Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not one but ten ways to be a more successful manager
Having read a few of Richard Koch's other books on management, including his bestseller the 80/20 Principle, I was, like some of the other reviewers here, a little sceptical about what Richard could add to the subject. However, what Richard does in a refreshing and practical way is to briefly recap on the 80/20 Principle and then give you 10 uncomplicated and fun ways to...
Published 8 months ago by Ronnie Graham

versus
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not very good. One idea stretched too far.
Don't buy this book. The amount of duplication is horrendous. It's a waste of money.

I can summarise the book for you right here:

1. You can't achieve great things on your own. You will need to work with other people. Work at building and maintaining relationships with others. Make use of their skills knowledge and experience as well as your own. If...
Published 4 months ago by AJC.


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not one but ten ways to be a more successful manager, 8 Aug 2013
This review is from: The 80/20 Manager: Ten ways to become a great leader (Paperback)
Having read a few of Richard Koch's other books on management, including his bestseller the 80/20 Principle, I was, like some of the other reviewers here, a little sceptical about what Richard could add to the subject. However, what Richard does in a refreshing and practical way is to briefly recap on the 80/20 Principle and then give you 10 uncomplicated and fun ways to use the Principle in your every day life as a manager.

By the way don't be put off by the word "manager" it is used in its broadest sense by the author and applies to almost all lines of work that you can think of. There is an element of management in everything we do.

Peppered with stories and real life examples I highly recommend this book for anyone looking to achieve more out of their work without simply working longer hours. In fact, as Richard will tell you, longer hours in the office is not the answer!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Work smarter, not harder! A MUST READ for any manager!, 2 May 2013
By 
Mr. J. Finch (Cotswolds, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The 80/20 Manager: Ten ways to become a great leader (Paperback)
Richard highlights the colossal amount of time and effort wasted on countless aspects of traditional day to day management activities then applies his tried and tested 80/20 thinking to illustrate how much more can be achieved by focusing on a number of key managerial attributes that, once embraced, deliver far more with less effort.

Ask yourself, "What big goal can I achieve with relatively little effort? Where can I get the best results in the least time and with the least stress?"

As with his previous books, this is a fantastic, real life, `hands-on' guide that leaves you fired up to get out there and start putting it into practice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simple ways to become an extraordinary manager, 2 May 2013
This review is from: The 80/20 Manager: Ten ways to become a great leader (Paperback)
Koch takes his insightful and entertaining 80/20 thesis into the world of everyday management. His usual engaging style is to the fore and this book provides a practical guide for all managers about how to be more successful, with less effort. Compelling, useful stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Worthwhile Read, 22 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The 80/20 Manager: Ten ways to become a great leader (Paperback)
A good read, thanks Richard. Perhaps could have been put into '8 ways to become a better manager' but I suppose 10 is a more catchy selling point.

Overall a very good read and would highly recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Powerful contrarian ideas, 3 Jun 2013
By 
T. Butler-Bowdon (Oxford, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The 80/20 Manager: Ten ways to become a great leader (Paperback)
You might know Richard Koch from The 80/20 Principle (which I included in 50 Self-help Classics: 50 Inspirational Books to Transform Your Life from Timeless Sages to Contemporary Gurus). Koch worked for several years with Boston Consulting Group and set up his own management consultancy, then made wise bets in (then) small companies like Betfair to build a fortune. Though on the surface a management book, his new one is really about how an individual should go about building a career by taking advantage of one of nature's laws: that 80 per cent of the outputs of anything tends to come from only 20 per cent of the inputs. In our daily work, for instance, 80 per cent of our productivity comes from only 20 per cent of our time. The rest of the day we can afford to be lazy! Some of Koch's points:

* Laziness is the road to progress, but only when it is allied to intelligent thought and high ambition.
* Lazy, intelligent managers make the best bosses and CEOs.
* Laziness enforces selectivity, and success requires selectivity. We achieve most when we have the time and leisure to focus on the big breaks and big decisions.
* All successful business careers flow from a few critical decisions, made infrequently.

I've always favoured hard work to get anywhere, but you can actually work too hard. Now I have a day off a week where I do absolutely no work and don't even open an email or go online. These 'sabbaths' have a big effect on my productivity the rest of the week, and give me my most valuable ideas. If this is 'laziness' then I highly recommend it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A book that praises laziness, 10 May 2013
This review is from: The 80/20 Manager: Ten ways to become a great leader (Paperback)
Yes, one of Richard Koch's ten ways to be successful is to be lazier. It sounds crazy but he gives lots of examples and it makes sense. I haven't read anything like this before and I am impressed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent read, 18 Jan 2014
This review is from: The 80/20 Manager: Ten ways to become a great leader (Paperback)
This book resonated with my very core.

It is very easy to read and distils key concepts into easy to understand and compelling chapters.

I probably read a book from the business / self help genre each week. This is (for me) one of the very best.

Enjoy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not very good. One idea stretched too far., 3 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Don't buy this book. The amount of duplication is horrendous. It's a waste of money.

I can summarise the book for you right here:

1. You can't achieve great things on your own. You will need to work with other people. Work at building and maintaining relationships with others. Make use of their skills knowledge and experience as well as your own. If they work for you, for heaven's sake, trust them, and grant enough them sufficient autonomy to do their job well. Support them as and when they need it, but otherwise, get out of their way and let them get on with it. Don't micro-manage them.

2. Leave large chunks of time free in your schedule for thinking, planning and decision making rather not just constant, and often needless action and micro-managing. This may sound like laziness but it's not. This strategic thinking will save you lots of time, effort and heartache when you do finally act.

3. Simplify things. Get rid of the waste and pointless activities. Most of what you think you should do doesn't actually contribute much if anything to the results that truly matter. The things that make a contribution to the results are classified as important. The key thing to grasp is this. Being busy and efficient not as good as being productive and effective. What does that mean? It means doing something unimportant very well does not make it important and just because something takes a lot of time, it does not make it important.

Job done. For free and in far fewer words than Richard Koch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 23 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The 80/20 Manager: Ten ways to become a great leader (Paperback)
As an example of using 80/20 analysis, Koch writes that about 20% of the books he has written gives him 80% of the revenue. As the best-selling book by far is his "80/20 Principle", it was perhaps only to be expected that he was ready to publish his fourth book on the 80/20 principle, now called "The 80/20 Manager". How is this book different from "The 80/20 Principle", "The 80/20 Revolution", "The 80/20 Way" and the other books he was written about leadership, management, strategy and philosophy? Well, as the 80/20 idea in itself is so simple that it could be explained in a paragraph rather than writing series of books about it, there is no so much new in this latest book as there are insights from the way he has compilated ideas from previous books in a very useful way of thinking about the 80/20 principle.

What was the most practical insight for me was the way he discussed, very briefly, the relationship between the 80/20 principle and the priciple of natural evolution. Evolution appears whenever some phenomenon is reproducing itself and the offcome is being tested against some environment which allows only a fraction to survive. In the language of 80/20 analysis, evolution can be controlled by making sure that the 20% best ideas, responsible for 80% of the outcome, survive. Evolution is 80/20 as a dynamic process, Koch says. This is a useful comment because 80/20 analysis is much better understood in dynamic situations. If we look at the 20% most popluar plays by Shakespeare or Ibsen, this may be of use for planning a theatre performance, but it will also result in a world that gets more and more narrow in the sense that we watch the same old plays over and over again.

What has been missing in his earlier books on the 80/20 principle, in my understanding, is what he now writes about as how creativiy works through weak ties. In order to get new ideas it is important to explore unknown territory, rather the opposite of what the 80/20 analysis suggests. Producing ideas by weak ties and then testing them by 80/20 analysis seems like an excellent description of how creative evolution happens.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars For ALL Great Managers: add fantastic amount of value with less time and effort, 17 May 2013
This review is from: The 80/20 Manager: Ten ways to become a great leader (Paperback)
It's time for managers to stop wasting time on administrative and bureaucratic activities and start working on the few things that count to create value. Every great leader knows where they add the most value and they concentrate on those few activities. That's how they can do a fantastic amount with little time and effort. This book shows precisely how that can be done.

Put it on your Kindle, read it on a flight, and then start doing what Koch says; it will make a world of difference.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa11f5aec)

This product

The 80/20 Manager: Ten ways to become a great leader
The 80/20 Manager: Ten ways to become a great leader by Richard Koch (Paperback - 2 May 2013)
9.65
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews