Customer Reviews


46 Reviews
5 star:
 (26)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A decent read
The Honorable Mary Cynster is the last of the unmarried Cynster of her generation. Ryder Cavanaugh is not the type of man Mary wants to marry, but after a series of events but they find themselves married to each other. Ryder does not see this as a hard ship as he wanted to Mary all a long. But there is danger out there and Ryder and Mary are may not survive it...
Published 17 months ago by M. E. Newell

versus
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars What has happened to ms Lauren?
I cannot believe how bad this Lauren novel is! I'm such a big fan h ave all the Cynster and bastion novels, even the last three starting with the Breckinridge novel were good but since then I have been so disappointed! Pointless drivel, too much description of an event that maybe took half an hour! No decent story line and no connection with either of the characters...
Published 23 months ago by littelgems


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars What has happened to ms Lauren?, 28 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I cannot believe how bad this Lauren novel is! I'm such a big fan h ave all the Cynster and bastion novels, even the last three starting with the Breckinridge novel were good but since then I have been so disappointed! Pointless drivel, too much description of an event that maybe took half an hour! No decent story line and no connection with either of the characters! Couldn't stand Mary! Came across like a spoilt brat totally full of herself with very little redeeming features. Don't think ill bother any more if she carries on in this vein. Sorry ms Lauren u have severely disappointed me!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A decent read, 29 Nov. 2013
By 
M. E. Newell (Georgia, United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Taming of Ryder Cavanaugh: Number 5 in series (Cynster Sisters) (Paperback)
The Honorable Mary Cynster is the last of the unmarried Cynster of her generation. Ryder Cavanaugh is not the type of man Mary wants to marry, but after a series of events but they find themselves married to each other. Ryder does not see this as a hard ship as he wanted to Mary all a long. But there is danger out there and Ryder and Mary are may not survive it.
"The Taming of Ryder Cavanaugh" is the latest Cynster book by Stephanie Laurens and it was a pretty decent read. It was nice to re-visit the Cynster clan and see the latest changes to the family. But I do have agree with other reviewers the book seem to longer than it needed to be. Overall, "The Taming of Ryder Cavanaugh" was okay and it would be interesting to see where Ms. Laurens take the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the taming of ryder cavenaugh, 22 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Taming of Ryder Cavanaugh: Number 5 in series (Cynster Sisters) (Paperback)
Received this book this morning now finished it. .....very good...
This is about what Mary Cynster & ryder Cavanaugh both eventually succeed in having, family to love and be loved in return and it takes near death to realise for Ryder to state the words.

I hope Ms Laurens goes on to write more about the Cynsters next generation, Sebastian, Michael, Louisa Louisa and all their cousins misinformed from the other 5 Bar Cynsters as these will be a joy to follow for the wider family as we have got to know them and all there exploits.

Wonder if this will involve any of the Bastion Clubs brood...we can only hope

Well done Ms Laurens.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars a bitter disappointment, 3 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Taming of Ryder Cavanaugh: Number 5 in series (Cynster Sisters) (Paperback)
I was looking forward to this last in the Cynster Sister books .Oh dear it was such a let down.The actual action including the signature Laurens sex scenes would be hard pressed to fill a small novella.The rest was first one character and then the other analysing their feelings over and over again often in the same words.Did the author have these paragraphs in memory and keep just linking them in to make up the word count?I could add a word to the word count BORING .I was mentally screaming get on with it and skipping pages wholesale.Please Stephanie stop looking at the word count and write a better book next time or you will be off my want list.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars "Cynster Sisters" historical romantic thriller number Five, 15 July 2013
By 
Marshall Lord (Whitehaven, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book "The Taming of Ryder Cavanaugh" is a romantic thriller/mystery novel, and the second of a linked pair of stories in the author's "Cynster" series, the first being "And Then She Fell: Number 4 in series (Cynster Sisters)." Both these books are set in 1837 (the year Queen Victoria came to the throne), and follow on from the previous "Cynster Sisters" trilogy set in 1829. This book could therefore be seen as the final volume of a quintet.

Mary and Henrietta Cynster, the heroines of this book and of its' predecessor respectively, are the cousins of the three sisters, Heather, Eliza and Angelica Cynster, who were the heroines of the previous trilogy, which consisted of

1) "Viscount Breckenridge To The Rescue" (Heather)
2) "In Pursuit Of Eliza Cynster" and
3) "The Capture of the Earl of Glencrae (Cynster)" (Angelica)

In the first of those books, "Viscount Breckenridge to the rescue," while visiting Scotland, Heather Cynster was given a special necklace which has some kind of pagan religious powers: it was supposed to help an unmarried lady who wears it to find her "hero" and true love. We were told in that book that this necklace would pass in turn from Heather Cynster to her sisters Eliza and Angelica, and then to their cousins Henrietta and Mary before returning to Scotland.

At the start of "And Then She Fell" Henrietta Cynster was 29 and still unmarried, which would put you well and truly on the shelf in 19th century high society: her younger sister Mary Cynster had just turned twenty-two. Mary is well aware of the prophecy surrounding the necklace, and believes in it. At the start of that book Mary locates the necklace and persuades Henrietta to start wearing it.

Henrietta has long since given up any romantic intentions but Mary definately has not, and wants her elder sister to get a move on. Mary interprets the prophesy as meaning that she cannot find her own hero until Henrietta does, and is determined to get Henrietta matched up so she can go after the man she wants herself.

Needless to say this proves a complicated process but by the end of that book Henrietta has found her hero and between them they have solved a murder mystery. At Henrietta's engagement ball Mary is duly presented with the necklace, which she plans to use to see if it confirms her attraction to the man she has decided she wants.

It is obvious from the name of the book who Mary is going to end up with, and it isn't really a spoiler, since it is equally clear from the publisher's blub on the back cover of the book, that the bridegroom who Mary thinks at first she wants is someone very different. But the necklace doesn't produce quite the effect Mary had expected.

Mary knows herself to be a strong, independent and indeed dominant character, and in 19th century Britain in which a husband owned his wife and everything she had, she couldn't face the idea of marrying an equally dominant man for fear he might try to control her life. So she is determined to avoid any strong characters like, say, the Marquis of Raventhorne, Ryder Cavanaugh. She wants a husband who is a less domineering character and who she thinks she can manage - such as Ryder's half-brother, Lord Randolph Cavanaugh.

Unfortunately for Mary's plans, when she pursues Randolph, she finds from the very first line of the book that his half-brother keeps getting in the way. Is Ryder looking out for his younger brother - or is it possible that Ryder, who has never previously shown any interest in marriage but doesn't usually pursue innocent maidens either, wants her as his bride himself?

But marriage is not the only concern which either Ryder or Mary have to worry about. From early in the book there are attempts to murder one or both of them. Who is trying to kill Ryder, Mary or both, and why?

As usual many of the heroes and heroines of previous Cynster and Bastion Club books become involved as Ryder and Mary try to figure out the answers ...

I found this reasonably entertaining, not the author's best work but not her worst either. A few of the ideas in the story have been used perhaps in more novels than they should have been, although the plot showed at least some variation from the model which Stephanie Laurens has used for the majority of her recent novels.

In several respects these stories are rather unrealistic, and in particular, the attitude to sex of characters in these novels bears far more resemblance to those common in the 21st century than to those which were expected by society in the year when Queen Victoria ascended to the throne.

Well-brought up young ladies of the ton, in the early nineteenth century, did not generally behave like the heroines of this book and most of Stephanie Laurens' other recent novels. In particular they rarely abandoned their virginity before marriage as readily as these heroines do. Prior to this book, the only heroine in the entire Bar Cynster series who made it to the altar as a virgin was the one whose bridegroom had managed to get mixed up about which girl he was supposed to be marrying. I'm not going to give away whether Mary becomes the second, to avoid "spoiling" the story.

Indeed, it is not possible to explain precisely why some of the attitudes in this book are seriously anachronistic without such a spoiler, but at one or two points I was on the verge of throwning the book to the ground and exclaiming something along the lines of "No girl in 1837 would ever say anything remotely like that!"

This romance in the "Bar Cynster" series is numbered 20 in the table and family tree which appear at the front of the book, but if you count the prequel, (The Promise in a Kiss (Bar Cynster)) and the "Barnaby Adair" adventure "Where the Heart Leads" this is actually the twenty-second Cynster novel.

The full Cynster series to date consists of

1) Devil's Bride (Bar Cynster) (Devil and Honoria)
2) A Rake's Vow: Cynster Family Series, Book 2 (Cynster Novels) (Vane and Patience)
3) Scandal's Bride (Richard/Scandal and Catriona)
4) A Rogue's proposal (Harry/Demon and Felicity)
5) A Secret Love (Rupert/Gabriel and Alathea)
6) All about Love (Alistair/Lucifer and Phyllida)
7) All About Passion (Bar Cynster) (Lord Chillingworth gets Rachel for Leah)
8) On a wild night (Amanda Cynster and Martin)
9) On a wicked dawn (Amelia Cynster and Luc)
10) The Perfect Lover (Simon Cynster and Porchia)
11) The Ideal Bride (Martin and Caro)
12) The Truth about love (Gerrard and Jacqueline)
13) What price love? (Dillon and Priscilla)
14) The Touch of Innocence (Charlie and Sarah)
15) Temptation and Surrender (Jonas Tallent and Emily)
16) Viscount Breckenridge to the Rescue (of Heather Cynster)
17) In pursuit of Eliza Cynster (Eliza)
18) The Capture of the Earl of Glencrae (Angelica)
19) "And then she fell" (Henrietta)
20) This book, "The taming of Ryder Cavanaugh" (Mary)

As mentioned above there is also a prequel "The Promise in a Kiss" which tells the story of the romance between Devil Cynster's father and mother, and the Barbaby Adair story, "Where the heart leads" which tells the romance between Barnaby and Porchia Cynster's sister Penelope Ashford.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Not always an automatic buy for me these days, 27 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Taming of Ryder Cavanaugh: Number 5 in series (Cynster Sisters) (Paperback)
I enjoyed reading this - the last one about this generation of Cynsters ,who we met a long time ago, in Devil's Bride- I can't honestly say it was gripping- nor is it my favourite - that honour goes to Devil's Bride & A Secret Love- those have never been bettered in my opinion.
I did appreciate her drawing up of all those generations in the annual Summer at Somersham event, which has become something of a tradition. Here we got to read a bit about the next generation and really understand how the Cynster family is evolving with that sense of familiy ties that was present in Devil's Bride. The children appear to have formed as close a bond as their parents and , for that alone, Ms Laurens gets an extra star.There were hints of strong personalities who may or may not have their own stories.I only hope that, if this is the case, those stories don't become a faint facismile of the first generation of Cynster novels that made Ms Laurens so popular.In a way, I'd much rather read a very well written story about a new Cynster generation ( to the standard of Devil's Bride ) than about Heathcote Montague or Barnaby Adair or some other vaguely interesting character that made little impact in one of her other novels.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Ms Laurens usual standard, 4 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I've read most of her oeuvre. I enjoy Ms Lauren's tales. I find exceedingly irritating her excessive use of adjectives and adverbs to emphasise passion during "love" scenes. In my opinion, this is not necessary and slows the flow of the story. As I'm rather pedantic with regard to correct English usage, maybe I'm expecting too much.
I realise these romances are mainly directed at a North American female readership who have a different educational background in English. This is not intended to be patronising.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Like Georgette Heyer, but with more sex, 27 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Taming of Ryder Cavanaugh: Number 5 in series (Cynster Sisters) (Paperback)
In this book the author has at last got her act together. The plot rattles along at a good pace.The last Cynster sister has received the lady's pendant , but being of a feisty and managing disposition, tries to disregard it and have things her own way. Then events catch up with her and she and her lover are confronted by a murderer. The plot has echoes of the first Cynster novel, Devil's Bride. Evidently Stephanie Laurens felt this similarity too, for in the last chapter we have an overview of the family's fortunes so far. Lady Osbaldestone, a very knowing and game old bird has appeared briefly in virtually every book she has written, and as it now 1837 she must be approaching her hundredth birthday!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Taming of Ryder Cavanaugh, 10 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
An interesting mystery with the usual enjoyable description of life in the Regency ton. The characters are so well drawn and entirely believable. Another great story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars I wanted to like it but I couldn't, 17 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The female lead was in almost all scenes entirely unlikeable and because of that I didn't even get half way through the novel,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Taming of Ryder Cavanaugh: Number 5 in series (Cynster Sisters)
The Taming of Ryder Cavanaugh: Number 5 in series (Cynster Sisters) by Stephanie Laurens (Paperback - 25 Jun. 2013)
£8.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews