who killed both of his parents and escaped with lot of stolen cash and things that can be sold.
But it seems that these two killings weren't enough for him because he obviously enjoys torturing and killing people that he held responsible for experienced disregarding and insults.

Detective Lieutenant Eve Dallas was put on the case, and although she knows who is the killer she must figure out how to catch the killer, to understand the way he thinks in order to know where his next hit will be. But all that time, the number of victims is increasing...

This book is a bit different from previous installments of "In Death" series. The major difference is due to the fact that reader from the start will know who is the killer, the only problem being how to catch him without any more casualties. Also the book is a bit thicker although it's still page-turner that is easy to read.

If you love thriller books and never read any of J. D. Robb books you should know that these books are the true representatives of the thriller genre.
The reader inside will find all necessary ingredients that make the book exciting - violent crimes, mystery, dark memories from the past, romance, sex...

But although I enjoyed J. D. Robb books earlier, this one was slightly less exciting than the previous ones.
I'm not sure what the whole reason is, but it seems that all or most of it became a routine, that there is no so much passion and excitement in author's writing like there was before.
Mostly that can be seen in the books' characters that are start repeating in each following book, changing their names only.
Maybe it would be good for author to take some time between writing the next book, to be able to deliver it at the level of quality that will match the first books in a series.

Nevertheless, it's still the must-read for J. D. Robb fans that they will certainly enjoy.
For all others thriller lovers, I suggest you to first read some of the other books from the series, because they'll provide a bit more excitement.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars First one in series I've given up on!, 21 Dec 2013
This review is from: Thankless in Death: 37 (Hardcover)
I kept going with this book, hoping it would improve. I've read the whole series & a couple have been a tad weak but I hated the way this one was written.
I only managed to get half way through & was so revolted I gave up! As another reviewer mentioned, not enough humour & friendship between Eve's "gang" & personal life to offset the nastiness of the murderer. I shan't describe the plot line as most reviewers have already done enough of that.
I'd be annoyed if I'd paid full price is all I can say! I'm hoping the next one is back to JD's/Nora's usual top form, I may wait until I can get it from the library tbh in case she's lost her touch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars not enough interaction with her friends., 11 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I did enjoy the book but missed Eve's interaction with some of her old friends, ie Mcnab, Charles ,Mavis. and Dr Mira.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Thankless in Death, 7 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I usually love reading about Dallas and Rourke but in this edition it took me a while to relate to the characters as it felt as if I was reading a book written by a different author. Some of the terminology just didn't ring true with the characters I know and love. It was not until a good way into the book that I started to enjoy them again. Please go back to the way you usually mode of writing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars For me a first don't like for Robb, 3 Oct 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I know it's the "in death" series but this was awful. Some thing about it that really turned your stomach and there was very little lightness at all in the book. As I say I love Nora's books but this one will be deleted from my reader.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars It feels a bit like just going through the motions for the most part, 9 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Thankless in Death: 37 (Paperback)
A particularly nasty killer, with not much advancement of Eve’s private life to balance. Sure, the Oirish family are over for Thanksgiving, but some other inclusions feel almost cursory, as when Dallas calls ex-LC Charles for some information, but then never uses it. It feels a bit like just going through the motions for the most part. However, I did appreciate Dallas’ decision about Whitney’s offer, and then Roarke’s reaction to her decision.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very violent, 24 Sep 2013
By 
LEP "LEP" (England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Thankless in Death: 37 (Hardcover)
I think that this novel is the most in-your-face gory violent of all those in this series. You are up-close and personal to the violence as it is happening, which is not the same as in the others, where you largely come to it after the scene, as does Eve.

Spoilt son, who always blames others for anything wrong in his life, goes on the rampage and realises that violently killing people that he personally knows gives him a buzz he has never know before. This is contrasted with Eve nervously agreeing to host a Thanksgiving dinner for Roarke's Irish family and his and her friends. For once she is enjoying not having any cases and the time to catch up on paperwork before the holiday. However, two violently killed bodies soon put paid to that. Then there is a third and Eve and Co., desparatly need to guess who is going to be the next on Jerry's list. They know who the killer is, even why, they just need to second guess him as to whom he is going to go for next.

Enjoyable, as all this series. However, you do need a strong stomach for this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars a good read, 11 July 2014
By 
Junelh "PC Game Addict" (Knaresborough, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have read all Nora's (J D Robb) in this series and love how friends, family and Colleagues of Dallas and Roarke are growing and expanding with each book, I would love it if it turned out that Dallas is actually Mira's child who was abducted as a baby!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars good, 9 July 2014
This review is from: Thankless in Death: 37 (Paperback)
Brought for a mate
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Thankless in Death: 37
Thankless in Death: 37 by J. D. Robb (Paperback - 4 Mar 2014)
£8.09
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews