Customer Reviews


26 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Quite enjoyed it
Not one of SL's best but quite enjoyable. Interesting she concerned herself this time with two people of an older and more mature generation finding love and happiness together. It would be difficult for her to maintain the standard of the early Cynster novels. The story held my attention as I wanted to find out who the murderer was. I enjoyed the fact that there were...
Published 2 months ago by Susan

versus
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Slightly boring
To be honest I found this latest book by SL slightly boring, and that also goes for the character of Montague. Montague is a financier and accountant, perhaps that was what was boring about him and for the first half of the book at the least, his character was very one dimensional and not developed. SL fills up space in the book by giving us repeat love scenes between...
Published 2 months ago by LEP


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Slightly boring, 3 May 2014
By 
LEP "LEP" (England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Masterful Mr Montague: Number 2 in series (From the Casebook of Barnaby Adair) (Paperback)
To be honest I found this latest book by SL slightly boring, and that also goes for the character of Montague. Montague is a financier and accountant, perhaps that was what was boring about him and for the first half of the book at the least, his character was very one dimensional and not developed. SL fills up space in the book by giving us repeat love scenes between Penelope and Barnaby.
However, it's a nice enough read, but not her best book in my opinion. Might have been better as a novella rather than a full length novel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Quite enjoyed it, 8 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Not one of SL's best but quite enjoyable. Interesting she concerned herself this time with two people of an older and more mature generation finding love and happiness together. It would be difficult for her to maintain the standard of the early Cynster novels. The story held my attention as I wanted to find out who the murderer was. I enjoyed the fact that there were not so many long extended graphic love scenes as SL was tending to get into. I tended to skip through some of these as they got quite boring. Will carry on reading her books and I look forward to her next one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Why does she bother anymore?, 10 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
These 'stories' just get worse and worse. I am not sure what else in the genre those giving this 3 or more stars have been reading to rate it so highly. So repetitive and just plain dull. I think experience has finally won out over hope of any return to her previous form. No more for me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Barnaby Adair series, 20 Jun 2014
By 
Mrs. H. P. Wilson "Happy snapper" (Cambridgeshire UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have enjoyed these and am just reading the latest one. The "detectives" all work well together. It is a good addition to the Cynster series of books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A well told tale., 18 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Ms Laurens has found a genre that allows her to add increased pace and style to her stories.
She still has her tendency to "gush" taking multiple adjectives, adverbs and paragraphs to describe the inner feelings of her characters.
This really slows the narrative and could be eliminated by a decent editor.
There are still too many anachronistic remarks between the characters.
I know, my only excuse is I'm somewhat of a pedant!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars An okay read, 15 Jun 2014
By 
M. E. Newell (Georgia, United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Masterful Mr Montague: Number 2 in series (From the Casebook of Barnaby Adair) (Paperback)
Heathcote Montague is the man-of-affairs for some of the richest and most powerful families of the Ton. Miss. Violet Matcham is making her way in the world as the companion to Lady Halstead. Realizing that something is wrong with her accounts, Lady Halstead calls upon Montague to take a look at her accounts. Soon Lady Halstead is dead and Inspector Stokes and Barnaby Adair and their respective wives are looking for a murder. With more murders the race is on to find a killer and maybe a new love.
"The Masterful Mr. Montague" by Stephanie Laurens was an okay book. This book is not like other "Cynster related books." The main focus is the mystery and not romance. But overall it was an okay read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Historical novel at its best, 10 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Have read many of Stephanie's novels and this one did not disappoint, really enjoyed the storyline and kept me on my toes til the end. Highly recommend any of her novels.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars historical romance, 7 Jun 2014
By 
Mrs. Jean R. Livingstone "Jean Livingstone" (Edinburgh Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Masterful Mr Montague: Number 2 in series (From the Casebook of Barnaby Adair) (Paperback)
another wonderful story from Stephanie Laurens, she has the knack of giving her readers a very good story but livens it up with her heroes being lead around by the ladies in their lives' her description of the fathers in waiting was so true it was funny
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars A total disappointment, 4 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Masterful Mr Montague: Number 2 in series (From the Casebook of Barnaby Adair) (Paperback)
SL please get your act together and start writing readable books again !!The last few books have got steadily worse and worse.I only finished this one because I wanted to find out who the murderer was but I freely admit to skipping all the totally unnecessary love scenes between Penny and Barnaby Adair - they weren't even the H&H ! If all the repetition and yet more repetition was taken out this would have made an almost enjoyable novello!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Continuing the delightful world, 2 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have read many books by the author and love the continuity of the environment she has built with the 'family of characters' that are spread throughout. The overall themes may be similar but that adds to the safety of knowing you can enjoy the highs and low of their emotions as it will all work out in the end. The investigative plots that pad out the basic romance add interest to an otherwise predictable theme, so a much better read than a standard man meets woman situation. I like the fact that that despite being historical fiction In her world she writes of characters that are not all dukes and paupers, and shows that there were other people around too. A delightfully believable if idealized world to read about.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Masterful Mr Montague: Number 2 in series (From the Casebook of Barnaby Adair)
7.35
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews